We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly average...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel
Luffany, Slieverue, Waterford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Slieverue
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Distinctly average...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was here for a family function and have to say we were a bit disappointed. We had asked for an area in the bar to reserved for the party and when we arrived we found the tables occupied and some of the empty ones were filled with dirty dishes from previous customers.

The food that was served was good but no better than what you would get anywhere else. Standard fare really.

The real low point was when the birthday cake was brought out. We were given no warning so we could get ready for it which was disappointing.

Guests who stayed over night said the rooms were fine and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Stay here for two nights with my family, it is not a family friendly hotel, the staff was in no way friendly or helpfully in anyway at all to us wile we stay here, it's not a hotel for young people or young family, the breakfast on the first morning was terrible sec morning was ok, when we arrive we had lunch in the bar the food was only average in it, the rooms were clean put could do with a make over. Your five mins or so outside Waterford city so not a good place to come on a stag party or that. Over all I won't be going back there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Travelling with some old motorbikes & motorcyclists as old we were delighted with what we received here & the pleasantness of the staff was a lot to do with how this place took to my liking. A little odd the way the items you had are calculated,perhaps one price for a full breakfast with all the trimmings would be better. but other than that it was top class.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl D, Manager at The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Fran-Maria,

Thank you so much for you kind words, we a re delighted you and your party enjoyed your stay with us. We are always striving to provide the highest standard of service possible to all our guests.

Hopefully you will get a chance to visit us again soon!

Thanking you yet again,
Daryl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The only good thing about this place is the food can great value for money if you get it hot. I have no problem eating here but lately its short staffed and the food was just warm coming to table.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The hotel is generally very good, & the rooms are comfortable, Try to get a room that does not face the road or there is constant eeeeOOORRRmmm of traffic. The breakfast was not up to scratch. The bacon sausage & egg are pre-cooked & kept hot, so its pot luck if they are dry & overcooked or not.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl D, Manager at The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Arthurum,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel, however I would like to deeply and sincerely apologise for you being disappointed with our breakfast. We here at The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel continuously strive to provide the best service to all of our guests. I am sorry that the breakfast did not live up to your expectations. In recent times we have improved our ingredients and ensured a higher standard of quality in all of our food items.

Thanking you yet again,
Daryl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I recently attended a wedding a the Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel. My first impression was that it was very old fashioned and could do with a makeover. While it could certainly do with a makeover, the food was very good and homely and the staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl D, Manager at The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Seniordublin,

Firstly thank you for your kind words, we take every review seriously and it is always a delight to hear of someone having a good time within our hotel. We sincerely hope you enjoyed the wedding and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Thanking you yet again,
Daryl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinallen.N.Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

We were a party of 4 adults and stayed over the June bank holiday. The staff were great, helpful and friendly and approachable. We used the hotel as a base to explore the local area and the front desk were a fount of knowledge and willing to engage. I marked the location a average as the hotel was out of town. But if I was traveling this wouldn't have mattered as the bar food was acceptable and atmosphere plasent. There happened to be a country and western dance on 1 of the nights (not my cup of tea, as they say) but great fun.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel

Also Known As:
The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel Slieverue, County Waterford, Ireland
Address: Luffany, Slieverue, Waterford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford > Slieverue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Slieverue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful countryside within the heart of the Southeast, The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel is the perfect location for holidays, business or leisure. Our well earned reputation for friendliness and service, coupled with our old world hospitality and peaceful surroundings ensure that every guest is rewarded with a relaxing and enjoyable stay.The hotel features thirty-one elegantly furnished en-suite bedrooms. Each of which is designed for comfort. All rooms are complete with direct dial telephone, a multi-channel colour television, a hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities.On request a guest can receive;Family rooms including a baby cotFax and mailbox facilitiesNewspaper deliveryDry cleaning/Laundry serviceMorning wake up call ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.