We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the coast of Saint Valery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Guillaume de Normandy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Relais Guillaume de Normandy
46, Quai du Romerel, 80230 Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“At the coast of Saint Valery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I´ve never spent the night here, but I have had lunch her. I dropped in a few months ago, me and my kindle, in search of a place with good food, nice atmosphere and a decent view.

I went for one of the menu´s. Entreé, Main, and Dessert.

As a entree I had a Avocat mousse with crab and tomatoes. - Amazing!!!
Main - Salmon. - Nothing super special, but still a good meal
I
can´t remember what I had for dessert right now, but I left the restaurant an hour and a half later, with a smile on my face.

If you are in Saint Valery, I would suggest this place for lunch, or a dinner.
It is worth the money. The place seem to be rather popular, so it might be an idea to call and book in advance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    16
    13
    5
See reviews for
7
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights here with another couple. We had asked for sea view rooms.
Our room (3) was tiny; about 10 foot square and with one corner cut off for the shower room.
The "wardrobe" was about 18 inches wide and inconveniently placed at right angles to the door. No pegs on door for outside coats. There were 2 slim desk drawers. Storage was totally inadequate. We could not unpack.
There was a tray for tea and coffee on the desk, but the only socket was next to the bed. Similarly, free wifi, but had to put laptop on bed to charge. I also reported a bad smell coming from the shower drain which recurred even after pouring stuff down it.
Our friends' room (4) was slightly larger and had 2 cupboards.
However, the worst thing about the hotel was the total lack of public rooms. It is winter in Northern France (it snowed when we were there) and there was nowhere to sit and chat or play a game of cards etc with our friends. The first evening after dinner (see separate review) we sat in the very small bar area with drinks (6 chairs and a small table) and played Uno. The following evening we were told that the bar would close as soon as the restaurant closed. Neither bedroom was large enough for four of us to be in!
After the first night we asked to upgrade to a larger room but we were told that the hotel was full (fair enough) but that all the rooms were the same size. Not true, especially as there was a floor plan on each floor. Rooms 1 and 2 and 8 and 9 are nice big sea view rooms.
Check with the hotel when you book as to the room size. (We are small Welsh people but it was too small for us!) Breakfast was 11.50 euros so we ate it elsewhere.
On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and the shower was good and the hotel was very warm.

Room Tip: Check with hotel when booking. NOT room 3. Rooms 1 and 2 and 8 and 9 are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint-Valery-sur-Somme hotels

Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for several weekends. It's a perfect place to discover the Somme region.
Nice rooms with view on the somme. Very good restaurant for a good price. Splendid parking place for cars.

Room Tip: Chose a room with view on the somme border.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A building full of character! We loved its quaint architecture and unusual atmosphere. Reception is up a wooden staircase and in a passage. We were on the top floor in a small room with view of park. It was clean and provided tea and coffee facilities a welcome feature. The toilet was tucked into a corner room and shower and sink at other side of room. The restaurant was excellent, good menus at a variety of prices. Service excellent. Breakfast Ok, expensive for what it was.
Not a suitable hotel for any one with limited mobility due to stairs. We were worried about fire safety, only way out from our room appeared to be down long wooden staircase in the tower.
However good to have free car parking in such a popular resort.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The architecture's bonkers and a little bit Gothic. The location's great, overlooking the bay, very quiet and with free parking. The rooms are in the traditional French manner, somewhat dated, but fine (The wardrobe in our room was in the bathroom!). The reason why you would come here, and come back, are the dinners. There are four menus, and in a five night stay, we sampled three of them. (The restaurant is closed on Tuesdays, so don't choose that night for a one-night visit!) We liked the cheapest menu, 19.50 euros, best of all. It included an amazing tartare of crab and tomato, and the best Ile Flottante ever, with pistachio-flavoured custard, and chocolate inside the meringue-- quite wonderful! The staff were all most helpful, and made our stay memorable. We'll be back, as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Get a bay view room if you can. The rooma at the rear ' over the park' actually look out ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craven Arms
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We spent the night here on the way down to the Vendee. Had to fight our way through the holday traffic in the area to get there as it was a Sunday afternoon when we arrived. Place looks a bit like something from an old Hollywood film but we got a friendly reception. The room was basic but adequate and the food was good. We has a bowl of mussels done in cream to start, a good helping, then a local specialty of chicken in cream and cheese, delicious but very rich. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Once again we received a warm welcome by all the staff. Despite my having made a mistake in my online booking everything was rectified by M.Crimet and a disaster was averted into a weekend of delight and fond memories. We have been coming here for over 30 years and still enjoy the lovely location. On Sunday morning the market was setting up outside and a thoughtless stall-holder had parked his large van to block the beautiful view from the breakfast room. Madame was out like a shot berating him for being so inconsiderate and quite rightly too If you want old world charm and a typical French hotel of past-times come here and soak up the atmosphere as well as the excellent food.

Room Tip: Choose a room which looks over the bay to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais Guillaume de Normandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Guillaume de Normandy

Address: 46, Quai du Romerel, 80230 Saint-Valery-sur-Somme, France
Location: France > Picardy > Somme > Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
Also Known As:
Relais Guillaume De Normandy Hotel Saint-Valery-Sur-Somme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Guillaume de Normandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Relais Guillaume de Normandy to your Saves list