We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Palace - A Truly Exhilarating experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HPTDC The Chail Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chail
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
HPTDC The Chail Palace
Tehsil Kandaghat, Chail 173217, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Chail
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Palace - A Truly Exhilarating experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

There are some places that remain etched in memory, The Palace at Chail is one of them. Just the ambience is so royal, it makes us feel like we are part of a royal lineage. It takes you back in time when princely states ruled the roost in pre independence India. Dont expect too many luxuries, for nature lovers, this is the place.....

Preferably take your own vehicle, public transport is expensive. Only beware of the monkeys in the area, they are plenty in number.

Room Tip: Try the one in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    80
    25
    7
    8
See reviews for
97
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Chail in itself has very fond memories for me.Its a beautiful place tucked away in cool Pine woods.
However its only the Palace which acts as an icing over the cake ,extremely Royal and lovely.
From the luxury suits to secluded log huts and family cottages , they have almost everything to suit your needs and make you leave with a smile on your face.

Infact my family arranged an engagement ceremony at the Palace and it thus became a memory worth sealing in our hearts.
Specially with the lady manager over there(Mrs Sarala Chopra), everything was taken care of in the best possible way and we had a wonderful time there.
She paid keen and personal attention to make sure that guests have a lovely time, which is highly commendable,
We were around 50 guests who spent a day and a half at the luxury of the Palace .

Food is also nice here , though a little expensive.
Himachali Kadhi rice and Chicken cutlet comes highly recommended.

I wish the Palace and its flamboyance remains the same over the years to come.
I shall certainly love to spend vacations here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I had been to this Heritage property on 8th June 2013 as a guest to visit the Palace and have lunch. It was overall a very good experience and the courteousness of the staff at the Restaurant was remarkable. Despite of a heavy rush of tourists at the Restaurant the staff was courteous, prompt and extended a warm welcome. The property needs no words of appreciation to be written as it is certainly a testimony of the stone architecture besides having the Heritage tag.The interiors however do certify the injustice done to the erstwhile interior and fitments of this marvelous building. It is important to mention that the food quality and service were good. There is a need felt for some anchors or guides who could orate and describe the history of this building and the inhabitants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I have been going to Chail Palace every summer for the past five years. We stay in the Log Huts and we meet other guests there who tell us that they have been holidaying at Chail every summer for the past 30 years! We normally stay for a month. If you want to unwind, if you like peace and quiet, if you don't require the constant chatter of cities, then this is the place for you. Don't expect the hotel to provide you with entertainment. Try and find it in long walks, go watch the flowers bloom, get enthralled by the rolling mists and the sound of rain. Listen to the birds that wake you up early in the morning. Take a whole heap of books to read with you, listen to your music system, take your i-pads and tablets with you. The Internet connection is slow but adequate.
The Staff at Chail Palace have always welcomed us with courtesy and warmth. By now we have got to know them so well that Chail Palace has become like a home away from home. The gracious AGM Sarla Chopra leads her troupe with elan and it is remarkable how she has managed to retain the old world charm of the place.
We have eaten at many of the hotels run by HP Tourism and undoubtedly, the food at Chail Palace is the best. The waiters are courteous and the service is quick. Undoubtedly, the menu could be expanded to include many more items. But whatever is put before you is tasty and not too expensive.
So, if you need discos and other forms of entertainment to keep you happy, stay away. If you can be happy with small joys of life (a bird singing all night long outside your window, the rain pattering on your tin roof, a walk in the mist), then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for one night early June en route to higher elevations in the Himalaya. It was decent - clean, spacious, good food (yummy mushroom mutter), terrific weather. It's certainly nothing to write home about as the carpets and beddings were a bit old, but no major gripes either. This hotel would not be my ultimate destination, but if I need a place to stay in the area, I would not mind going back in the least.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathinda, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

An excellent retreat to relax the tired nerves. Away from the maddening crowd. Excellent environs of an excellent property. Nestled amidst thick pines. Good rooms, good food, excellent ambience, very helpful and courteous staff.

Room Tip: Avoid peak tourist season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at Chail Palace for 2 days in the first week of June.It was a thrilling experience in each and every way.The property is well maintained with very good services .The 24 hour tea/coffee maker in the room was good to quench thirst .The rooms are very well decorated and the bed size is almost the same as Maharaja/Maharani room .We stayed in the semi deluxe room but were not at all disappointed.The room size was huge and the surrounding stunning.Monkeys kept us watching a bit but that is ok.Food was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HPTDC The Chail Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HPTDC The Chail Palace

Address: Tehsil Kandaghat, Chail 173217, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Chail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is run by Himachal Pradesh Tourism Development Corporation Ltd. The Palace was built in 1891 by Maharaja of Patiala and is a Premium Heritage Property. Distance from Shimla to Chail is 45 km. The suites, rooms and cottages are sumptuously furnished with ornate and antique furniture with fire place. The Palace has a bar & multi cuisine restaurant. The Palace has a Billiards room and a tennis court. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hptdc The Chail Palace Hotel Chail
Hptdc The Hotel Chail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HPTDC The Chail Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added HPTDC The Chail Palace to your Saves list