We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Zanzibar Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Zanzibar Resort to your Saves list
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kiwengwa Road, Pwani Mchangani 2210, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent 2 nights here after spending a wonderful 3 nights elsewhere in Zanzibar. After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor on Waikiki, I was really expecting something amazing.

First of all the positives - the room was superb and the breakfasts on both days was excellent.

Sadly, the rest of our experience at Waikiki was awful. The food is bland and really poor. For an Italian run place, the pasta dish we got for lunch was just pasta in a watered-down tomato sauce. Moreover, long grain rice was used for the risotto!! All the fish dishes were overcooked and overpriced.

Sadly this was not the worst part! On Friday, there is a beach party which I thought would be on the beach outside the resort - but it was 10 meters away from my room!!! I could not sleep the whole night!

Overall despite the good rooms, I would stay away from this place. Pwani Mchangani is a wonderful beach but stay on one of the other resorts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerZanzibar, Owner at Waikiki Zanzibar Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Mr Abdul,
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at Waikiki.
We apreciate your opinion but feel that the title of your review 'Awful' isn't appropriate.
We are glad you liked the room and the breakfast and we appreciate your positive response.
In saying that some items were over priced though, we find a little hard to believe. Our menu ranges from 4$-16$. There is no food item over this value on our restaurant menu.Something being overcooked is of course a mistake. We are always happy to send out a new dish if our guests are not happy..as long as we know about it.
Waikiki is a 3* resort with professional local (Not Italian ) chefs. Not all products are easy to find here in Zanzibar.(especially for a small resort that does all of their own sourcing) Everything that we serve is specified in the menu though and should be considered before ordering.
We are sorry that the party disturbed your stay but as it is advertised on our website we assume that guests are knowlegable to this fact.
Friday is the only night of the week where Waikiki could be considered as Noisy....Most guests are happy to join the party for a while but as Waikiki is a small resort we would encourage any future guests that are disturbed by noise to arrive on a Saturday.

Kind Regards
Flavio Maglione
Director Waikiki Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    76
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
33
189
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birkirkara Malta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent the last 4 days of our honeymoon in the Honeymoon Suite at Waikiki and our hut was a 10 metre walk from the beach with a lovely hammock on the front porch.
After an 8 day safari and 4 days in Stone Town, we were looking forward to laze around and relax and we got just that. Cold beers on deckchairs on the beach, canoeing to the reef or walking when the tide is out and watching the seaweed farmers.
The mzungi or beach boys can be a bit of a pain trying to sell you all sorts of tours however they leave you be if you show disinterest.
Diving or snorkelling at the nearby Mnemba Atoll is a must.
The choice on the restaurant menu is minimal, and since my wife and I dont each fish, and we were unlucky to be there during a chicken shortage, we were a bit limited in our choices, but what was served was always freshly cooked
Will definitely re-consider if we return to Zanzi

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I've been at the Wakiki the last week of August and the place is awesome. The location is very strategic, the staff is very nice, rooms are very very clean and the happy hour organized by Marcello makes your holiday. So if you want to go to Zanzibar just go there!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
da napoli
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

it has been my third time in Zanzibar and my first at the Waikiki resort. it's a small international resort right on pwani machangani beach, better to say, on the best part of it.the long sandy .
beach, the tides, the resort itself give you the most exciting and ( at the same time) relaxing idea of what Paradise could be .
the resort is run by three nice and friendly guys who try to prevent and fulfill all your desires and a great care is set on the food at the restaurant and the drinks at the nice place on the beach.
Rooms are spacious and comfortable some with air conditioning and some with fans and last of all the price is definitely affordable and even cheap considering what you get there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Flavio and his wife sarah are more than welcoming as they invite you into their 15 room paradise. This resort gave interactions with the locals who were more than excited to teach you swahili if you are interested and a quiet atmosphere where you can enjoy the beautiful blue ocean and white white sand. The food is unbelievable and everyone is so friendly, going out of their way to make your vacation everything you'd hoped for. If you want to go to an all-inclusive resort where you feel as if you're in Mexico this one is not for you but if you want to feel what zanzibar has to offer this is perfection.

Room Tip: The rooms with air conditioning seem to be newer and definitely worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We just came back from our holiday/wedding at Waikiki! Withut a doubt it was definatley the best holiday I have ever been on ! During the mornings there was an abundant fruit supply including the most delicious mangoes as well other cooked breakfast options. There was hardly any wind most mornings make it perfect to walk down the beach, lie in the sun, rent a SUP or just swim ! When the tyde goes there is a lagoon less than 10 meters away to swim in. The afternoons were commonly windy - which was great as we were a party consisting mainly of kite surfers - the instructors were great too ! By the time we got back to our rooms they were very clean and they were sprayed. The adults chilled at the bar before dinner and the kids ran rampant on the safe beaches with security as precautions - I constantly felt safe. The messiah men and other (very few of them) 'beach venders ' did not venture up to Waikiki. The meals were delicous but if one found them a little much ( I have unsophisticated taste buds) there was always the option of the kiddies menu which was just as good ! Flavio and Sarah were such wonderful hosts to us and catered to our every need - even re cooking a meal 4 times because a four year old coukdnt make up his mind ! This really was an amazing holiday and I'm going to make sure that they renew their vows their so we can go back !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We booked the entire resort for family and friends - 35 people including families, singles, couples etc. Waikiki has the best beach in Zanzibar. The most amazing and friendly management headed up by Flavio & his family. With unbelievable personal touch, they were incredibly accommodating and energetic, providing for our every need. They have a beach bar which is the perfect meeting place after a day in the sun and a great little personal restaurant. You wont be dissapointed to stay in this well run and clean resort - great value for money!! Everyone had an unforgettable time.
We will definitely be returning to Waikiki!

Room Tip: There are 3 types of room. The best value is the mid - level "Safari room" which is clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Zanzibar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Zanzibar Resort

Address: Kiwengwa Road, Pwani Mchangani 2210, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Zanzibar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is located on one of the most beautiful and unspoiled beaches of Zanzibar : Pwani Mchangani. The resort is surrounded by the lush of the spot, palm trees and bush, built just on the beach and so, except for the two single rooms which are on the back, wherever you are you can enjoy a wonderful sea view. A perfect place to chill-out. The resort is managed by international staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Waikiki Zanzibar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Zanzibar Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Waikiki Hotel Pwani Mchangani Mdogo
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort Pwani Mchangani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Zanzibar Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.