We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stately Old Lady” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   401 South New York Road, Galloway, NJ 08205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Galloway
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Stately Old Lady”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Was part of a group of 50+ business people that held a sales meeting. The place has been around awhile and surprislingly has been able to preserve its grace. It is not a Ritz but there are some good qualities to it. The food was tasty and varied. The breakfast buffett had many options and the lunches had something for everyone. A cut above your typical hotel business catering.
I had a room facing the poolon fourth floor and it was very quiet, spacious, clean and pleasant. The WI FI worked as promised and I was generalll impressed with how the place has held up over the years. The meeting roooms were comfortable and the staff was responsive and profesionall. All in all a solid expeirence.

Room Tip: Even rooms, facing pool on 4th floor at far end of building are quiet. Even if you have to walk a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_7688, Guest Relations Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very happy to hear about your experience and look forward to seeing you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    364
    267
    128
    42
    38
See reviews for
203
311
27
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkshires
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It is sometimes difficult when on a convention, or wedding, or golf event, to focus on the environment until something goes wrong - and that would be a big mistake here because the Stockton Seaview does everything so right you might not see the details that make this a really special place - from apples and fresh fruited water in the lobby in the afternoon, to an art gallery tucked away with a great show. Good food, a smiling helpful staff, and the wide hallways and perfect lighting with nice size rooms to make a stay really special.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_7688, Guest Relations Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We are pleased to hear about your experience. Thank you for noticing our efforts in striving for greater quality by providing nourishment for our guests in the Lobby as well as a quiet satellite art museum in our gallery. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and very much appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My sister got married here in August, and I had a king bed room for Friday through Monday. The room was on the first floor, and was decent. Nice size bathroom, but the room was smaller with no refrigerator - which would have been a good amenity to have for a long weekend. Other guests who got a double bed room had MUCH more space. The bridal suite is HUGE - has a whole sitting room, two full bathrooms, bar, living room with dining table, large closet with vanity area. Great for those who plan to have bridal party to get ready in the bridal suite.
The pool was great, and though the prices are high at the lobby restaurant, the food is really good. Had an ala carte breakfast at the breakfast room one day which was also on the expensive side but very good. Pool bar has good prices and very friendly staff.
We went to AC on Friday night which was about 10 mins away and very easy with a taxi to and from.
Saturday was the rehearsal dinner which was a BBQ theme. We practiced the ceremony on the grounds (gorgeous) and then went in to the smaller banquet room for the dinner. The food was good - ribs, sausage & peppers, fresh rolls and cornbread, all types of salads. Open bar- again, very nice bartender. Everything was great.
The wedding was Sunday and absolutely stunning on the outside patio near the grand ballroom. Cocktail hour was enormous (satay station and raw bar were outstanding) and just more food than ever expected. Easy to get drinks with two bartenders - there was no line really to wait for a drink (150 person wedding). The reception was just unreal - great service, food and the portions were very large for a wedding. Cake was delicious.

Room Tip: Get the double bed room if you want more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This old classic hotel has seen its best days, but it has 2 very good golf courses that are its main draw. It's not near anything else, although Atlantic City is 20 minutes away. The hotel is now run by a college and half of the rooms are used by graduate students. The hotel has a nice outdoor pool and the grounds and landscaping are well kept. Food was pretty good but they were short on wait staff. Shopping is limited to a small sundries store and a pretty big pro shop.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here 1 night over labor day weekend....my fiance and I prefer to stay here instead of AC (which is where we were headed for a concert)...it is a beautiful resort with a friendly staff. The hotel is old but has a lot of charm, our room was spacious, clean, and the bed was super comfy!
I'm very familiar with the area because I went to college about 10 min away (Stockton) and I've attended a wedding at the Seaview Resort (which was also beautiful). If you have time check out Smithville...its a cute little town/village a few minutes away from the resort and about 15 minutes from AC. Smithville has antique stores, small eateries, and a lake where you can rent a paddle boat. The area calls for a lovely setting and is a fun place to walk around and spend some time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_7688, Guest Relations Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to learn that you had yet another memorable visit at your home away from home. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, PA
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Attended a wedding here which I have to say was done to perfection. Great food, beautiful setting and convenience for the onsite event and local attractions. The cocktail hour was outside on the terrace and it could not have gone better. Stations with varied and delicious options in addition to wait staff with trays offering up hors d'oeuvres. The ballroom for the dinner was spectacular. I don't know if the hotel as an in house florist but the table arrangements were stunning. Nice big dance floor, excellent food and great sound for the DJ and band. It was a blast.

The only thing stopping this review from being 5 stars is the room. We stayed on the first floor far, far away and it is a bit confusing if you are not familiar with the layout - the hotel dealt with this well posting guides for wedding guests to get to the right location. The room itself was a little blah. I read other reviews that complained of a musty mildew smell - we did not encounter that.....just a room a bit worn around the edges and paper thin walls. I appreciate old world charm so I would not let that stop me from coming here again because the overall grounds were beautiful and the staff was well trained and attentive. If you are considering hosting a wedding in this part of the world do not overlook this property.

Room Tip: We were in room 129 - king size bed and toward the end of a wing on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_7688, Guest Relations Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback. We are happy you enjoyed yourself at the wedding and will share your kind words with our team. We strive to make every wedding a memorable experience and hope you can visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding on property in September. The property is beautiful. Any golfer would love it! (My husband was disappointed we didn't have time to play!) The room was very nice and well appointed. The bed was SO comfortable. The only negative about the room was that the paint on the ceiling in the shower was peeling. No big deal, a little sanding and new paint and it will be good to go, I'm sure they will do that in the off season. The bathroom was still spotless and nicely sized. The walls were also a little thin, so you could hear people in the next room and the hallway, luckily we didn't have noisy neighbors! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had room service breakfast delivered to the room, it was ok, nothing to write home about, but most room service meals aren't anything superb. Overall, if we were in the area again, I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_7688, Guest Relations Manager at Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and I am very pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so that your husband can enjoy a round of golf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club

Address: 401 South New York Road, Galloway, NJ 08205
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Galloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Galloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview, a Dolce Hotel Galloway
Seaview a Dolce Resort
Marriott Galloway Township
Galloway Township Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.