We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical! Truly a paradise...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Next Paradise Boutique Resort

Save Saved
You added Next Paradise Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Pwani Mchangani, Pwani Mchangani 3363, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
january 2015
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Magical! Truly a paradise...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The white sand is like flour. Open your triple French doors in the morning and have an amazing view from your bed. Palm trees, deep pink hibiscus flowering bushes, the aqua blue ocean wtih soothing sounds of water rolling in, and that is just the beginning of a perfect day. The chef was the best ever! His menus, food preparation along with being plated artistically, was the highlight of all the places we stayed during of our 2 week East Africa vacation which included an 8 day safari. One of the best reasons I wanted to stay at Next Paradise is no buffets. Also the Trip Advisor reviews. Breakfast--order what you want, lunch or an appetizer can be ordered, and a set -unbelievable- chef choice dinner. If you check the blackboard in the restaurant that day and you do not want the chef's choice for dinner, as long as you request any part of that to be changed prior to 6pm, you may do so. I just don't why anyone would. I asked to meet this local chef who could own a restaurant in New York, Chicago or Los Angeles and have a very busy 5-Star restaurant. This boutique hotel built in 2009 is so beautiful and relaxing. Plan your day by choosing whether to lay under a pergola, get a massage at the beach or have a romantic dinner at the beach.... oh so many decisions to make! This 20-unit ocean front hotel with two pools is run superbly by Daniella, the manager. She is every guest's personal assistant and best friend. Her smile comes from her heart. This is the place to stay and make memories forever.

Room Tip: We chose an ocean front room and loved it. And there go hungry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaLanza, Owner at Next Paradise Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Greetings from Zanzibar .... thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel and our staff. We are pleased that you were happy and that you have enjoyed the hospitality of our staff . Thank you for your opinion.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us so thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience.

We certainly respect your opinion .

With thanks and warm Wishes,
Marina Bozic Lanza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    40
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
218
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I, stayed 5 days in October at this little piece of heaven called Next Paradise! It was the perfect place to relax after a week long safari. At first we wanted to book the honeymoon suite since this was our honeymoon but it was already book. We ended up staying in the panoramic ocean view room which I think was even better then the honeymoon suite since it was more private and has a big Jacuzzi tub.

Since we are both sea food lovers, we were really happy to see that sea food was a big part of the nightly menu. If you are allergic or just don't like sea food they will gladly make you something else just for you!

I have to say a BIG thank you to they owner for making my stay the best it could be! A couple of week prior to my arrival, I had wrote an e-mail to Stuart to ask him if it was possible to have soy milk during my stay. He did tell me it was very hard to find it in Zanzibar, but to my wonderful surprise he was able to find some! I was so happy to be able to have cereal in the morning and coffee (Cappuccino are really good!)


Overall this was an amazing relaxing vacation!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaLanza, Owner at Next Paradise Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your very special occasion .
It is a pleasure to read from your review you had enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Your kind comments are truly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaydn215
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 days/4 nights here at the end of 2 weeks doing various African adventures in mid October. The place was better in real life than in the photos - it seemed bigger and more spacious than i expected. Lovely grounds and very relaxed feel. We had a ground floor Superior Double Garden room which was very good - not too exposed to the weather but with a lovely quiet outlook. Really enjoyed sitting on the patio having breakfast. All the staff are great as we found in most of East Africa. The food is pretty good especially the freshly prepared dinners. Mosquitoes can be a bit vicious so be prepared ! Internet is a bit patchy but good enough around the reception area to get stuff done. The beach is spectacular - similar to Mauritius and Seychelles - the touts and kids were OK when we were there - not too pushy so you could enjoy a walk on the beach.

The room is well equipped - everything worked pretty well. Water pressure was good except in the sinks for some reasons. Good spacious bathrooms and hanging space, etc.. Aircon and ceiling fans were good.

Daniella who is the manager is an Eveready "bunny" - seemingly always around to help. She helped organise taxis to Stonetown and tours to the dolphins - all went very smoothly. They use regular drivers and guides who are all very good. Stewart the owner (with his wife) was very helpful with information on Stonetown and if Daniella wasn't around was very always happy to help.

If you want a smaller resort but with all the bells and whistles of a larger resort then this is your place. We certaibnly look forward to going back on our next African adventure.

Room Tip: Go for garden rooms - back from the beach - very windy when we were there. Much more spacious and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a fantastic and very relaxing stay at Next Paradise! BRILLIANT!

The host Daniela is very friendly and helpful. The resort is located on a stunning and peaceful stretch of beach.

The rooms are fabulous - spacious, tastefully decorated and comfortable. We had a 'Double Room Verandah Seaview Room' - we loved the verandah and enjoyed pre-dinner drinks on our verandah every afternoon on the daybed / chairs.

The resort can book a host of activities - we did the snorkelling tour and it was fabulous. We saw heaps of different fish and then the tour guide took us to a nearby spot where we ended up swimming above and around a large pod of dolphins! The snorkelling was reasonably priced for a private tour - it was 40 euros per person if two people went, but another couple from the resort joined us so the price was reduced to 25 euros per person.

