We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete relaxation…..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Next Paradise Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Next Paradise Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Pwani Mchangani, Pwani Mchangani 3363, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Complete relaxation…..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family, including 2 teenage children, had a wonderful stay here at Next Paradise. As other peopele have said, the service is wonderful, atmosphere so relaxed & the space & rooms are fantastic. We stayed for 12 nights and we all had a wonderful time. This is a place for complete & utter relaxation - we slept a lot the 1st week, interspersed with card playing & beach walks.
The second week we did a few trips - Stone Town, swimming with dolphins (WOW!!), snorkelling & a sunset cruise. Unfortunately, you cannot snorkel straight off the beach on this side of the island.
Food was delicious - 4 courses every evening - mainly fish which has been freshly caught that day! You can eat off menu if you wish - nothing is too much bother!
One thing to note - the sun is HOT! Sounds obvious but it caught us out - especially if you are in the pool for a long time!
This holiday was paradise - giving the family much needed down time, family regrouping & special memories. If you want to hang on to your kids just that little bit longer before they start going to Ibiza then this is the place!
Thank you Stuart, Marina, Daniela (the fastest walker in the world!) & everyone else - we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    41
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
51
226
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I went there by myself for some time off and beach vacation that I desperately needed and I couldnt be happier to end up in this resort. From the very begining they made it easy,I made booking 2 days before the trip, i had the chauffeur ride from the airport waiting for me even though I was 45 min late. The beach villa that I was in was just amazing, beautiful view to the white sand beach, authenic furniture made in Zanzibar,Tv, safety box, comfortable bed... Staff was so helpful and genuine, from the owners to the waiters, they were more than happy to help me with any question and problem that i had. Food amazing and prices reasonable.
Things that u should know: since it is still Tanzania, u can expect the power to go off from time to time, but never for more than 10 minutes and internet can be slow in some areas.
This is definately the palce where I would wish to come back!

Room Tip: beachfront villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at the resort for our honeymoon and it was simply amazing. The honeymoon suite faced one of the cleanest beaches I've ever seen and the breeze was always fabulous. At low tide, we could walk almost a kilometer into the ocean. The resort environment was neat and very well managed, the swimming pool was very clean, the room was very comfortable, the food was great and the staff were always smiling and very eager to help. It was the quiet, lazy getaway both of us needed. I recommend this resort to anyone needing a peaceful time-out. Stuart, Marina, Daniela, Sifa, Irene, Lot, Rasheed, Ali, Salma and everyone....THANK YOU!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I thought I had already written my review to Next Paradise but I am happy to type it out again as this place is my favourite!

My partner and I stayed here in February of this year for about 9 nights in a villa (we extended as it was so nice!). We fell in love with the place the moment we drove into the place and we had not booked as we had decided to check out two places first. After being greeted by Marina and Daniella and their warm welcomes, together with the beautiful setting and viewing of the rooms and facilities, we had to stay. Stuart is very nice and they all make you feel welcome and take pride in their work.

At any one point, you never feel like the place is packed which is awesome. There is a fabulous pool in the centre and the beach is at your door step! You can swim out there but make sure the tide is in as you'll have to walk out a bit. The beach is quiet with a few local dhow boat operators around and people to sell you things but it's all licensed.

This place is relaxing, intimate and boutique so if you want to party all night long, go elsewhere please!

The staff are all excellent! They are friendly and helpful without being intrusive, a fine balance many resort/hotels need to learn. The food was great, breakfast is a great choice, especially the chocolate croissants! The dinner is plentiful and a menu is place up each afternoon (3-4 courses). We ordered small thing for lunch as you are so full from breakfast and need space for dinner! But depends what your appetite is like!

There are bikes for you to use if you want to go exploring, the nearby village is humble and small so no real shops but that's why you head to Stonetown before/after. There are books/games and the staff can organise you tours if need be. We had a massage from the lady who works there and it was great as it was located in a private area near the beach!

Looking back now, this still is my favourite place to date, the ambiance, relaxation, service, value are something special making it a unique experience....

Room Tip: Unique and beautiful......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Was there two weeks on November. So:
1) SUPERB WEATHER. +30 in the air, +30 in water. Always like a milk.
2) Empty beach. Remember about tides. But it's good - you can walk around.
3) Beautiful hotel area with 2 swim pools and garden.
4) Furnished rooms.

All is perfect. Im so lazy to write many words. YOU HAVE TO VISIT THAT PLACE!

Special thanks to Stewart and Maria the Masters, sunny Daniela, Rashid and Sifae (baristas). See you! :)

Room Tip: If you have some problems, hotel stuff can solve it quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in this wonderful location for a week. After travelling around tansania this is the most beautiful place to come down an relax.

