We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malaga Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Malaga Hotel to your Saves list
Malaga Hotel
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   N4, Sycamore, Waterval Boven, 1195 | 19 Km After the Boven Tunnel on Left Hand Side, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Beautiful hotel in the most gorgeous area. Clean, staff friendly, food great, spacious and well maintained rooms. Enjoyed it thoroughly. I am vegetarian, the chefs made me a great vegetable pasta that was not on the menu - I would like to see more vegetarian selection, otherwise great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Steelpoort, South africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Went to a wedding and decided to stay here. Hotel very old but can see that certain upgrading was done. By seeing the amount of cars parked outside must be popular with families as it is good value for money. Only R650 for the room. We found service poor. Sat at pool area at tables and waited 20 minutes before we saw any waiter. Ordering drinks then waited another half hour before we received it. The lunch also took long before we received it. The ham and cheese sandwich turned out to be polony and cheese. We had no TV remote in the room and had to phone twice and waited about 40 minutes before they brought it. Rooms was spacious and matrass was good and linen clean. Reception staff was friendly. Good value but if you want to feel spoilt and have a romantic break away don't come here.

Room Tip: Rooms on main road side very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable, spacious room with two double beds. Great bathroom with bath. Balcony room overlooking garden but aware of some noise from the main road but this was not too problematic as slept really well. Excellent evening meal with plenty of choice. Breakfast good selection of fruit and breads.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

After many years decided on a weekend away to this grand old lady of the lowveld. After being quoted very reasonable rates for the weekend we set off on the Friday afternoon from Benoni and arrived 3hrs later at Malaga. Were received by the most friendly staff and soon were in our room overlooking the lovely gardens and pool area that were always a hallmark of the hotel. Rooms are based on the old concept of a bath with handheld shower over it. Our bathroom had had a toilet upgrade but otherwise showed signs of the more than 30yrs service it had given clients. Room very clean however doors to the small verandha were rotting at the bottom and proved difficult to open. TV faulty and when replaced only showed MNet ,SABC1 and CNN. Went for supper in the most attractive dinning room and were treated to the highlight of the weekend, the quality of the food. Compliments to the chief for providing the most tasty and varied dishes for all our meals over the weekend. Definitely the highlight of the weekend combined with the courtious and friendly service given by our waiter Isaac. What peace and relaxation lying by their pool listening to the birds and enjoying a favourite drink. Overall a lovely reconnection with Malaga, nice to see it still looking clean and neat after all this time. Just a pity the trucks on the N4 toll road prove a bit of an annoyance in the night. Suggest visitors ask for a room down the far end of the hotel. Congratulations to all concerned and will definitely be back, hopefully before such a long time transpires this time.

Room Tip: Rooms at end of hotel will be quieter at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

Firstly we did not choose to stay at this hotel! We actually broke down outside on our way back from Kruger National Park on the way to Johanesburg! We called into the hotel for help and Angel the reception was truly an angel and couldn't have done more to help, giving our breakdown service directions to the hotel and even finding a charger for our mobile and letting us charge it behind reception. Our breakdown service was unable to get anyone out that night so we were forced to stay the night at the Malaga. We had dinner in the hotel as part of the DBB rate which was very reasonable. We were able to order anything on the menu as part of the package and both had fillet steaks which were the best we had in S.A. during our three week trip, the starter and desert were equally lovely. Our room was clean and very comfortable, particularly the beds - we slept very well. The room had a little private patio area outside overlooking a large pool and very well kept grounds. Every staff member we came into contact with were great and although it was a relief to get back on the road the next day we were almost sad to be going!
We intend to return to S.A. and would definitely stay at this great value hotel en route to Kruger.

  • Liked — Fantastic staff and food
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malaga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaga Hotel

Address: N4, Sycamore, Waterval Boven, 1195 | 19 Km After the Boven Tunnel on Left Hand Side, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Waterval Boven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Waterval Boven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malaga Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malaga Hotel & Spa is perfect for everyone! Whether you are a business traveller, a tourist or just need to break away for a restful retreat, Malaga Hotel is the place for you. The comfortably furnished rooms all have private balconies and stunning views. They are either situated around the central swimming pool or overlook the beautiful lawn and tropical gardens. Our restaurant offers indoor and outdoor seating, allowing guests to enjoy delightful spring evenings dining around the swimming pool, or cold winter nights in our cosy restaurant. Our menu features delicious farm-fresh country fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Malaga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaga Hotel Waterval Boven, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malaga Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.