We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not far off perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyrafter Country House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lismore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ballyrafter Country House Hotel
Save
You added Ballyrafter Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Ballyrafter, Lismore, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lismore
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not far off perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

This is pretty much my definition of the perfect country house style hotel. It's a beautiful house with traditional interior, but homely as apposed to museum like. The grounds are beautiful and through the trees you can see the castle. The staff/owners made us and our daughter feel extremely welcome and couldn't do enough to make us feel at home. The food is simply superb and even of you're staying elsewhere or live locally I'd recommend it for meal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josepi1, General Manager at Ballyrafter Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
This review holds the record for the quickest to be posted, the Day after departure.
It was I have to say a pleasure to look after you and your family, if only all Guests were as easy to look after and to Cook for.
Your stay was brief ,but a Month would have been like a weekend .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
21
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

You'll either love or hate this place, its old country house decor is not for all, but I loved it. I found the couple who run this place to be very friendly and helpful, they had a great passion for the area which is very scenic. I arrived late the first night and the owner cooked some food for me even though the kitchen was closed, he also made fantastic sandwiches for me and guys that were fishing that were gone to early for breakfast . Its rooms are all old fashioned but when you wake up in the morning to wildlife running around the lawns it makes up for it and the walk to the village is fantastic.
I usually prefer a more modern place but this I found charming

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenandyvonne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Based in beautiful Lismore, we stayed in the Ballyrafter Hotel. Small charming place, the owner is also the chef food is fantastic, one of the best breakfasts we had on our trips around ireland and evening meals not to be missed. Rooms are large oldstyle as befits the country house. The owner actually gave us a lift the first night down to the evening, very friendly excellent host, came back to the bar in the evening, very relaxing fire, we will be returing on a yearly basis, nice place top relax and get away from things.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

This "hotel" proved a dreadful place to stay! The management were discourteous, displaying a "we don't care" attitude. The food was awful. The decor was "tired". Our holiday was ruined by the proprietor who locked us out of the establishment "by mistake" one night! In fact we were so upset by the whole experience that we left and found another hotel. Our advice to the owners would be to sell up! They certainly seemed to forget that old saying "the customer's always right". It is not always the problem that becomes the issue, but the way with which it is dealt. This hotel is not representative of others in the beautiful town of Lismore and the owners most certainly do not offer the typical Irish welcome to which we are used. We would not recommend this accommodation to anyone.

  • Liked — very close to the beautiful town of Lismore
  • Disliked — the attitude of the proprietors
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We were booked to stay at this hotel during the local literaray festival in June. We were so well looked after in every respect: they even put an electric blanket on my bed after I mentioned that I was a little cold (even though it was June!).

The food was wonderful and the staff could not have been friendlier or more welcoming to us.

Perfect spot to visit Lismore, a gorgeous town. And buy sausages at the butcher's in the main street. Dungarvon, the local bigger town, is also worth a trip.

A wonderful part of the world.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

I am sorry, but this was not what we expected from a listed hotel.
Poor service, awful food and a general lack of attention to detail. We expected a laid back ambience, but this should not be mistaken for a "do not care" attitude. Sorry folks but the pub in the town served better food and were very pleasant and eager to please.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2007

Wow, what a place. My family and I have stayed at the Ballyrafter for the last 5 years and plan to go back year after year. Why? Its quite simply the most relaxing hotel we've ever stayed in. The hosts, Joe and Noreen Willoughby excel at making you feel like you own the place! The food is excellent and probably would make michelin stars! The most friendly staff we've come across in our world travels. The rooms are all very comfortable and mix old with new as the old house contains very traditional large bedrooms with a small extension tothe rear housing several new more modern rooms. The town of Lismore is beautiful and remains a working town supporting local farming as well as the tourist trade. Plenty of pubs, restaurants and shops along with the towns remarkable history (including the amazing castle that the hotel over looks) make it ideal for a long weekend, or, if you are staying longer you have access to Waterford, Cork and so on. Each year we've been we've had sunshine and temperatures in the mid twenties or higher....but apparently this is not always the norm...never mind though the hotel bar is an excellent retreat!

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballyrafter Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyrafter Country House Hotel

Address: Ballyrafter, Lismore, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Lismore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lismore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyrafter House is perched on an elevated site opposite Lismore Castle and has a commanding view across the Blackwater River.The Property once part of Lismore Estate has retained the Charm of The 1830's whence it was Built. With modern creature comforts added over the years since first registered as a Hotel in 1966,Homely log Fires 12' ceilings and spacious rooms making it a unspoiled and uncompromised Country House Hotel.Ten Bedrooms, Residents Lounge, bright bay-windowed dining room, Conservatory and Bar Lounge to will away the worldly worries of the Busy Life in Peoples reality.'The Ballyrafter, so easy to enjoy, so hard to forget' ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballyrafter Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.