We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings-----non cooperative staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HPTDC The Chail Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chail
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
HPTDC The Chail Palace
Save
You added HPTDC The Chail Palace to your Saves list
Solan, Chail 173217, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Chail
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings-----non cooperative staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

At an altitude like Shimla chail undoubtedly is an awesome place, more than paradise for nature enthusiasts but not for ppl who would want to engage in activities. As for the hotel it was really royal being the erstwhile resting palace of Maharaja of Patiala it had the royal feel. Apart from various rooms within the palace they also have cottages which are quieter and more beautiful. We drove to Chail from Delhi to Chail which took us 8 hrs including 25mins of stoppage time. We forgot to take the booking slip issued by HPTDC Delhi and this led to major problems and we had to shell out much more than the room rents. However this was not a general problem and others should not have negative views because of this. There are some genuine problems with this hotel:- 1) Rooms do not justify the cost as they do not have great views---they have royal furniture but why should one shell out a fortune for great furniture in a hill station. 2) The restaurant is very expensive with average cooking ability. 3) Cottages are located in difficult terrain which makes walking impossible and cars are not allowed at night. Some good features are:1) Cottages are very big ( We stayed in MOnal) with decent furniture and equipments. 2) For ppl who would not want to go to higher altitude and also rest in a peaceful place chail Palace Loghuts ( basic built up but decent with all amenities) could be the place.
Recommended for writers, old folks, ppl wanting to enjoy 25th/50th honeymoon. Stay long- stay in loghuts. Apart from that an unknown reort called MAple resort in chail looked very attractive with an open terrace facing a deep valley with a large population of Fir and cedar trees.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    132
    41
    17
    9
See reviews for
150
74
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Lovely place and excellent hospitality. Stayed for a day at the palace and a day at the log huts - truly felt part of nature. The hospitality too is great. Nothing much to see around - but has good treks.

The only thing to beware are the monkeys. Dont carry bags around (they think there is food inside) and don't intimidate them in any sense (walk slowly past, dont look at them etc). I learnt it the hard way - got bitten by a monkey and am taking anti-rabies shots.

But, what an experience - all in a day's work!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The good things first--location. This spacious yet cozy cottage is great for a family of 4-6. It has two spacious room with big toilets. If you have aged family members or a person having restrictions for outside food--a good news for you. The kitchen has gas cylinder, stove and all basic utensils. The market is just 5-minutes away and you get everything that you may need. So enjoy a picnic lunch!

We had a lovely stay there --the view from the lawn in so beautiful that you won't mind sitting there for hours. When it rains you can see the clouds drifting by inside the trees around.

Monkeys all around may create some trouble. But, don't offer them eatables and they leave you unnoticed.

When you are in Chail don't miss the Kali Mata Temple. This mountain-top mandir presents a great 360-degree view of all the hills around.

Now, the things not-so-pleasant. The cottage needs serious refurbishing and better upkeep. The carpets etc. are not in good shape and at night you may feel little claustrophobic. Facilities are very basic but you cannot expect Goa-type luxury in Chail, I suppose.

One more thing, the piano in the foyer of the palace is locked! Oh, Please, get it repaired soon! It is such a beauty. My seven-year-old daughter (learning piano now) was so excited to see it. But, it came as a big disappointment when she found it to be cruelly locked.

Staffs are extremely supportive and always cheerful. The caretaker of the cottage (Naresh ji) was extremely friendly and helpful.

Don't forget to buy some local Peach (Aarhu), Khobani, local cauliflower etc. while coming back from the roadside sellers. They are not only cheaper by 50% than Delhi but also superior quality wise.

Room Tip: The kitchen--utilize it as much as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

After our stay in Dewan category room within palace, we were left with mixed feelings. Though we dint particularly loved our stay in the room, overall we enjoyed our 2 day stay at THE PALACE, probably for the environment. The prices one have to pay for rooms in the palace are grossly expensive. Seeing the locations of its cottages, one would love to stay there to really relax and chill, and at much lower prices..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Wow what a great location - A log huts just in the valley surrounded by the trees. Really worth to visit this hotel. Nothing to see nearby places just stay in the huts and enjoy the nature. Shilmal is 45 kms from chail. If planning to shimla then visit chail in place of shimla

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Hotel Chail Palace is a beautiful property and we spent a relaxing 3 nights there this summer.

What we liked:
Beautiful property surrounded by a forest of really really tall pine trees. Lots of little pathways through the forest to explore with little nature walks.
A large well manicured lawn outside.. great place to hang out in.
Comfortable and well maintained rooms. The staff agreed to show us around some of the other rooms too. They're large and decorated in true palace style.
A large piano in the reception / lounge which they allow you to play.
A nice bar with a friendly bartender willing to mix a good drink for you.
Friendly, helpful staff

What we didn't:
Confusion over billing. We had paid 100% advance online when we booked. When we reached the property they tried to tell us that the taxes had not been paid for. Then they said that the meals we had paid for were only vegetarian. All the non veg food had to be paid for separately. (their voucher did not specify this). They said charge for extra bed is Rs. 1000 (their voucher said Rs. 500.. they said they had sent us an old voucher by mistake). But the manager was good enough to admit that these were their mistakes and changed our billing accordingly.
No information on the history of the place. When you go to a palace, you'd like to know something about it.... nothing was available.
Though my husband and me thoroughly enjoyed the tranquil, serene beauty, our children got a little bored coz there was no activity for them.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

This is a gem nestling in dense Deodhar forests.The hotel originally a palace of Maharaja patiala is a huge property with vast areas of unspoilt natural surroundings.The rooms are huge with great view of surrounding scenery.The interiors are good but not really great which makes you wish that HPTDC ropes in some private hotelier for consultation. The food offered is excellent and reasonable.It has great walks around the surrounding forest.There is a bird sancturay nearby and a hilltop temple with great view of surrounding valleys.Away from the hustle bustle of city life it a great place for relaxation and rejuvenation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HPTDC The Chail Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HPTDC The Chail Palace

Address: Solan, Chail 173217, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Chail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is run by Himachal Pradesh Tourism Development Corporation Ltd. The Palace was built in 1891 by Maharaja of Patiala and is a Premium Heritage Property. Distance from Shimla to Chail is 45 km. The suites, rooms and cottages are sumptuously furnished with ornate and antique furniture with fire place. The Palace has a bar & multi cuisine restaurant. The Palace has a Billiards room and a tennis court. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hptdc The Chail Palace Hotel Chail
Hptdc The Hotel Chail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HPTDC The Chail Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.