We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   401 South New York Road, Galloway, NJ 08205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Galloway
Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel & Grounds:
I really enjoyed my time here. The inside is gorgeous and it's massive. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful. They have a restaurant, and a bar & lounge too. There is a pro sports shop inside if you want to buy something or maybe forgot something if you want to play golf (beautiful course by the way) and it sells cigars too! The hotel room I was in overlooked the outdoor pool which was nice because I like to people watch but the room smelled like mildew which was pretty gnarly but once you are inside you get used to it after about 10 or 15 min. I did say the inside of the Hotel is beautiful but it's a 100 year old Hotel so it's got it's issues too like holes in the ceiling in the hallways and orange cones underneath them (Obviously they are doing some sort of work) but if you can look past that considering how old it is, it's pretty great.

The Food & Restaurant:
The little restaurant is really small (unless they open up the dining room area which I didn't see them do all weekend so I don't know if/when they do) but there are about 15 tables in there so you have to wait if nothing is available. The food is pretty pricey but what do you expect at a resort? The food is okay, not great but decent. Anything that has oil in it will be really greasy. Croutons are always stale too. The weird thing about this place is that it's open to a hall way and the lobby so people walk through the dining area all the time with luggage, or in a towel and swim suit, and kids run through it since it's right next to the family rec area. There is a bar area with a lounge and tv across from the restaurant and you can sit outside by the fire pits too if you want to have a drink outside which is pretty nice but expect the outdoor seats to be taken almost all night on a nice evening.

The Staff:
The staff everywhere in this place is super friendly. They all seem to enjoy working here which is a good sign and they always greet you in passing with a smile.

The Pools:
Indoor pool is pretty quiet on nice days so if you want to go for a swim and outside is chaos, go inside it's pretty nice. The outside pool is nice too but it gets really crowded pretty early (around 10am) and it becomes very hard to find anywhere to sit or lay. It's not very relaxing either bc it gets noisy with all the kids screaming and running around.

All-in-all I really liked this place and would recommend it but bring earplugs because people slam their doors all hours of the night and day and the walls by the door are thin so you can hear everything so a good night's rest requires earplugs. I always have mine on hadn so i can't complain about the noise but my fiance didn't and he was often woken up around 6 or 7am by noise and couldn't get back to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We appreciate your feedback. We will continue to improve upon our product and service to provide you an even better experience next time. Thank you for spending this special occasion with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    256
    126
    40
    36
See reviews for
198
299
26
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place has really gone downhill since our last visit 2 years ago. Check-in on July 4th took forever. They were clearly not prepared for the onslaught of people even though they were booked solid for the night. Most rooms were not ready at 4PM. What were they expecting? There was a strong musty odor in our room, so we asked to be moved to a different room. We got moved to a comparable room on the 3rd floor, which looked like a disaster area. Orange construction cones lining the hallway and huge chunks of the ceiling missing. We navigated this mess, made it to our new room only to find the musty odor was actually worse here! And the bathroom was in dire need of updating. There was virtually no water pressure in the shower. We also ended up with an unexpected change of plans and asked to cancel our second night stay without financial penalty. They absolutely refused.The reason? They price matched a discounted rate I had found on Expedia. It is the hotel's policy to match rates - this was no special favor to us. We asked to speak to the manager about this. At first he refused to come out and instead relayed the message to the desk clerk. We asked again to speak with the manager (Chaz?). Eventually he came out and again refused our request. Basically this was a disappointing stay from start to finish. We won't be back and we just convinced friends to cancel their upcoming reservation. I suggest others think twice about booking here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are very sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction. Clearly we had a breakdown in communication among our staff, causing interruption in your stay for which we sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our team and will ensure that proper procedures and training is in place to avoid such incident in the future. We truly hope to have an opportunity to provide you a better experience during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This our second time staying at this wonderfully maintained 100 year old resort. "If only the walls could speak". The rooms are updated,comfortable and very clean. We took the 2 night Dolce summer pkg. with a Deluxe King room (overlooked pool) which included a wonderful buffet breakfast both days. We aren't golfers but enjoy this relaxing getaway so much. The Seaview offers plenty of amenities for couples or families alike. Love this Hotel!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are pleased to hear about your experience. Thank you for noticing our efforts in striving for greater quality. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and very much appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

awesome hotel in a beautiful setting... loved the pool, the food, the bar! the whole place just had a relaxed, elegant feel....The hotel and rooms were clean and well appointed, and the staff was attentive and friendly! we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your comments and more importantly for being a loyal guest. I am very pleased to hear that you had yet another great stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon arrival the staff was wonderful. However, as we entered our room we noticed that the bathroom had not been cleaned and the floors were not vacuumed. For myself, the bed was not comfortable and after 2 sleepless nights I finally requested extra pillows, which were not available. My family and I did not dine at the hotel because $11 for a hamburger is ridiculous. The pool was beautiful, however, when I called down to the front desk to ask where pool towels could be found the receptionist snapped at me and said that they rotate every so often and would be there soon. I will not recommended, nor stay at this facility again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are very sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience during your stay with us. Clearly we had a breakdown in communication among our staff. We have reviewed your feedback in detail with our team and will ensure that proper procedures and training is in place to avoid such incident in the future. We truly hope to have an opportunity to provide you a better experience during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Found the Seaview to be a charming 100 year hotel, bursting with an old world feel. Hotel sits on a beautiful landscape of grounds while having all the amenties you could want; spa, health clubk, indoor and outdoor pool and a lobby bar. Rooms were spacious and clean, though had a slight musty smell, portraying its age.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very happy to hear about your experience and look forward to having you back on a leisure trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, NY
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I spent a weekend here and simply loved it. We had the best of both worlds. We enjoyed some peace and quiet relaxing by the pool during the day and then drove into Atlantic City for the evening. Getting into AC is quick and easy. It was a pleasure to retreat to the Stockton Seaview at the end of the night.

This is an older hotel --- built 100 years ago, but it has been updated and is quite charming. For breakfast, I would suggest skipping the hotel restaurant and heading to the nearby Shea's Cafe --- what a treat! (just call ahead to reserve a spot on line).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your comments. I am very pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 401 South New York Road, Galloway, NJ 08205
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Galloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Galloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview, a Dolce Hotel Galloway
Seaview a Dolce Resort
Marriott Galloway Township
Galloway Township Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.