We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class golf experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   401 South New York Road, Galloway, NJ 08205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dolce Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Galloway
Branford, Connecticut
1 review
“First class golf experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We played three other courses on the Jersey Shoreline, and The Bay Course was our 4th round last week. It was like a blast to the past as we arrived on a Friday evening to the elegant and lovely hotel. The course was in exceptional condition, save the greens, that had not been rolled due to the upcoming LPGA Tournament at the end of this month. No worries. It was still a spectacular round. I had my 1st birdie on hole #7, so I was a happy camper. My hubbie and I played with a "regular" who knew the course very well, so it was a delight to play this course as well with someone so knowledgeable. He had just gotten back from playing golf in Vietnam on a business trip. Lovely clientelle. Two wedding were taking place at this lovely venue as well. We did not feel rushed or crowded at any our our meals, despite large groups were sitting side by side with us in the elegant dining room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We are pleased to hear about your experience. Thank you for noticing our efforts in striving for greater quality. Next year’s tournament will fall into the same weekend and we’ll make an extra effort to inform our guests of what they can expect. We look forward to seeing you again the near future and very much appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    306
    156
    47
    47
See reviews for
242
352
32
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We visited the Stockton Seaview for a family wedding. We flew in from out of state, and had our rental car valet parked for most of the time, mainly for convenience (the self parking lot was pretty far away...). I was unhappy that we wouldn't receive Marriott points for this stay, but the reservations people explained that it was because they are no longer affiliated with Marriott (understandable). Check-in was ok; we arrived in the afternoon on a Friday, so it was a little hectic. Thankfully, they hadn't lost our reservation (which happened to another out of town couple in our group, unfortunately). At one point, my notoriously forgetful fiancé lost his room key card, and since I neglected to put his name on our reservation, the front desk staff were adamant about not giving him a replacement key, without me officially adding him to our room, first. Again, understandable, just a little frustrating/embarrassing for the fiancé. The bellmen were very friendly, the rest of the staff were also formidable and generally welcoming. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. No fan in the bathroom, though, and the hairdryer was small (low power), just FYI. Our king bed was very comfortable. The indoor pool looked really nice, and the bar and restaurant areas were very fun, as well.
As for the catering/annex area where the cocktail hour and wedding reception were held, everything was on point and fabulous. The staff were super attentive and helpful, and very professional. If this were my wedding reception, I would be very happy with the final outcome and presentation. Nothing was missed :)
Overall, the hotel and experience were very nice. Nothing to go head over heels for, but a we had a very pleasant, and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Our room happened to look into the courtyard. In the future, I'd request a room that faced outwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very happy to hear about your experience and look forward to having you back on a leisure trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
259 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed a few days for a conference. This is a 'comfortable' and spacious hotel that fits like a well worn pair if shoes. Staff were very friendly and the bar selection of food was very good. Service in the bar was slow - but this may have been due to the staff/customer ratio. I enjoyed my time here and even made use of the lap pool!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are happy to hear about your experience and glad you were able to enjoy some of our facilities. We hope to see you many times again in the future and have an opportunity to showcase our golf and spa services to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We normally go to AC Country Club for brunch but decided to try Seaview. The food and the server at the carving station were excellent but the service throughout the meal was terrible. We had to tell them multiple times to clear our plates. Drinks were not delivered. Then when we would ask about our drink orders such as WATER- some would arrive and some would not. If you expect people to pay this price point for a meal then I would expect the service to be significantly better than what we experienced today. I could hear the surrounding tables with the same issues and different servers but keep in mind this is a buffet. The primary responsibility is drinks and clearing plates and it was a colossal fail.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards, and for that I sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our restaurant manager and we’ve implemented steps to ensure this won’t happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a resort right out of Atlantic City that caters to Golfers, newlyweds, and others. While not golfers, we enjoyed the pleasant atmosphere and its variety of activities. There are indoor and seasonal outdoor pools, walking paths, a very well equipped gym and spa offers. The Sunday brunch was excellent and quite frankly a good value. The staff is attentive and accommodating.

The beauty of the hotel attracts wedding ceremonies, so you'll want make sure you're clear whether you are there for a special occasion. Casinos are just minutes away by car. If you've been put off a bit by the casino hotels, give this location a try!

Room Tip: A friend mentioned they wanted a quiet room and they got a room on a floor away from the wedding gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We spent one night for a wedding and booked two hotel rooms. Being a historic hotel, each room tends to be little different in size from the next. We booked a king room and two double beds, the king room was pretty small and bit uncomfortable. Upon checking in my wife looked so upset that she almost cried. We did attend the wedding at the hotel and the food and service were terrific. When checking out we asked to speak to a manager and received a card. Neil from the hotel responded to my email literally within minutes. He seemed genuinely interested in hearing my feedback and concerns. We did receive compensation back for our experience and I respect the fact that they tried to resolve the matter.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I sincerely regret that some of your experience was less than desirable. Seaview Resort was built in 1914 as a private country club. Over years, we have done many upgrades to the property that have allowed us to maintain its historic beauty while still provide an ambience which is warm, refined and traditional. We are blessed to be a significant landmark in this community showcasing this 100 year old gem for our guests to experience. Your feedback allows us to continually improve upon our products and services. I hope to welcome you back in the near future to share rich and fascinating history of this property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Wonderful Conference experience for the second year. I love visiting the Seaview. They are so welcoming, the rooms are great, and the food is fantastic. The location is lovely too. A short hop to historic Smithville for antiquing or to Atlantic city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and more importantly for being a loyal guest. I am very pleased to hear that you had yet another great stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galloway
13.7 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 34 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
5.4 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,766 reviews
5.1 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#4 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,960 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Chelsea
The Chelsea
#17 of 57 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,739 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marriott's Fairway Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 401 South New York Road, Galloway, NJ 08205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Galloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Galloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview, a Dolce Hotel Galloway
Seaview a Dolce Resort
Marriott Galloway Township
Galloway Township Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.