The rooms are very big and furnished with love and good style - also very clean. The hotel is quiet wide-ranged, so you dont get a feeling of crowd by other guests.

The hotel is right next to the beach/sea. The beach is more than clean, white sand, and cristal clear water. The decoration on the beach is very lovely.

After two weeks of journey and a delated flight to zanzibar we were very tired. After the very, very warm welcome at next paradise and a free upgrade from double-room to honeymoonsuite we felt like new persons. The staff was always very friendly and considerate.

In our 3 weeks of travelling we got the "BEST FOOD" here. Every day fresh seafood, fruits and the desserts were DIVINE!!!

And last but not least: OUR DREAMWEDDING!!!!!

If someone think about a wedding at zanzibar --> Next Paradise is the "perfect" place.

They arrange the day with a lot of surprises. marina & stewart (owners of next paradise) and danijela are the best "wedding planers" in the whole world - thank you for everything... we felt like in paradise ... we didnt expect such a perfect day!

greets luke&märi

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaLanza, Owner at Next Paradise Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Mary & Luke
We were very honored and happy that we can organize the most beautiful day in your life.
Thank you for your reviews on trip adviser.
We wish you all the best ....
Employees of Next Paradise Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the lovely Next Paradise Resort in Zanzibar (October 2012).

The Deluxe Oceanfront room was wonderful and literally at the oceanfront! Just open the wood framed glass doors and you have your own seating area facing the ocean. There is an air conditioner in the room but the weather was beautiful so we barely used it. At night, you can fold open the glass doors and close the mesh covered wooden slat doors (you may have to struggle a little with it) so you get a little of the ocean breeze to cool the room.

I would definitely recommend this resort for couples as it's calm and romantic. Not ideal for kids or young people looking for a wild time as not much to do at the resort itself. However, they can arrange for scuba or snorkelling trips if you'd like.

The food was wonderful as well. Breakfast is buffet style with quite a good spread and dinner is a sit down 4 course affair. The menu is put up next to the bar and if there's anything you're allergic to or don't like, they will assist with substitutions where possible if you let them know by early evening.

The only 2 things I didn't particularly like were:
1. The bidet is placed in the shower area and I felt it very odd (probaby won't bother most people)
2. The minibar fridge in the room suddenly went crazy and started making really loud noises one evening (we just turned it off)

Be wary that there can be power cuts in Zanzibar so be careful if you're plugging in your camera or mobile phones for charging. If the power goes out, unplug your device or a power surge can damage it when it comes back on! The resort is well equipped with generators so you won't be in the 'dark' for long.

Room Tip: Definitely take the Oceanfront Deluxe room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brugne, Direttore generale at Next Paradise Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
dear guest,
thank you for your review, I want to spend a few words to clarify the 2 points mentioned on the review: despite Government of Zanzibar is working hard to install the new submarine cable that should provide better electricity supply in all the island, still there are some power cuts and some voltage dips, so suddenly the electricity can fall to 120 volts, some appliances like refrigerators and AC units are more sensitive and in those cases the compressor try to compensate the low voltage: this is the reason why refrigerators can, in particular situation, be noisy. Normally in a couple of minutes the situation turns to nomality. We hope that with the new cable, that should be ready by Christmas 2012, all problems related to electricity in the island will be solved. About the second issue, we are sorry for any incovenience and we are sorry that problem was not reported during your stay... we believe there is a solution (almost) for everything... we kindly ask future guests to report in time any kind of disease, please do not hesitate to express your desires or any incovenience: management and all staff of Next Paradise is happy to listen to your needs and happy to make your holiday an unforgettable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Next Paradise Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Next Paradise Boutique Resort

Address: Pwani Mchangani, Pwani Mchangani 3363, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Next Paradise Boutique Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Next Paradise Boutique Resort sits on one of the most beautiful white sandy beaches of Zanzibar, facing directly the Indian Ocean and protected by the coral reef which is about one kilometer away.located only 45 minutes drive from Stone Town and 30 minutes from Nungwi and Kendwua, (the beaches of north) it is perfect place to organize excursions, spice tours, swim with dolphins, big game fishing, kite surfing , diving and snorkeling to Mnemba atoll. The charming small hotel is well known because of its sober elegance, the excellent food and especially for its intimate and quiet atmosphere. At Next Paradise you will find 16 fully furnished rooms all provided with air conditioning and sea view private verandahs. Our staff is always happy to offer individual attention to every single guest of the hotel. Whether you're looking to book your honeymoon or need inspiration for a romantic getaway, we have special offers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Next Paradise Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Next Paradise Boutique Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Next Paradise Boutique Resort Zanzibar/Pwani Mchangani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Next Paradise Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.