We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like an rest home has been added to a lovely building.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cranage Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cranage Hall to your Saves list
Cranage Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Byley Lane | Holmes Chapel, Cranage, Holmes Chapel CW4 8EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranage
wallasey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Like an rest home has been added to a lovely building.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a wedding in the hotel. The building appearance as you approach is lovely, staff seem slightly confused on front desk. Out of the 16 rooms we booked, only 3 were ready at 4.30, 2 hadn't been booked and one was the wrong size. When we finally got the rooms we were sent to find our own way out of the main building into the old folks home section. This was a complete maze of ugly damp smelling corridors. Breakfast was fine, but not exceptional, and considering the price I did expect better. Avoid the extortionate taxi if possible, a pleasant 20 min walk will take you into Holmes chapel where there are a couple of pubs, one serving lovely food, think it's called the George.
All in all, not terrible but couldnt recommend it to stay in, but will say it's lovely for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    218
    120
    58
    35
See reviews for
78
244
13
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The room was nothing like the pictures on the website, it was very dated not the cleanest, the bathroom looked like it was from the 90's and was very small. On arrival found out that the restaurant was closed, the bar shut at 7 and the pool was only open until 4 because they had an event on, however the staff where friendly and offered to change rooms but we decided not to stay, as it wasn't worth £120.

Room Tip: Don't get a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at Cranage Hall, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
I am so sorry you would not stay and attend the NYE Ball with all are other residents. Thats why
the restaurant was closed. It is quite reasonable to expect a formal event in a hotel on NYE. We
did offer you alternative dinning including room service.
Your comments are very mis-leading, the bar stayed open until 3.00am. The pictures are genuine and a fair reflection of our good value bedrooms. Any future guests concerned call me direct and I will ensure your complete satisfaction.

Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cranage hotels

Cheshire
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This was to be my works Christmas party, we paid £39 for a meal, disco and bacon sandwich at midnight. There was no welcome drink, table novelties or chocolates as on a previous visit 2 years ago. The menu was restricted to 2 choices and the food was of poor quality. The disco played 'dance' music all night and the smoke machine was constant. No bacon sandwiches arrived at midnight and when we asked, we were told that we were not eligible althought it had been advertised on our menu. A small number of us were staying the night but although we had booked 8 months prior, our rooms were miles apart and we had to ask to be moved. I ended up in a double bed with a colleague! The rooms are quite nicely decorated and the bed was comfy. We did not have enough cups, tea or coffee but the staff were very approachable and gave us extra supples. We retired to the residents bar down stairs and asked for liquor coffees. We were asked how to make them!? Instead we were given a cold, flat coffee with a shot of liquor. We were charged £6.30 each! We complained the following Monday and mentioned the bacon sandwiches. We received an apology and 15% off next years bill. We will not be using it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the main lobby or you could end up walking a long way. Its like a rabbit war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at Cranage Hall, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Thank you for your review and sorry you did not enjoy your night. We clearly advertise two packages for xmas party nights. The year before you had chosen the higher priced package which included a welcome drink, bacon baps and upgraded entertainment. This year you chose to go on the cheaper disco party package.
No excuse for the cold coffee and glad it was changed.
There was no request for rooms next door as we would have arranged. The double bed
was not on the reservation but again we would have been happy to change.
I do hope you will change your mind and return next year on the package of your choice and I guarantee you will receive are normal high level of quality and service.
Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Good facilities and helpful staff (Tony) excellent rooms with all the equipment. Would definately use again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at Cranage Hall, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Thank you for a great review and Tony is so pleased
with your kind comments
Look forward to welcoming you back to Cranage Hall.
Richard Morrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Only had a one night stay here as part of a Christmas function.

Room was very good, very clean, good TV with Sky Sports, CBBC, and a few other channels. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the property.

Large bed, table and chair, the usual shower in bathroom etc etc..

Reception staff were very good. Bar staff were not so great, slow and not very interested.

Drinks prices are very steep, £5 a pint for a certain type of lager.

It the did the job for what we required.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at Cranage Hall, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thank you for your review so pleased you had a good stay.
Sorry to hear about the bar staff and will pass on your comments.
The Bar team normaly provide great sevice.
The beer you mention is Peroni and it is sold at market price and
much cheaper then many other hotels and restaurants. You can pay up
to £8.00 a pint. We do have much cheaper draught beers for sale.
Hope to welcome you back soon
Richard Morrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

The Bad
The hotel was not overally impressive and the bathroom looked tired and in desperate need of refurbishment. It was not clean upon arrival and the stain that stayed there for four days was only cleaned when it was complained about
After the first night I had to go to reception and ask if there was anything they could do about the bed as it was like lying in a bowl of jelly. Much too soft for me! They did put a board under the mattress which did help but it felt like the base had finally reached the end of its life.
The first meal from the bar was a big let down and basically unedible. Due to the crowd at the bar it was impossible to find anyone to complain to so we left. The staff serving at the bar needed to be trained more as he looked flustered with the building crowd hence why I was overcharged for the meal.
The third night we waited 2 hours to go eat in the resturant to find out that they were not open and had a private function on. We were not impressed as there had not been any indication it would be closed.
Walls are thin and if you have a noisy neighbour you can hear everything and I do mean everything....it ain't good when you are trying to talk to your missus lol

The good
Breakfast was always great service, very quick with the tea (and finding the extra honey!)
The evening meal (NOT the bar meal!) was good quality but........we need more! The portions are way too small for a couple of 14/15st guys who have been working outside all day :-)
Richard (General Manager)received the complaints I made via Lindsay and both dealt with them professionally and quickly and Richard was very understanding.

Even though I have rated this average I feel the way the problems were dealt with were very good and a very big plus for this hotel. It showed that the staff do want the guests to enjoy their stay We will be back in Jan and I hope the next review will be an excellent rating

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at Cranage Hall, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thank you for your review.
So pleased your coming back and the team willl make sure you receive our normal high level of
quality and service.
Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

Staff very helpful but not trained sufficiently with technology at reception and restaurant. Rooms awful, smelt damp, bathrooom very tired.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliwack1, General Manager at Cranage Hall, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
This is not the standard of Cranage Hall any future guests concerned please contact me direct
on 01477536666 and I will guarantee you will receive our normal high level of quality and service. Richard Morrell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cranage Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranage Hall

Address: Byley Lane | Holmes Chapel, Cranage, Holmes Chapel CW4 8EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Holmes Chapel > Cranage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranage Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cranage Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranage Hall Hotel Cranage
Hall Hotel Cranage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranage Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.