We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobby nice...rooms, not so nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   401 South New York Road, Galloway, NJ 08205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Galloway
Northern New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lobby nice...rooms, not so nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

Desperate to find a decent place to stay last minute near the Jersey Shore, I booked this place on a Friday for a Saturday night stay. I don't regret my decision necessarily -- I liked the area and the proximity to a great beach (Brigantine) and there were great places to eat around there (Sunryser Cafe - Yum! Oyster Creek Inn - Great!).

Pulling up to the Seaview, it doesn't look quite as majestic as the website's photos make it appear and it is overrun by golfers, clubs and carts (don't mean to offend any aspiring Tiger Woods here). So, you get the feeling you're pulling into a country club, rather than a resort. Anyway, the lobby area was very nice, spacious and pleasant. The front desk and concierge service was excellent. The Grill Room and Pool Bar had excellent food for a quick lunch.

This hotel has a lot going for it in terms of ambiance and location but it is in dire need of an upgrade/renovation. My room was musty and was definitely suffering from mold issues and old carpet -- there was dust and mold coming from the air vents and the carpet just felt damp and icky. Needless to say, we left our windows open to air the place out a bit and turned down the A/C. The room was not particularly clean -- everything felt like it had a layer of grime on it; the towels were rough, old and stained; the bathroom was screaming for an update and the clover motif was just um, i don't know how to describe it.

There are two pools here -- an indoor and an outdoor. I would stay far away from the indoor pool -- it is old, not maintained and just gross. The outdoor pool, while way too small for the size of the hotel, is excellent and I had no complaints about it or the pool area. We enjoyed it a lot.

I probably wouldn't stay here again, although in terms of choices there aren't many alternatives available in this area, aside from budget hotels and questionable motels so...maybe if I was really desperate to get back down to the shore and had an extra $400/night to burn, maybe I would. I would just be sure to pack some Clorox wipes, Lysol and Windex, as well as some Febreeze or something to "refresh" the air, and then maybe I'd return.

For the prices they charge and the seemingly upper-scale clientele this resort caters to, you'd think they could do much better than this. This is not quite as nice as other Marriott properties I've been to.

  • Liked — The lobby and the outdoor pool.
  • Disliked — The outdated, stinky rooms and the uncomfortable beds.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    253
    125
    40
    33
See reviews for
195
294
26
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

As noted by a previous reviewer, distinguish between the hotel vs. the time share villas. The hotel is grand but as noted by previous reviewers, it needs an overhaul. Clearly the investors who own it are not willing to outlay the capital. Exterior wood is peeling and the windows look ancient. This review is of the villas, which are adjacent to the hotel with a separate entrance. The villas are typically only available to timeshare owners and those doing tours.

Pros

As with most Marriott time shares, the premises are first class. The outdoor pool is nice, but lacks adequate umbellas to avoid excess sun. The Spa has a nice outdoor pool and an indoor pool. Hotel guests unfortunately use the timeshare facilities, often without permission, and tend to overcrowd things. Management is trying to crack down by using wrist bracelets and marked towels. But no one enforces any of the rules. Access to the hotel requires a short walk or you can call for a free golf cart ride from the staff. Convenient to Atlantic City but a hike to other shore towns.

CONS

Few. The housekeeping staff seems below par and the units are starting to show their age. More units are being built which may eventually create overcrowding.

Hotel

Access to the hotel is a plus. Its a treat to eat in the grill room or shoot pool downstairs. Dining is expensive. The food is above average. The bar in the front lobby is great place at night to grab a drink and relax.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

When you first arrive its looks beautiful and the lobby and the front both represent how lovely and charming this once was. The photos all over really show how elegant it was 70 or 80 years ago. Not that it is a Marriott,I can say it is the jewel of the Courtyards, only this is NOT a Courtyard. The rooms are clean and modest. The pool area is okay with lovely flowers and grass, bot no pool services or anything other than plastic tube like lounges, no pads, no pool boys.

