We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for spoiling our daughters holiday” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saltcoats
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Save
You added Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts to your Saves list
James Miller Crescent | Auchenharvie Park, Saltcoats KA21 5JN , Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thanks for spoiling our daughters holiday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went today for the Easter holidays and my birthday with my 5 year old daughter we drove over 200 miles
she was so exited as she had never been been a caravan before
The heating was not working we called twice then after 90 mins we decided to leave.
cooker would only light with a lighter i had.
no instructions for anything.
They offered us another site to go to but said no thanks.
My daughter was in tears and shivering .
Thanks for spoiling our daughters holiday and my birthday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Sandylands Holiday Park. We are so sorry that you did not fully enjoy what Sandylands has to offer due to the problems encountered with the heating in your holiday home. My reports have shown that every effort was made to rectify the problem although the 90 minutes wait you experienced, is not acceptable.

Please be advised, as a result of your comments, I will be reviewing response times to call outs regarding heating problems in the holiday homes, immediately.

Easter is always an extremely busy period for Sandylands Holiday Park and for the guests that we catered for, we had hundreds of happy holidaymakers this weekend, who all enjoyed the experience that the park has to offer - from the entertainment to the new 2013 pool and leisure activities programme. We have received many encouraging positive comments already.

That being said, I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your holiday with us but I believe the heating issue, although not acceptable, was an isolated incident, but understandably had a negative effect on your holiday.
I do hope you will not judge us too harshly and we may be afforded the opportunity to welcome you back to Sandylands in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    77
    55
    42
    59
See reviews for
215
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Arrived back from Sandylands on Monday and I have to say we had a fantastic time.

When my boyfriend and I decided to book a holiday we originally looked at Haven. However prices were far too expensive and they had no caravans available on the dates we wanted. We started to look elsewhere and came across Sandylands. We looked at some of the reviews on Trip Advisor and immediately we were put off by some of the comments. However we decided that we would book anyway and experience the place for ourselves.

We booked fri-mon and opted for a gold plus caravan. When we arrived on Friday the place was a lot nicer than what some of the reviews said. The entrance is actually really pretty and welcoming. When we checked in, we were welcomed by warm and friendly staff. Check in was quick and easy and within 5 minutes of arriving we had our keys to our caravan. When we pulled up at our caravan it looked amazing from the outside and we were so excited to see what the inside looked like. It it also important to point out that each caravan has a carparking space. The inside of the caravan was gorgeous, it felt more like a house – it was out of this world and so luxurious! Within the gold caravan there is a separate living room with a flat screen tv with dvd player, the kitchen is extremely modern and our caravan actually had a dishwasher, there are 2 toilets – one with a shower. The main bedroom is an ensuite with a shower and bath. It also consisted of double glazing windows and there is heating throughout the caravan with a fire in the living room and heaters in all other rooms. This made a huge difference especially since it was cold.

There is only one main place to eat on the resort – fish and chip shop, however there are local takeaways and supermarkets in the nearby areas. The location of the site is very handy its close to anything that you may need. We never used the fish and chip shop as we mainly cooked for ourselves, however on our first night we drove to a nearby Chinese takeaway (5 mins away from site). The Chinese was called Kevin’s and was soo yummy with very reasonable prices.

The site is next to the railway but the trains aren’t really that loud and you only hear them every so often. After a short while you get used to it. We never found it to be a problem and there’s high fences up around the site anyway so it’s not like you’re unsafe or anything.
We used the swimming pool in the morning – opening times are roughly 10:00 until 1:00 and 3:00 until 6:30 – I’m guessing these times vary so this may not be exact at the time that you go. I will be honest, the pool may not look all that good as soon as you see it but once you’re changed and actually in it, it is far better! We had soo much fun in the pool and it was actually very ideal. There are deck chairs, lockers, changing rooms, showers and toilets so suit all needs. Once you explore the pool area it is actually really nice and our immediate opinion quickly changed.

