We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place you want to be!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Dida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Dida to your Saves list
Villa Dida
Pwani Mchangani Beach | Zanzibar, Pwani Mchangani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Place you want to be!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Beautiful place with welcoming staff good food it was just perfect.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    55
    9
    12
    6
See reviews for
20
106
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at Villa Dida in July 2011.
We nave bene extremely satisfied by our choice given to the fact that we dislike  "all inclusive" type resorts and this small property is completely the opposite. The hotel offers 10 rooms only and is located on the beach by a local fishermen's village. This might be seen as a con but it did not bother us at all. Our neighbours were unintrusive, smiling and friendly.
We stayed in two suites, one for us and one for our teenage kids. These are located on the first floor of the villa and had ocean and pool view. Both were fairly large, with a big bathroom. A desk, a king size bed and an extra queen size bed were provided so one suite can easily accomodate a family of three. They all came with a furnished balcony.Rooms decor is typical from the island, a rustic mix of african/arabic style. All beds feature mosquito covers which make the ambience very romantic. Walls are coloured in dark reds and orange tones.  Lighting should definitely be improved. Lights are so soft that we could not really see inside the wardrobe. We did notice at time some smell coming from the toilets but it wasnt as bad as reviews we read made us scared of. Overall cleaning was very satisfactory. The clientele is mostly Italian and the chef offers  fish based delicacies daily. Food is truly excellent as it is fresh and 0 km! Do not expect club sandwiches and burgers here. If you hate fish run away!
However for our carnivore children who do not really appreciate fish, Vito the Manager went the extra mile to try to cater for their tastes. Just ask beforehand. Menus are supplied in the mornings for you to chose your lunch and dinner which comprises of appetizers, main course ( handmade pasta), and basically fish fish fish, plus a dessert or delicious tropical fruits. A delicious Zanzibar style typical dinner is also offered during your stay. Breakfast is limited to a few items but croissants and toasts are also offered, so overall it s ok for a continental, dont expect a full fried American hearty fare.
The spa is a simple wooden open air construction with two lovely ladies offering massage, braids and henna tattoos. Do not expect your city spa with multiple treatments but I do recommend the 5 massage package which limits the cost to 20 eur per treatment.
The Villa offers a small but clean pool, a main beachfront restaurant with breathtaking views of the ocean and a small bar. It s true that the beach area is impacted by the tide phenomena but we had no problem in bathing there and we recommend anyway that you explore the island's many wonderful beaches. And after all people should make their homework checking out facts and things before they leave for a trip instead of complaining afterwards for natural phenomena they should have been aware of in first place.
As far as tours are concerned we took advantage of the "discovery" package which included also a boat trip on a beautiful sandy beach and other activities.  The spice tour and the swim with the dolphins experience was the trip kids and parents enjoyed the most. Packages offered at the hotel were fairly priced, well organised and we felt it was safer doing it with the hotel than booking one via the unknown beach boys patrolling the beaches selling souvenirs and excursions.
We felt  some reviews where people expected a 5 star resort type of experience at the cost they paid for,  kind of laughable. For this price range I dont expect the Ritz Carlton and I keep my expectations in the appropriate range. 
To sum it up:
Do not go to Villa Dida if you are looking for an all inclusive resort with a young clientele and active nightlife.  I would not recommend it either to families with teenage kids. We were so lucky that when we stayed there were 5 teenagers in total so they enjoyed themselves but if our kids were there alone I do not think they would have enjoyed it.
Do go to Villa Dida if you are a couple still enjoying each other's company and you favour small, simple, good value for money properties in an enchanting environment and you are ready to compromise a little bit on the occasional little problem that might occur. You are in Africa after all!
All in all it was a wonderful stay especially thanks to the wonderful location and all the staff at Villa Dida from the manager to the waiters to the tour guides. They all went the extra mile for us.Thanks for a memorable experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Højbjerg, Århus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

It was such a pleasure to stay at Villa Dida - and the position, right on the beach, could not have been better. The staff were just amazing. I have never met people so helpful, sweet and smiley... I was really like being home with your family!!!! The manager Luca Catanoso have really done a fantastic job there, and we could se how much the staff liked and respected him. It was truely an enjoyable stay and we will definitely be back soon....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Villa Dida Special Place in Zanzibar. We stay a week in a junior suite around 60sqm with 2 masterbeds and huge bathroom with 2 showers all in african style furniture. It is an eco lodge with fun on the ceiling (no A/C) and we sleept fine no mosquitos, no hot!!! Charming resort divided in just 9 rooms with lunch and dinner prepared by undervision of Luca Italian director with mix of home made pasta italian style with fresh fish sauce with cumino spice....very good dishes!! Luca Catanoso is very helpfull and friendly director. He try the best to make you happy !!!!
We booked all the week half or all day trips for discover Zanzibar, with guide Ally.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAR ES SALAAM
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

very good hotel,excellent rooms and service.
simon

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Dida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dida

Address: Pwani Mchangani Beach | Zanzibar, Pwani Mchangani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Dida is wonderfull Resort Boutique in front of the Beach of Pwani Mchangani, in Nord East Coast of Zanzibar, located in one of the Best Beaches in the Word.In Front of Villa Dida only 2 Km away it is Mnemba Atoll, The Park Marine of Zanzibar, home to dolphins, turtles and hundreds of tropical fishOnly 9 Rooms with 5 Suites, one with Jacuzzi inside and 4 of 70 Mq with Balcon front of the sea. Bar and Restaurant directly in the Beach, Pool and Spa is somes services that can yuo will found in Villa Dida. The best place for a person that dont like "A Big Club, away from invasive activity", ideal for dreamers that like a beautiful things..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Dida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dida Hotel Pwani Mchangani Mdogo
Dida Resort Pwani Mchangani Mdogo
Villa Dida Zanzibar/Pwani Mchangani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Dida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.