We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience...would gladly come again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   401 South New York Road, Galloway, NJ 08205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dolce Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Galloway
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience...would gladly come again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

After reading some of the poor reviews we were prepared for a not-so-good experience. We found that not only was the exterior lovely, the interior was charming as well. Yes the hallways are long but clean and quiet. The bathrooms had some flaking paint but was clean and well appointed. What impressed me the most was the bed. I hate hotel beds but this one was well beyond ordinary and I found not only the bed but the pillows to be extraordinarily comfortable. Great location and very charming

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Supervisor at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Seaview Resort was built in 1914 as a private country club. Over years, we have done many upgrades to the property that have allowed us to maintain its historic beauty while still provide an ambience which is warm, refined and traditional. We are blessed to be a significant landmark in this community showcasing this 100 year old gem for our guests to experience. Your feedback allows us to continually improve upon our products and services. I hope to welcome you back in the near future to share rich and fascinating history of this property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    306
    156
    47
    47
See reviews for
243
352
32
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galloway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great location for proximity to the shore without shore prices. Stayed last year and enjoyed it. This year was even more enjoyable with the rooms much more luxurious and the staff even more helpful. Will certainly return again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Supervisor at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We are pleased to hear about your experience. Thank you for noticing our efforts in striving for greater quality. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and very much appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

One hundred years old, but completely renovated with all the modern amenities. This place is Oak and Leather rather than the Chrome and Glass hotels of Atlantic City. Service from the staff is excellent on a level that is rarely seen these days. It has two swimming pools, a small indoor pool and a large outdoor pool area with Jacuzzi.It is truly a paradise for golfers,but also a great place to bring the family. The grounds are maintained to a meticulous degree. Everything is green and beautiful and the landscaping is manicured to perfection. It would be great for a romantic weekend getaway or a longer full vacation stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Supervisor at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We take great pride in celebrating our 100th anniversary this year. We are located on Reeds Bay on 670 acres with views of the Atlantic City Skyline and the barrier islands. The hotel opened in 1914 as a private country club featuring two 18-hole championship golf courses. Throughout the years, we made extraordinary efforts to maintain the charm and detail of this unique and historic resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Jackson, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were celebrating our anniversary and visiting to see a show at one of the Atlantic City casinos. However, we found the Seaview rates a lot more reasonable, so we took a chance. Wow, what a great surprise! Beautiful outside and in, romantic, warm, great food and an easy commute to Atlantic City. No way would we stay at a casino. Easy ride to local areas of interest like shopping in historic Smith City just up the road and some Irish taverns. We look forward to a return when we have time to enjoy the golf, pools and spa amenities. Don't doubt it or search any more, just DO IT.

Dennis H

Room Tip: We had a suite on the North end overlooking the gardens. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Supervisor at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments! We love to hear back from our guests and I will be sure to share your somments with our staff. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. Our room rate was very reasonable (we were with a group) for August at the Jersey shore. At the price we paid, we expected that the century-old resort would be down at the heels. Not at all; it's been restored to its 20th-century glory. Yes, the rooms are small, but the closet space is good and the bathroom has plenty of room. The most important factor -- great, friendly employees who went out of their way to help. The hotel allowed us to bring our dog, which was wonderful because it meant we didn't have to find someone to take care of him.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Supervisor at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards, and for that I sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our restaurant manager and we’ve implemented steps to ensure this won’t happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had an excellent time at the Seaview. The breakfast buffets were wonderful and the staff is so friendly and efficient. Each year they warmly welcome our Aikido group. It's like visiting old friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Supervisor at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
We are pleased to hear about your experience. Thank you for noticing our efforts in striving for greater quality. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and very much appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This hotel is seriously in need of a total renovation. At one time this may have been a first class hotel but that is no longer true. This was the designated guest hotel for a wedding we were attending.

The first room that they gave us was in an older section of the hotel. Not only was it very old and small, but it also has a very strong chemical smell and you could only open the windows 3 inches. I have asthma and requested a different room because the smell was bothering my lungs.

They were very accommodating about moving us to another room in the newest section of the hotel which is about 28 years old. This room had a stuff, musty smell, but improved once the air conditioning was on. As long as we kept the air conditioning to about 70 degrees, the smell was tolerable. The bathroom door would not stay open and there was no air conditioning in it. It got very warm in there if you did not keep the door open.

The next morning we awoke to find that there was a leak in the ceiling of the bathroom. My husband almost slipped in there. When we reported it to the manager on duty she said she would look into it and also gave us a partial credit on our bill. However, when we reviewed our bill, we not only saw a credit, but we noticed a service charge for $5.60. When we questioned the charge, we were told it was charge incurred because we were booked under a group rate.They refused to remove this charge. I have never heard of a booking charge on a group rate.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Supervisor at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for not being able to rectify the problem with your reservation and will follow up with the front office to find out the cause. As for your other comments, allow me to elaborate. We are located on Reeds Bay on 670 acres with views of the Atlantic City Skyline and the barrier islands. The hotel opened in 1914 as a private country club featuring two 18-hole championship golf courses. Throughout the years, we made extraordinary efforts to maintain the charm and detail of this unique and historic resort. It certainly isn’t for everyone, but we are extremely proud of our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galloway
13.7 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 34 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
5.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,770 reviews
5.1 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#4 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,977 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Chelsea
The Chelsea
#17 of 57 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Fairway Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 401 South New York Road, Galloway, NJ 08205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Galloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Galloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview, a Dolce Hotel Galloway
Seaview a Dolce Resort
Marriott Galloway Township
Galloway Township Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.