We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, but highly overpriced (not worth!)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HPTDC The Chail Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chail
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
HPTDC The Chail Palace
Save
You added HPTDC The Chail Palace to your Saves list
Tehsil Kandaghat, Chail 173217, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Chail
Noida, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, but highly overpriced (not worth!)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent two days in late dec 2013 at chail palace. The place is beautilful, the lawns, the palace and the weather. The setting is perfect, away from main town, well maintained lawns

We had planned one night stay in Rajkumari room. The room was good, gave feeling of vintage times but it had lot of issues which are hard to ignore (if the room is priced similar to 5 star properties):

1. Quilt was stkinking, we had to get it changed.
2. Furniture was in not great shape.
3. Quality of blankets, bedsheets were below average.
4. Wall paint was pealing off at places.

Staff has govt like attitude, room service takes time, they even forget what you ordered. At the five star price you expect services at least to meet 4 star standard.

Because of bad weather we could not go further as planned, and ended up staying at palace for 2nd day. To my surprise the room rates were different for 31st, only because they had included a DJ, that too in the palace complex which made a good night sleep a distant thought.

Food is average, but overpriced (the buffet).

Overall i won't visit this place again, and won't recommend it to others

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    94
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
108
57
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The resort is very nice ans specially staff is very courteous. The food is excellent. We stayed in log huts during Dec, 2013 and it was very cold. However, the hotel provided all the facilities which they can provide. The only negative points were that food is not served at log huts and the electricity keep on disappearing.

Room Tip: In chail, this is the perfect place for couples and families both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Our stay in the royal vintage hotel/palace had been extremely delightful, specially thanks to the care and concern of Sarla Ji, the lady in charge of the hospitality. It was not only the exotic scenic beauty of the Himalayas, but also the warmth, simplicity and sincerity of the people around that added to the happiness quotient of our overall experience.

Room Tip: Contact Sarla-ji. Also, you might want to avoid the log huts during winter (they are likely to be mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Chail is 49 km from Shimla. The Chail Palace is well known for its architecture, the palace was built as summer retreat by the Maharaja of Patiala during the British Raj. The Chail Palace is build in the lap of mother nature. I really appreciate my stay in the Chail Palace and the service of the hotel staff. Food at the hotel was delicious and the breakfast spread was par expectation.
The ambience of the room and the view was phenominal. I would love to come to this place over and over again.

Room Tip: Opt for room at highest floor and enjoy the scenic beauty of the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

During a weekend we welcomed the opportunity to enjoy the amazing sights of nature away from the busy crowded and polluted life. Although we find this hotel a bit pricey, we think it is well maintained, the staff is kind and helpful and rooms are clean and quiet. The food in the restaurant (kings dinning) is excellent and we felt restored after this mini-vacation. Wish we had been able to get out and walk about more this visit - but then again - there is much to be said for quiet time to read, to talk and spend special time together, as well as to notice the amazing power of nature. So yes. We will return. I think it is particularly important to notice the staff loyally works well together and they feel like family. It is different. Go and enjoy it. Go during the off season and enjoy it all, if you really want quiet time.

Room Tip: rooms in palace are the best as of my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Chail palace, is a great place to stay provided you are staying in the rooms which are inside the palace. Log huts and other rooms are in the campus away from the palace, and hence you wont feel like staying in a palace setup. The ambience of the rooms inside the palace is fantastic, however, the same is thoroughly lacking for the rooms outside. We were staying in a Deluxe Log Hut for 2 days in Dec 2013.
The property, being the erstwhile palace area of the king of Patiala, is very very scenic with tall trees and fantastic lawns and amazing viewpoints. The place is very serene and quiet and ideal place to just relax. Travelling the distance from log huts to the palace (where the restaurant is) is a task in itself in the December cold. Quality of food served at the hotel is good. Overall a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Chail palace are worth the stay. huts and other rooms do not give the feel of stay in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

It was a splendid trip in the arms of nature. Chail is identified with its beautiful cedar trees surrounding palace hotel. Major attractions are it's lush green lawn, maharaja's piano and billiards table, lover's hill and king size rooms equipped with all modern amenities. The place is serene and quiet. The icing on the cake is the hospitality of the staff. You actually feel like a king staying there. It's a must visit. Go and live life king size.
Gaurav Sachdeva

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HPTDC The Chail Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HPTDC The Chail Palace

Address: Tehsil Kandaghat, Chail 173217, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Chail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is run by Himachal Pradesh Tourism Development Corporation Ltd. The Palace was built in 1891 by Maharaja of Patiala and is a Premium Heritage Property. Distance from Shimla to Chail is 45 km. The suites, rooms and cottages are sumptuously furnished with ornate and antique furniture with fire place. The Palace has a bar & multi cuisine restaurant. The Palace has a Billiards room and a tennis court. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hptdc The Chail Palace Hotel Chail
Hptdc The Hotel Chail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HPTDC The Chail Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.