We went to the entertainment at night and we had a brilliant time. Bingo starts at 7 and was then followed by some kid’s entertainment. Adult’s entertainment consisted of “I love rock n roll” – teamstars taking songs and putting a 50’s twist on it. Considering it was only their second show, they were brilliant and I would consider buying their album if they had one. Once they finished a male singer came on and sung a variety of songs and took requests also. My boyfriend requested 2 songs for me and he sung them immediately. It made our night! We had a great time at the entertainment and the teamstars done a great job also. There is an arcade as well with a variety of machines to play. It is larger than what we expected it to be and there are loads of games to play. The beach is really close to the site – it is only a short walk from the main reception area.

Even though it was a cold weekend, we never allowed it to get in the way. We had an amazing time and will definitely be going back again. We were very sad to leave on the Monday but brilliant memories were made so we can’t complain.

If you are thinking about booking Sandylands you should go for it - dont let some reviews put you off. At the end of the day, all holidays are different - go and experience it, you wont be disappointed. The prices of the caravans are much cheaper than Haven and we found the holiday as a whole to be a much better experience also. In my opinion I found Sandylands to be much better. I cannot praise it enough! We were very impressed by the caravan site expecially after reading previous reviews. You have to bear in mind that the weather isn’t nice in Scotland but you shouldn’t let that get in the way of your holiday and it certainly isn’t Sandylands fault that the weather is rubbish. They provide everything for you, and so it is up to you to make the most of it!

Thank you Sandylands for a brilliant weekend – we will definitely be back soon!! :D

Sarah Jayne & Chris
Glasgow

Room Tip: We booked a gold plus caravan. I would definitely recommend paying the small extra to upgrade to thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Wow! Thank you so very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Sandylands! We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. The gold plus caravans are indeed luxurious and come fully equipped for an enjoyable break for all the family.
Our entertainment and facilities really are brilliant this year and our new entertainments team; led by Shaun Bond, are first class. They are already getting rave reviews from many of our guests.
It was good to hear you managed to experience pretty much everything Sandylands has to offer and that you had a fantastic holiday!
Our parks vision is ‘Creating Amazing Memories’ and I note that you were sad to leave on Monday, but said that “Brilliant memories were made”. We do hope that you return to Sandylands in the near future and once again thank you for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Kilpatrick, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just back from Sandylands 4 adults and two kids,booked the Silver Plus caravan arrived 4pm. Friday very helpful staff at reception got keys to van,carbon monoxide alarm would not stop bleeping and heater did not work in one of the bedrooms was sorted within the hour ,this must have been the coldest weekend of the year ,double bedroom heater is not suitable for size of room freezing at night.Went down to entertainment in clubhouse at night and had to keep my jacket and scarf on as did everyone else spoke to couple of the staff and they said heating was on,Saturday was just as cold,thought some sort of heating system might have been rigged up in the entertainment areas because it was baltic ,had a great time kids had a ball ,great show put on by the staff,but if there was just a bit of warmth about the place it would have been a brilliant weekend,had to head home a day early due to lack of winter clothes for sitting inside the clubhouse.Will book up again but only when the temperature goes up a bit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was great to hear that you found the team to be friendly and helpful as here at Park Resorts we pride ourselves on our customer service!

I am sorry that the CO2 detector was bleeping and that heater in one room was not on; especially considering the weather over the weekend! I am so pleased you enjoyed the entertainment in the showbar, we have many more great nights booked in throughout the year, so keep an eye on our facebook page for details.

We are looking to have some extra heating installed into the main club venue in the very near future, and thank you for your comments regarding this.

We look forward to seeing you and the family at Sandylands in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

we booked one of the gold vans for the weekend then checked the reviews on trip advisor we thought oh no what have we done when we arrived it was a lovely site the caravan was lovely and clean and well equiped the staff were very freindly when we arrived at the van the water had not been switched on we informed reception and it was sorted within five minutes so nice cuppa then of to explore the site the entertainment was great our grandson loved it if i were to pick out one staff member from the team that made our stay special it would be ryan from the entertainment team . Went to swimming pool during stay the only fault i could find was that maybe some extra changing facilities as there seems to be only one changing room for men one for woman but overall well done sandylands hope to jion you again soon when the weather gets warmer

Room Tip: would recomend the gold caravans
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so glad that you enjoyed what Sandylands has to offer. We do realise people make decisions via Trip Advisor, but not all reviews are a true reflection, and we are so glad that you chose to spend your holiday with us so that you could make up your own mind!

