We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic and fabulous stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   68 Josiah Mathebula Avenue, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic and fabulous stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011 via mobile

I stayed there for 4 nights and i wished that i didnt have to go when my week there came to an end, well everything was on point the rooms are lovely, clean, neat and comfortable. Every meal is beautifuly prepared with love. The people there made me feel home away from home. Even thou i was there on business it sure didnt feel like it as i was so relaxed. There is never a dull moment when the Fab Jaco is around with his cheerful persona. Thank you very much Shamrock Arms for a fabulous time hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    26
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
39
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

There is no way that we would miss stopping over at Shamrock when travelling from Kruger to JNB. (We've even detoured to stay there!) Its difficult not to over emphasise the warm atmosphere and ambient that you find at Shamrock. The rooms and food are excellent, but its more than that. This will be our third stay and we are greeted like family... and it is sincere. Terry is a lovely bloke and the hotel manager Jaco "the gem of the Lowveld" will keep you well entertained. In the bar, sitting in front of a roaring fire on a cold August night, we enjoyed a warm and relaxing evening, just as you would amongst your own close friends, with Terry, Cheryl and Jaco.

The relaxation factor is amazing. After a hectic 3 weeks of travel in SA we felt that we had yet another holiday at the Shamrock.

Read the reviews !!

Pam & Ian
Newcastle upon Tyne. UK

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at Shamrock. You know how it is, when you are looking for accommodation. Just as you are doing now, you go on internet, check out the reviews and make a choice. Hopefully the right one! I was seriously prepared to be disappointed with Shamrock arms after reading the reviews. I mean, hey how can they live up to all this positive feedback? Well I have to admit they seriously did and even amazed me with the service we got. As said by others, Jaco is great. I was telling him on the first day how I missed some stuff from south africa (grew up there and moved to europe), while I was still dreaming about koeksisters he went out and got some. The next time we were there I got my much craved koeksisters. You really feel welcome, your every wish is their command., Terry and Jaco are very nice open outgoing persons, there to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I have been spoilt for the future, my standards are now way up for future guesthouses. (sorry guys but you are warned)
Another thing I really liked is that Terry and Jaco made sure that dinner/breakfast was of a high standard. Very good. Small things makes such a difference, flower on your plate in the morning, packing a breakfast for our trip to kruger park, with eggs packed in paper with a sweet message on them. Adding another koeksister in the package....

I think that its clear, if I go to kruger park again, this is the place I will stay. About 3 hours from johannesburg, which is enough after a 12 hour flight. 2 hours from Kruger which is also very easy since the highway is super.
Jaco thanks again for making our stay easy (you know why I say this, it was a sad trip but turned out into a nice stay with us laughing a lot. Which I was not expecting)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Me and my husband checked in with a 6 yr old and a 1 yr old for a 3 night stay at Shamrock Arms. My maternal instincts kicked in and I wanted to 'baby proof' the place as soon as we arrived - the quaint a charming decor in the main house is not kid-friendly but owner Terry and manager, Jaco, were clearly not as stressed by the kids running around as I was.

Jaco is a gem of the lowveld - never far from earshot and within arms reach to attend to every requirement that we had during our stay - even saving me from embarrasment when I snuck out to have a cigarette out of sight of my family only to lock myself out my room (in my pyjamas)! He is also so knowledgeable about the area and gave us daily pointers over breakfast to help us plan our day out.

The Shamrock Arms is VERY conveniently located from Johannesburg and we were able to visit Kaapschehoop village, Kaapsehoop Riding Trails, Dinosaur Park, Sudwala Caves, God's Window and the waterfall - with 2 kids in tow - without driving 'forever' to return to our comfortable accommodation in the evenings. (Vula Tours also operates out of the area - from Kaapsehoop Riding Trails - so if we wanted to do a daytrip to Kruger National Park that would also have been an option).

Meals at The Shamrock Arms are generous in portion and breakfast options are plentiful. I strongly recommend the locally made yoghurt which was a firm favourite. Terry and Jaco are totally relaxed and flexible with their meal arrangements which really helps when you have 2 kids who are unpredictable at the best of times. Jaco ensured that 2 bowls of cereal with milk and sugar were delivered to our room at bedtime to make sure that the kids had breakfast if they woke up earlier than the time we had booked breakfast in the dining room for. It's these little touches that make a BIG difference to us.

(If you have an earlier than usual departure time, they will prepare breakfast packs for you...)

The adjoining bar to the restaurant area is cosy and friendly. The wood-burning fireplace was a welcome treat as our visit was during the South African winter.

The beds are a good and generous size. The bedding is top class. Our room had an aircon/heater which worked splendidly. Extra blankets are provided.

Tea/coffee/biscuit stations are available in the rooms. As are complementary soaps & shampoo.

All rooms are non-smoking.

Secure, lock-up parking (not that it's necessary in Waterval Boven) is available.

Room Tip: Book in advance to secure a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Thanks to Terry and Jaco for making our stay there a very special experience. It is like a home away from home, and jaco added that extra special touch. It's so nice to go to a place where you feel so comfortable and relaxed. We definiitely will stop over there again if we are ever in the area, even if it's just to stop in and say hi and have one of Terry's irish coffees. Colin and Charmaine

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Terry and , and especially Jaco went out of their way to make us feel at home. The service, in all respects , was amazing.
Before arriving at the lodge we met two youn men from Holland who told us about Jaco and how they had enjoyed his company, so much so that they had decied to stay longer.
The rooms were spotless and nicely decorated, the building reflected an era gone by.

The food as good as promised. We thought this would only be a stop over on our way home, but found the stay much more than expected. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Spent the weekend with five other couples on our Harleys riding the area in the rain. The hosts were very hospitable and could not do enough to make us feel at home albeit us hanging all our wet clothes all over the railings. Thank you for a well spent time and your friendliness has been noticed and we will send our friend to you.

Room Tip: best place to stay in Watervalboven
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge

Address: 68 Josiah Mathebula Avenue, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Waterval Boven
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Waterval Boven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warm embrace of The Shamrock Arms – a 4 Star Guest Lodge offering good value, tranquil surroundings and wholesome food. The lodge was runner-up in the South African Tourism 2010 Welcome Awards (Lodge category). Finalists are considered to be the cream of the crop of the tourism industry – always hospitable, always professional, and always passionate about delivering service excellence. The Shamrock Arms is unquestionably an ideal stopover for both the business and leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge Waterval Boven, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.