We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old world comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   401 South New York Road, Galloway, NJ 08205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Galloway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Galloway
1 review
“old world comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Found the Seaview to be a charming 100 year hotel, bursting with an old world feel. Hotel sits on a beautiful landscape of grounds while having all the amenties you could want; spa, health clubk, indoor and outdoor pool and a lobby bar. Rooms were spacious and clean, though had a slight musty smell, portraying its age.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very happy to hear about your experience and look forward to having you back on a leisure trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    288
    143
    44
    43
See reviews for
220
329
29
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New City, NY
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I spent a weekend here and simply loved it. We had the best of both worlds. We enjoyed some peace and quiet relaxing by the pool during the day and then drove into Atlantic City for the evening. Getting into AC is quick and easy. It was a pleasure to retreat to the Stockton Seaview at the end of the night.

This is an older hotel --- built 100 years ago, but it has been updated and is quite charming. For breakfast, I would suggest skipping the hotel restaurant and heading to the nearby Shea's Cafe --- what a treat! (just call ahead to reserve a spot on line).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments. I am very pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The is a great hotel, grand historic building with great staff. Golf was fantastic! The valet service was good, the reception was good. The breakfast food was wonderful and the services in the dining room was terrific.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very happy to hear about your experience and look forward to having you back on a leisure trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Enjoyed a one night getaway at this resort for my anniversary this year. Staff was professional and helpful. Upon check-in front desk clerk helped me overcome, what would have been an otherwise annoying, on-line booking snafu. Classy resort without any kitsch. Bartender "Pamela" made sure we had a fabulous nightcap. Would gladly return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I needed a short distance vacation spot that did not require a lot of driving because of the kids complaining. This location fitted just right. The hotel was very nice and spacious. This is a dreamer's paradise if you like to Golf. Unfortunately neither I nor my husband "Golf". However, my son had a great time in the pool. There really isn't much activities, but the ambience inside and outside the hotel is beautiful. There is a short distance away from Atlantic City, which I went and did some shopping. We also received complemetary microwave and a small refrigerator in the room, which usually cost a small fee. This reduced our expensives because the restaurant and stores in the hotel are very pricey.

Room Tip: I would upgrade to a Suite if at all possible...it is much better than a regular size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We will continue to enhance our products and services to ensure a memorable experience for our guests. The Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club is the area’s only full-service golf resort set upon 670 acres of Woodland Park just across Reed’s Bay from Atlantic City. It’s a historic place with an atmosphere of history and tradition more usually found in the Old World such as St. Andrews, Gleneagles and Carnoustie. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

If you're going to golf, the courses are beautiful (expensive, but nice). The Red Door spa is also amazing-you can spend a whole day there getting services or hanging by the pool. The hotel itself is average...staff is very friendly but the rooms/décor are a little outdated, nothing special. We stayed on a summer savings deal so it was a good package for the price. Also-being 15 minutes from AC is nice if you're looking for a variety of restaurants and/or things to do that are close by.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and constructive feedback as it helps us grow on a regular basis. We will continue to focus on adding value to your experience through enhancement of our service standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Having enjoyed this resort and facility over the past 15+ years I was excited to return for a 2 night stay for a family wedding. The resort/building is grand and stately but that's where it ends. The facility is in dire need of renovation, upgrade and cleaning. The following is what we encountered:

The Grille Room -
Slow service
Mediocre food...
and little critters flying around the table!

Main Dining Room - (we had the buffet)
ANTS, yes ANTS crawling on the table
Dirty glassware, flatware and coffee cups
Coffee thermos was placed on table and it had old coffee buildup all over
Tattered table cloth ( it should have been tossed a long time ago)
Buffet breakfast average
and little critters flying around the table!

Our Room -
Strong "musty" odor
ANTS, there too!
No mini refrigerator
Alarm clock (when was the last time you saw one?) held together with scotch tape
Worn/dirty carpet (I never took my shoes off)
and..... little critters flying around there, too!

We expressed our displeasure to several managers in hopes that management will "clean up there act." Such a beautiful facility.....such a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and constructive feedback as it helps us grow on a regular basis. We will continue to focus on adding value to your experience through enhancement of our service standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 401 South New York Road, Galloway, NJ 08205
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Galloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Galloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview, a Dolce Hotel Galloway
Seaview a Dolce Resort
Marriott Galloway Township
Galloway Township Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.