We were initially a little hesitant to book at Next Paradise due to the requirement to book half-board as we don't usually like to be locked in to meals. But this was not a problem at all - the dinner menu was four set courses every night but with the option to change ANY of the courses to anything on their menu - you just let the kitchen know your preference. The breakfast had good variety with a continental buffet and eggs cooked to order. We ended up enjoying lunch by the pool at the resort for the 3 days we were there to maximise our time on the beach and by the pool - the resort is in a fairly remote location and about 45 mins from Stone Town. There seemed to be some other resorts on the same beach that probably served food if you are after a change of scenery, and possibly some villages nearby with some little restaurants - but as we only had three days we didn't explore these.

If you are after a boutique resort in a stunning location, rather than a big impersonal resort, this is the place to book!!!

My only (very minor!) suggestions for improvement would be to have an outdoor lamp on the verandahs so you can read once the sun goes down, and perhaps some mosquito coils.

Saving tip for guests - You may wish to stop off at a convenience store on the way and pick up some bottled water, as the complimentary water provided is limited to one per person per day in the room, and one each with dinner. So saying, while the water for sale at the resort was more than convenience store prices, it wasn't overly expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaLanza, Owner at Next Paradise Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read from your review you had enjoyed your recent stay with us and were extremely pleased.

Your kind comments are truly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

In a very few words - that is exactly how we imagined hotel for honeymooners.
There are just fifteen or so rooms/bungalows in the whole hotel and ours looked just great. We've got newly built or restored one right in front of the ocean. It was amazing: clean, beautiful, with all needed appliances (safebox incl), big and comfortable bed, great washroom, hold/cold water without any interruptions. All the interior said about the disigner's good taste and nothing looked cheap. There was a pool in front of the entrance (separate pool for 3 bungalow's) with nice night illumination. I usually prefer to swim in the ocean, but in this case pool was important as the tide is really low when it's low. BTW, that's why I wouldn't advice this hotel for pure divers - you have to ride by car your way back to the hotel.
The service is quick and helpful, nothing to complain. Each time you have lunch or dinner you feel yourself like in a good restaurant. Cuisine is very good - big thanks to the cook! Sometimes during the dinner there was a perfomance - nice national band or so.
On Saturday there was quite good beach party in the hotel near Next (10 min by foot along the beach).
To cut the story - the hotel is maybe not best choice for divers or party-seekers. But it is just absolutely perfect for couples. Don't even hesitate. We regret that we stayed there only for 3 days. Good luck for manager, Stuart! Thanks for having us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nextparadise, Owner at Next Paradise Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Alexander ,
thank you for your feedback. and thank you for taking the time to write a review about Next Paradise. We greatly appreciate your positive review. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the hospitality of our staff .

Best regards
Marina Bozic Lanza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you are reading this review in the search for the perfect getaway for you and your partner then stop looking and start booking! we spent a long time looking for the picture-perfect place for our honeymooon and had very high expectations of next paradise based on all the great reviews and our expectations were exceeded in every way! we stayed in a beach front villa for 5 nights and then moved to a first floor panarama suite foor the next 7nights. for us 12 nights was perfect as we wanted to lie on a beach/by a pool and do very little, but there are trips you can take if you aren't like us. food-wise: delicious and portions are very generous! we had glorious sunshine every day, and not too many mozzies (though we very much appreciated the mosquito nets over the bed). we snorkled with dolphins which we loved, had a massage on the beach, private lobster dinner on the beach which you must do and took a fantastic sunset cruise. thank you to all the staff for making our honeymoon so perfect!

Room Tip: we loved our beach front villa as you could step straight onto the beach, but the panaramic had an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I never write reviews, but now I need to share my opinion with future guests, who I believe will be as satisfied as me.
The place is very nice, quiet and beautifuyl decorated, The staff is very friendly, with big smiles on their faces.
Usually I do not like to eat sea food, but their chef prepairs such good sea food that I couldn.t resist it. We stayed there for one week and took two trips which were perfectly organized by the hotel. We went to stone town and blue safary and i would recommend it to everyone that goes there. I am really looking forward to another opurtunity for visiting this amazing place which is the closest thing to heaven i have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nextparadise, Owner at Next Paradise Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest, We appreciate your kind comments about the hotel and would like to say that guest satisfaction is something that we take very seriously and feedback from our valued guests is something we appreciate.We are very glade,that you spend in Next Paradise Botique Hotel a wonderfull holiday. Thank you for your review
Kind regards
Marina Bozic Lanza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Next Paradise Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Next Paradise Boutique Resort

Address: Pwani Mchangani, Pwani Mchangani 3363, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Next Paradise Boutique Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Next Paradise Boutique Resort sits on one of the most beautiful white sandy beaches of Zanzibar, facing directly the Indian Ocean and protected by the coral reef which is about one kilometer away.located only 45 minutes drive from Stone Town and 30 minutes from Nungwi and Kendwua, (the beaches of north) it is perfect place to organize excursions, spice tours, swim with dolphins, big game fishing, kite surfing , diving and snorkeling to Mnemba atoll. The charming small hotel is well known because of its sober elegance, the excellent food and especially for its intimate and quiet atmosphere. At Next Paradise you will find 16 fully furnished rooms all provided with air conditioning and sea view private verandahs. Our staff is always happy to offer individual attention to every single guest of the hotel. Whether you're looking to book your honeymoon or need inspiration for a romantic getaway, we have special offers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Next Paradise Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Next Paradise Boutique Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Next Paradise Boutique Resort Zanzibar/Pwani Mchangani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Next Paradise Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.