We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Haven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   68 Josiah Mathebula Avenue, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Haven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a wonderful stay, with a passionate, truly accomodating host. Much laughter and a lovely evening was spent at Shamrock. We felt so welcome and immediately at ease with Jaco's hospitality. His knowledge of the area sent us on fantastic adventures in the area. His recommendations on 'things not to be missed' were spot on. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Jaco really saw to all that we needed. Thank you for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    26
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
42
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

First and most important : the welcome was fantastic. the owner was not present but his first man :-) was super helpfull ! rooms are clean with all needed accomodation, bathroom also, and two outside chairs to rest. Tv with satelite programs. Evening dinner done as requested which was not standard, but very well done. Morning breakfast idem ! congratulations, we will come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Beyond amazing!! Very spacious rooms, great hospitality from Jaco. The food was very good, and the overall feel was so homely, yet luxurious. The parking was safe, and the info provided about the surroundings, were very accurate and informative

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Shamrock Arms on the way to Kruger. You couldn't be made to feel more welcome on arrival and the rooms are extremely comfortable. They were extremely helpful prior to arriving as the communication on booking was prompt. The food was amazing. I'm vegetarian and they cooked me a lentil cottage pie, which was great, we even asked for the recipe. The choice you have for breakfast is endless and you won't leave hungry. The owners, Terry and Sheral, make you feel welcome and share a drink or two with you. Jaco will also help in anyway possible. Worth adding this stopover on your trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Shamrock Arms is a welcome surprise on the way to and from frenetic Johannesburg to the Kruger National Park. The rooms are comfortable and well-equipped and the entire staff welcoming and friendly. This is a historic building built in the late 1800s at the heyday of rail travel; it retains its Victorian charm. The meals are custom catered and even with my special diet they fulfilled my every need. A wonderful resource set over the gorgeous scenery of the valley drive to Nelspruit.

Room Tip: There are about six rooms and they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parys, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I was booked in by my company at Shamrock arms and when I arrived there the manager Jaco came to me and assisted me on arrival, I felt home the moment I entered my room. I'm at the loge for the last 3 months and not once did I feel that Jaco, Terry and Sheral changed their hospetality towards me even though I'm staying till the end of the year there. The food the dish up is define and the hole atmosphere in the dining room is absolutely a place you will come back at. The service you get there is five star, whenever I got work to do Jaco come and ask is there anything he can assist me with, and if there is nothing he will bring me coffee and excellent cake. The breakfast Jaco and Terry dish up is enough to make you drive 500km to enjoy again. There is absolutely no better place to than shamrock arms to go to in waterval Boven, Jaco I want to thank you for the service and hospitality you gave me and keep it up.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and I were on the way back from our Kruger Park Holiday and decided to stay at Shamrock Arms. We were made most welcome by Jaco who really went out of his way to make sure we were happy.The dinner was great as well as the company and stories shared. We had enjoyed 28-30 degree weather at Kruger, but welcomed the electric blanket luxury from camping. An outstanding breakfast the next morning was a super way to end our holiday. Jaco - you are a fantastic host. Hope Archie is enjoying his spot infront of the heater. Thank you so much,we will definately be back! Michelle & Carl

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge

Address: 68 Josiah Mathebula Avenue, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Waterval Boven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Waterval Boven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warm embrace of The Shamrock Arms – a 4 Star Guest Lodge offering good value, tranquil surroundings and wholesome food. The lodge was runner-up in the South African Tourism 2010 Welcome Awards (Lodge category). Finalists are considered to be the cream of the crop of the tourism industry – always hospitable, always professional, and always passionate about delivering service excellence. The Shamrock Arms is unquestionably an ideal stopover for both the business and leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge Waterval Boven, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.