Great to hear that the family had a great time and also that you singled out Ryan for particular praise! All our team are there to make a difference to your stay and we do hope that you will all come back to see us very soon.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Resorts in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It is very nice caravan park, the place is nice, the entertain is great, and the views are lovely, great walks, near Saltcoats town, caravan very nice and clean and so was the bar. The staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived @ 11:00am was informed that caravan would not be ready until 13:30 & that we could use the site facilities.
Was not informed that they did not open the services until 12:00.
Did not think facilities we very clean & notice tables & serving areas had drink ring marks on them.
Also that the prices for food & beverages were very expensive.
Therefore we went into nearest town so as to get refreshments for my wife & daughter which were more reasonably price than on site.
After checking in @ reception @13:30 went to allocated caravan wich we found to be clean & tidy.
Took daughter to the swimming pool & staff on duty were very help full but water was dripping from roof on to floor & seating areas.
Evening entertainment was poor & seating very poorly maintained.
We were booked to stay for 4 nights but only stayed for 3 as we were not impressed with site & facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your holiday to Sandylands Holiday Park, although I was sorry to learn there were aspects to your stay that were disappointing.

Please be advised that the facilities you have mentioned have been refurbished. The issue regarding the water dripping in the swimming pool area, was found to be from a faulty air handling unit. This has now been replaced.

Regarding prices : Park Resorts have appointed new suppliers for the 2013 season and this has enabled us to restructure our pricing policy in the Bars, resulting in some drinks being reduced by up to 20p per pint.

Park Resorts are in the process of transforming the “take away” into a café outlet which we are pleased to say, will offer a more comprehensive range of healthier options on our menu for the coming season.

With regards to an early check in – please note that as our Housekeeping team are cleaning the holiday accommodation following a previous guests departure, it is not possible to have a check in earlier than 1.30pm. Generally check in on all the Park Resorts parks would be 4pm, although an earlier time is available for those guests who have booked accommodation of a gold standard.

With regards to the entertainment programme that was provided. I appreciate that entertainment is a matter of personal taste but the feedback that Sandylands have received regarding the quality of entertainment, has been very good throughout the 2012 season and indeed the team have received much praise from both guests and holiday home owners alike.

Once again thank you for your feedback as comments such as yours, enables us to improve our standards and service that Park Resorts aim to provide to all our guests. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Resorts in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saltcoats hotels

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

After reading previous reviews we went to Saltcoats with some intrepidation. Our expectations were not high.
The caravan was spotlessly clean. It did feel quite basic for a silver caravan. It could have done with better lighting and a wndow blind in the toilet.
The caravan site was well kept but very dark at night. It lacked outdoor lighting.
The children loved spotting trains out the caravan window, but I wouldn't have wanted to be located any closer to the line.
You can walk along the coast path into Saltcoats. I liked Saltcoats - definitely a town well past its heyday but nice bay and pedestrianised high street. It has a new cinema on the sea front which includes a great softplay.
We didn't make much use of site facilities. Swimming pool opening times were very limited despite it being school holidays. We did go once to the evening entertainments and the entertainment team were great. It was quite a long walk in the rain and dark to the club.
You do drive past factories to access the site. I would never have realised it was an abatoir if I had not read it on other reviews. We did see livestock lorries coming and going.
Lots to do nearby. Culzean Castle was great and we enjoyed the Robert Burns museum. We had planned a day trip to Arran but the weather was too wet.
We had a great holiday. Not the most attractive of caravan sites but very helpful staff and located in a lovely part of Scotland.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: James Miller Crescent | Auchenharvie Park, Saltcoats KA21 5JN , Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Saltcoats
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Saltcoats
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Hotel Saltcoats
Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts Saltcoats, Scotland - Ayrshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandylands Holiday Park - Park Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.