We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Next Paradise Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Next Paradise Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Pwani Mchangani, Pwani Mchangani 3363, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Dalton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place, great people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for a week just before Christmas based on the Trip Advisor recommendations and we were not let down! Rooms were clean, well decorated, and quite comfortable as well. My room was looking out at the pool and had a nice day bed to lounge on during the day. The food was very good, the dinners couldn't be beat. Every afternoon the night's menu would be posted, all seafood and all very good. Other food could be substituted, but we never felt the need to do so. In addition to this the best aspect of the place were the people, extremely friendly owners and staff, they really went above and beyond to make your stay memorable. If I ever make it back to Zanzibar I will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    41
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
54
239
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent there 10 days before the high-season which was really nice. The italian couple who runs the place does really nice cooking and breakfast is available until everyone has eaten (even if it's close to 12....).

The beach is really nice but has the one drawback that you cannot take a bath at low tide as there are many sea urchins... But it's incredible if the fishermen with their local boats are coming back...

The location (in the noth-east) has one drawback that excursions are rather far away (although definitely possible, but you want probably another location if you look for daily trips - which I anyway would not recommend).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a recently-renovated tiny property on the edge of the Indian Ocean. Owned by couple (an Italian and a Slovak) who clearly have an eye for details, it is quite nice and a great bargain for the price.

I stayed in a beachfront bungalow, which was beautifully decorated with nice local furniture, beautiful lamps, European bath fixtures and local tile. It indeed was only separated from the beach by a lovely tiled pool, surrounded by gorgeous stone pavers. Nice A/C and fan to beat the Zanzibari humidity. Speedy internet. Generator.

Did nothing but lounge around - not much else to do.

Staff are OK - nice but not terrifically effective.

Food was quite good. Breakfast had fruit, yogurt and cereal buffet with breads and eggs made to order. Plentiful and fine. Espresso drinks available from a machine, which were good. Coffee disappointingly was instant in this region of Africa with terrific coffee. Lunch was simple, bar drinks made nicely, and dinner was fantastic. Four courses including a local fish dish, a salad, a desert, and a first plate (I had avocado with shrimp, spinach crepe, grilled white snapper with tomato coulis, passion pie).

Beach was relatively isolated, which is good. Not too many of the infamous hawkers, though still a few. But soft sand, and a walk into the Indian Ocean that felt like it went on forever.

Room Tip: Beachfront bungalows are lovely, but hard to go too wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is situated in absolute heaven. We visited Zanzibar at the end of October 2012. I had booked the hotel almost 8 months ago with Stuart and he has been super helpful the whole time. In fact, our airlines changed our flight dates the last minute and Stuart had no problems with the change. He actually upgraded us for free on the first night since the suit we had booked was not available anymore on our new arrival date.

When we arrived at Zanzibar airport a driver picked us up and brought us to the hotel where we were greeted with fresh passion fruit juice (perfect). The first night we checked into one of the newly built private bungalows. Huge spacious room with its own veranda. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and nicely decorated. On our second night we trasferred to the Panorama Suite which we had booked originally. Although it wasn't as private as the bungalow, I still loved this room. The bathroom, open jacuzzi, ceiling dome and the terrace were just amazing. The room has all amenities safe, flat TV with international channels, hairdryer etc.

The hotel owners and staff are were really helpful. The beach is white sand and to die for. The complex has 2 pools and lots of private sunbathing areas. We would just lay on the beach all day and take long walks. You can also borrow free bikes from the hotel and on the low tide it can be really fun.

The hotel also booked us a trip to the Stonetown to walk around and a really nice snorkelling trip. Both are must dos. This is the best place to go as a couple or family, since its secluded I dont think it would be a great place to go and hang out with friends.

I think the only thing that was so-so was the food. The hotel had great reviews regarding the food so we had super high expectations. Since, there's nothing else to do around, you eat 3 meals at the hotel. And maybe because we are from the Mediterreanean and eat seafood all the time, we weren't as impressed as some of the other guests. The food was good but not extraordinary.

Next Paradise was really really the best thing next to paradise. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Panorama Suite was my favorite. Great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Selecting a hotel in Zanzibar was not an easy exercise. We had just a week of holiday and our primary goal was to relax. We stayed 5 nights at Next Paradise and it really exceeded our expectations.
Yes there are tides like elsewhere on the island and short electrical power cuts, consider this as part of the charm of being there.
The hotel is small and allow for some true relaxation. We loved everything about it. The room is comfortable yet with a local feel. We had taken a garden view room and we even got kindly upgraded to a beach view for our last 3 mights, which we felt as a lovely gift. The pool is really nice. The staff is extremely friendly and efficient. Food is another important thing for us and I must say the cook has impressed us!! All very freshly made ingredients and a lot of seafood.
We loved having walks or bike rides - that are available for free - on the beach towards the end of the afternoon, and in particular the fact that you have lots of locals. We took some extras with a lovely massage done in an outdoor hut and a very romantic dinner on the beach - which we both recommend.
Last but not least, Stuart, Danijela and Marina take great care of their guest. Thanks for welcoming us and we hope to come back some day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent 5 days/4 nights at Next Paradise Resort. The property is beautiful and directly on the Indian Ocean. The rooms are very nice and functional. Very typical for Zanzibar the properties power goes on and off...the good thing is that when the power goes out the generators kick on immediately. Service at the resort is excellent and the manager Daniella runs a the resort very effectively. You have to like seafood as all the dinners are all seafood. However, if there is something you don't like...they will accomodate your request. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The name says it all! From the minute you pull through the gates you are treated like you are in paradise. This is a small, intimate resort that is idyllic and accommodating in every way. The setting is spectacular with a beautiful coral sand beach in front of your door. Waving palm trees and colourful flowers fill the grounds, and each room is very comfortable. The managers are especially hospitable and helpful and every one of the staff are friendly. Meals are very good and special diets were catered to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Next Paradise Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Next Paradise Boutique Resort

Address: Pwani Mchangani, Pwani Mchangani 3363, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pwani Mchangani
#1 Family Hotel in Pwani Mchangani
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Next Paradise Boutique Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Next Paradise Boutique Resort sits on one of the most beautiful white sandy beaches of Zanzibar, facing directly the Indian Ocean and protected by the coral reef which is about one kilometer away.located only 45 minutes drive from Stone Town and 30 minutes from Nungwi and Kendwua, (the beaches of north) it is perfect place to organize excursions, spice tours, swim with dolphins, big game fishing, kite surfing , diving and snorkeling to Mnemba atoll. The charming small hotel is well known because of its sober elegance, the excellent food and especially for its intimate and quiet atmosphere. At Next Paradise you will find 16 fully furnished rooms all provided with air conditioning and sea view private verandahs. Our staff is always happy to offer individual attention to every single guest of the hotel. Whether you're looking to book your honeymoon or need inspiration for a romantic getaway, we have special offers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Tingo, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Next Paradise Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Next Paradise Boutique Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Next Paradise Boutique Resort Zanzibar/Pwani Mchangani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Next Paradise Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.