We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Zanzibar Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Zanzibar Resort to your Saves list
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kiwengwa Road, Pwani Mchangani 2210, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had a amazing week at Waikiki Resort. Although the rooms are not on the high comfort zoen, you hardly spend time in the room. So many places to seat and relax anf each a bot different and all really cool, The place is practically on the beach so the lack of pool is not felt for a sec. Service is amazing. Everyone there has a great can do attitude. Even if someone can not understand what you want, they simply bring someone that will understand and they will always try to work out how to fulfill your wish. The food is the best we had during our Tanzania visit and the Italian touch brought by the general manager is felt. Delicate, tasty, never too much or too little.
The couple that run the place, Flavio and Sarah are just great. Within a day of being there they become part of your life but in a totally unintrusive manner. Prices are reasonable and they will help you arrange and find anything you wish on the island.
If you're looking for a cool place to stay this is it. Suitable for anyone with the right attitude. We were there as a family with two teenagers and saw young couples, small groups 2-3-4 of friends from different countries.
If we get to Zanzibar again, we will definitely want to stay there again.

Room Tip: Be clear in advance by email about how many are in your party, if airco is essential etc. They will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    88
    22
    11
    6
See reviews for
38
206
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Me and my boyfriend spent two weeks in this hotel. The owners and all staff are very friendly and helpful in case of any problems, not even related to the hotel. We didn't even feel like in hotel, but like in friends' holiday house. The whole resort reminded me Hawaii. There is sand everywhere around. You go out of your room, which was like little house and you step directly to sand. Restaurant is just few steps from room, as well as beach. Restaurant is nice, situated outside under the roof. Breakfast was very good, we had pastries, fruits, and then selection of cooking breakfast, like omelet, pancakes, waffles, french toast, etc. I would recommend to add some vegetable and cheese. However what we had was perfectly fine. We also ate dinners there as there is nothing around. The dinners are very nice too, but little bit expensive. At the beach you have sunbeds and you can relax there whole day and no one will bother you. People selling souvenirs are not allowed to come to you. They just walk on the beach and offering their products. In case you are interested, you come to them. The beach is very long, so you can make nice walks during the day as well. Beach and the whole resort is cleaned every morning. Also the rooms are cleaned every morning. We had the smallest room, but it was enough. The fan was working great, so no air con needed. I was just upset there was no Cannibal party at that time as season just started. Was really looking forward to that. Anyway, we had very nice time at this resort and really enjoyed it. I would highly recommend this hotel as it is very relaxing, friendly and for good price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Highly recommend! Reasonably priced, excellent customer service, owners are very flexible with check-in/out times, and attentive to details. Only 16 rooms total so a very nice, private, and relaxing place to stay. They even made us early breakfast when we had to leave early in the morning for excursions. Sarah and Flavio do an outstanding job and we will definitely return when if we get the chance!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The owners/managers were unbelievably detailed. From check in to check out we never had an issue. At any given time someone can have a problem in the room etc. but they would nip it in the bud. Every morning at breakfast you were asked to give a short answer for five simple questions in reference to your stay. This would give you a chance to say in advance that perhaps something was not working properly. It then was immediately taken care of. We did organized trips through the tour guide in the hotel and everything was perfect. We walked the beautiful beach every day we had free and it was really fun. The bar made great happy hour drinks and that was always fun. We stayed in the city and had planned on returning. After we started staying at Waikiki we knew we would prefer to stay our entire time there. I would fully recommend this property

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Waikiki is a chilled, family run hotel that is extremely charming. The simplicity of the place is what makes it so charming compared to the 4/5 star hotels which share the same beach. We went in off season (yes slightly rainy) so it was fairly quiet compared to what it must be in high season, but the benefit of this was that the beach felt like our own and what a stunning beach it is.
Sarah and Flavio are lovely people and are keen to make sure that guests are comfortable and if anything is 'wrong" they do their utmost best to fix the problem straight away.
The staff are wonderful and most helpful and the food very good, although a snack menu at lunch would be welcome. Unfortunately the pizza oven was closed for the season, but I am sure and heard that they are outstanding. Another good reason to return to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Waikiki so much we extended our four nights to six! The resort is located along one of the best beaches we experienced in Zanzibar (white sands, turquoise sea and very friendly locals). There is a conveniently located jet ski centre a few mins down from the resort front and an abundance of snorkelling trips to the, closely located and very popular, Mnemba Island which is about 45mins out by boat. The staff at Waikiki are friendly, helpful and connect with their guests in a sociable and pleasant manner. Above all it's great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riebeek Kasteel, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Friends and I spent four delightful days at Wakiki. The beach is pristine and clean; the ocean blue and clear. The resort is managed by an Italian couple, which brings about freshly baked bread, cake, doughnuts and croissants for breakfast. Fresh seafood was initially in short supply, but management made up by offering us lobster at prawns prices. Rooms are spacious and adequate. We especially loved the “lobster boat” on the beach, but a pity about the high booze prices. Overall, a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Waikiki Zanzibar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Zanzibar Resort

Address: Kiwengwa Road, Pwani Mchangani 2210, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Zanzibar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is located on one of the most beautiful and unspoiled beaches of Zanzibar : Pwani Mchangani. The resort is surrounded by the lush of the spot, palm trees and bush, built just on the beach and so, except for the two single rooms which are on the back, wherever you are you can enjoy a wonderful sea view. A perfect place to chill-out. The resort is managed by international staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Waikiki Zanzibar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Zanzibar Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Waikiki Hotel Pwani Mchangani Mdogo
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Zanzibar Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.