We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   401 South New York Road, Galloway, NJ 08205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Galloway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classic Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We are traveling to Cape May for a week with the family. We were looking for a place to stay one night on the way down. My daughter in law found this place online. What a pleasant surprise this hotel is. It was built in 1914 and has undergone many changes over the years but the staff is great and the rooms comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet too. We will return next year and I look forward to it.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Supervisor at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback and noticing the important details of our guestrooms. We will continue to enhance our products and services to ensure a memorable experience for our guests. The Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club is the area’s only full-service golf resort set upon 670 acres of Woodland Park just across Reed’s Bay from Atlantic City. It’s a historic place with an atmosphere of history and tradition more usually found in the Old World such as St. Andrews, Gleneagles and Carnoustie. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    282
    141
    43
    42
See reviews for
217
322
29
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galloway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The hotel hosted an Aikido event and the facility seemed very busy. The a.m. breakfast buffet was good but several guests were making take away platters from the buffet. Had to wait to replace fruit at buffet. Suggest check when this group will be coming.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Supervisor at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and apologize for not living up to your expectation. We will continue to improve upon our product and service to provide a better experience in the future. We do look forward to seeing your group every year and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Old world charm with upscale amenities. Golf resort with beautiful views, great location close to Atlantic City and reasonable price. Outstanding breakfast buffet.
Suggestion...would request 2nd or 3rd floor room at end of hall. Hotel is 100 years old with hallways that creak when guest walking on them.

Room Tip: request 2nd or 3rd floor room at end of hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Supervisor at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed such a wonderful weekend. We are glad you enjoyed our food and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

A tired looking hotel. There were holes in the ceiling and floor of the hallways with yellow traffic cones to warn of obstacles.
I would not classify it as a resort. Golf courses are poor to mediocre. Poolside service is hindered by system of payment and the food arrives cold.
The food inside the hotel was good and well priced. This was not enough to consider a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Desk Supervisor at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards, and for that I sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our restaurant manager and we’ve implemented steps to ensure this won’t happen again. . The hotel opened in 1914 as a private country club featuring two 18-hole championship golf courses. Throughout the years, we made extraordinary efforts to maintain the charm and detail of this unique and historic resort. It certainly isn’t for everyone, but we are extremely proud of our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I must have played golf here well over a dozen times in the last 2 years and LOVE the golf course and the GOLF staff. The Hotel had issues that were not at all manageable or taken care of. This is not an exceptionable hotel by all means. This place needs a HOTEL make over in so many ways. 100 years old and it shows. It has a 5 star golf course and 2 star hotel.

I could not get an early check in so I went to pool area to sit and relax and grab a bite to eat, only to find black MOLD growing on all the white chairs as if they have NEVER been Cleaned in YEARS. Dirty Towels all over the place at the pool, music playing over a speaker from a radio station that had more static then music. Could not stay long and decided to hit golf balls instead...my saving grace. GREAT practice facility. After checking in to the room I noticed a musty smell and didn't think anything more about it UNTIL I stepped near the TV to turn it on and my socks became soaking wet. Called the front desk and they sent a maintenance guy who could not figure out where the water came from. I was in Room 311 and He threw a towel over it and said that he would have housekeeping come in an extract the floor....it never happen. No other rooms were available because of a convention or was it that I had the HOTELS.com Special deal and it was now 1 am when I checked back in to my room. Now a day later I have a soar throat which I rarely get....makes you wonder.....

Jerry Ehrlich from the Great City of Philadelphia

Room Tip: No Comment !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Desk Supervisor at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We are very sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction. Clearly we had a breakdown in communication among our staff, causing interruption in your stay for which we sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our team and will ensure that proper procedures and training is in place to avoid such incident in the future. We truly hope to have an opportunity to provide you a better experience during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I just spent a week at the Seaview. Our first impression was very good. The grounds are beautiful and gardens are well kept. My husband golfs so he was very happy with the clear emphasis on golfing here. As soon as we walked inside it was literally night and day. The lobby and halls were dark and poorly lit. Everything had that smell of an old house whose windows haven't been opened in 20 years.
When we arrived in our room you were hit like a brick wall with the musty smell. You also can't help but notice the peeling plaster and wallpaper, the mold on the sink and tub, and old window and shower curtains. We managed to alleviate the smell by jacking up the AC and opening the windows at the same time. Oh well.
After checkin we walked around the resort. The pool area is pretty nice. There is a big pool and plenty of seating (but an obvious lack of umbrellas-only about 5 for about 100ish chairs). We managed to find almost everything but the spa. we had massages booked, so we wanted to see where it was. Turns out you have to actually drive there-it isn't on the resort property just kind of next door.
After touring the property I decided I didn't want to waste our money eating at the restaurants which I didn't think could possibly be good, so we made reservations elsewhere.
During the week they were building some sot of paved walkway right outside of our window(we were on the first floor). So that noise was super fun, especially since we had to leave the windows open because of the smell. We eventually bought a scented candle.
This hotel might be good for those wanting to golf here, or those wanting to go to AC but not actually stay in a casino. It is about 15 minutes to AC, we went there every night for dinner, we're not gamblers so that worked for us.
Overall I would not stay at this hotel again, if my husband wanted to golf here, I'd stay somewhere else close by.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Desk Supervisor at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We are very sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience during your stay with us. Seaview continues to enhance our products and services to ensure a memorable experience for all of our guests. We have reviewed your feedback in detail with our team and will ensure that proper procedures and training is in place to avoid such incident in the future. We truly hope to have an opportunity to provide you a better experience during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

great location and golf courses. very good value. rooms could use an update. No dining option on premises, other than small, uninviting grille room. Main Dining room was not open for dinner. What a shame.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Desk Supervisor at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We appreciate your feedback. As you’ve noticed, our lobby was renovated recently. This was the first phase of our renovation schedule. Our plan is to complete additional phases of renovation each year in the winter months. The renovations should address all of the issues you’ve pointed out. We’d love to see you in the spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 401 South New York Road, Galloway, NJ 08205
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Galloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Galloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview, a Dolce Hotel Galloway
Seaview a Dolce Resort
Marriott Galloway Township
Galloway Township Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.