The restaurant is just fair, not anything special, and servce is only okay. They don't have the famous Friday night seafood buffet anymore. I think all in and all this place is better during the week. On the week ends it becomes a real family reosrt, with activities like make your own magents, and jello eating contests etc. It gets over crowded and the wait for breakfast can be 30 minutes and very noisey.

The crowd is not bad, perhaps a notch or 2 over the typical AC crowd. This is for wanna be golf resrt people. The gold course is not bad sort of a bad take off of Pebble Beach as it is on the water, but not especially breath taking. Its not a bad place just not a great place or a classic. Everyone is friendly and they do push the Marriott time share week ends down your throat where ever you turn.

I was for warned of this from newnewyoker dot com. I went anyhow. oh well I got a good tan.

Find me at elsushi921 aol

  • Liked — the staff was friendly
  • Disliked — the pool lounges were not comfortable and there was no extras
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

Beautiful location, lots of potential with the property but horrible amenities and service. The shower didn't work. The carpet is left over from the 80's. The towels looks old and used. The decor is outdated. Marriott is just riding by without improving the property. Beautiful golf course but little maintenance. Tee boxes were pretty destroyed. Not the most hepful staff from the hotel.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the outdated decor and staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

Resort is great and golf fantastic. However, do not believe the staff. They are slow, disorganized and quite frankly lie. They also made very little effort to accommodate our requests as part of a special birthday weekend. If you are going for the golf I would recommend you stay elsewhere and book the golf institute separately or, at the very least, lower your expectations.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Everything else but the setting
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewGM, General Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 10, 2009
This review was writtne while the hotel was under Marriott Management. Management at Seaview changed to Dolce hotels & Resorts as of May 9, 2009.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

My husband and I were in town for a FAA workshop and were asked by FAA to stay at the Seaview. Although we are both Govt employees, we still had to book the room at the conference rate of $114 as the Govt. rate was not available. We made the reservation through the Marriott website and were given a total price inclusive of taxes, for the stay.
Imagine our surprise when, on checking out, we found that a daily "service charge" had been added to the bill. The guy at the front desk was inefficient and unfriendly and said that he could do nothing even if he wanted to. Which made us think - maybe he DID NOT want to. He refused to give any explanations for the charges other than they were for some "banquet" facilities, which was a downright lie. My husband and I paid for all our meals at the hotel, no "special" benefits were given. Later that day, we checked with the conference organizers and they were totally unaware of this additional charge.
Now for the rooms - our was on the third floor. The carpet was filthy and the bathroom had cobwebs and spiders. The valence was torn and there were some spiders there as well. To add to this nastiness, there were strands of hair stuck on the door - and they were not mine!!
The housekeeping was pretty miserable as well - first couple of days there were no shampoos and then there was no lotion. On the last day I had to call the front desk for supplies. However, housekeeping did not forget to leave an envelope in plain sight for their tips!! Pretty shameless.
The breakfast service in the morning is also rather miserable. For $16.95 per person plus tax, you would expect to get some service. But no luck - the servers were always grouped at the juice stand and yapping away.
Also, beware of the "free" gift on your key card. It is just a ruse to get you to listen to the Marriott Resort timeshares.
The grounds did look great, but everything was just a show from the outside. Also, as one previous reviewer mentioned, these people are not at all friendly to Government employees - probably because we are not paying them an arm and a leg for a rotten stay!!
Please stay away from this hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Dirty bathroom, bad housekeeping, "extra" charges during check-out
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

I have stayed at this wonderful property on 2 separate business trips. Beautiful grounds, well appointed rooms, excellent restaurants, and superior service. Responsive and caring management. This is a must for golfers and is close to Atlantic City and Cape May. Every staff member I encountered was truly helpful which shows that this is a great place to work. This is important because it shows to the guests!

  • Liked — Wonderful hotel with caring staff.
  • Disliked — Long ride if traveling from Philadelphia Airport.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 401 South New York Road, Galloway, NJ 08205
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Galloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Galloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview, a Dolce Hotel Galloway
Seaview a Dolce Resort
Marriott Galloway Township
Galloway Township Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.