We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing spot in Corsica interior” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa di Lucia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Casa di Lucia to your Saves list
Casa di Lucia
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Place Suttana | Le village, 20212 Mazzola, Corsica, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Mazzola B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Amazing spot in Corsica interior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Don't miss this spot. Only 3 rooms. Magnificent view of valley in center of Corsica. Beautifully appointed/charming/rustic rooms. Hosts are great and provide superb meal (don't think of trying to find a restaurant). Beautiful pool and Jacuzzi and great help touring the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just superb in every respect: big comfortable room, wonderful food, friendly proprietors, amazing views and sunsets, beautiful little village and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This lovely guest house in Mazzola, Corsica, is a wonderful retreat with touches of luxury surprising in such a remote area. The original house was built hundreds of years ago, and while renovations have made it extremely modern, glimpses of the original home remain in the revealed beams and walls that are nearly two feet thick.

The host and hostess, Jean Charles and Martine Fabiani are delightful and welcoming, and Madame Fabiani speaks enough English that we were able to make ourselves understood and ask for help with directions, dining recommendations, etc. She is also an excellent cook, and our meals were delicious. Even though we all struggled a bit with the language barrier (her husband speaks no English, my husband speaks no French), we were still able to enjoy a conversation by the fire with them both. Madame Fabiani was also extremely helpful, offering suggestions and making arrangements for us for train travel, a dinner in Corte, etc.

Travelers should be warned that this is an extremely remote location, and the village of Mazzola is no more than a tiny cluster of homes. These villages dot the area, clinging to the mountainsides, and are wonderfully picturesque, but you should understand that they are in no way commercial areas--there are no stores, no restaurants (except those private ones in guest houses like Casa di Lucia), etc. The isolation is impressive, and it was exactly what we wanted, but for some it might be a bit shocking. The nearest town with groceries, train station, laundromat, etc. is about half an hour away (the locals say that it's 15 minutes, but we found it took twice that long).

You should also be prepared for the road that leads to the village: It is extremely narrow with steep climbs and constant blind corners, and when two small cars pass each other, it is necessary for each to slow and creep by one another, as there is often a sheer drop of thousands of feet with no guard rail or even shoulder. We also were misdirected (by our GPS!) so that instead of being on this road, D39, for only a few miles, we were on it for more than an hour. In places it was washed out so that the outer lane had fallen into the chasm, and we had to edge the car over the remaining bit of pavement that was barely wide enough to accommodate the car's tires. It was thrilling at first, but as the drive went on and on, it became almost unbearable to realize that a fall of several thousand feet was only inches away, with no protection whatsoever between you and certain death.

However, we kept telling ourselves that if we ever got there, we would get straight into the jacuzzi and soak away the stress. There are several lovely B&Bs in the area, but after studying all of their websites, we chose Casa di Lucia because it had both a jacuzzi and a heated swimming pool. We planned to do a great deal of hiking and horseback riding while were there, so the hot tub and pool were the two amenities that made us choose Casa di Lucia over all of the others . . . and to pay more for it. Therefore, we were extremely disappointed and frustrated to find that the neither the jacuzzi nor the swimming pool was accessible. Not only could we not use them, when we explored them later, we found that neither is even fully installed, and it appears that they are still under construction. Therefore, the claim on the website's home page, that the hotel offers a jacuzzi and heated swimming pool was blatantly false. I spoke with Madame Fabiani and explained that we had chosen their hotel primarily because of the pool and hot tub, and she was very apologetic. I told her we expected a discount on the price, and she said that she understood, but when we checked out, they had charged us the full price. Unfortunately, my husband didn't think to confirm the total and simply paid the bill so we were back home before I realized that they had charged us the full amount.
I was extremely disappointed by this, because the Fabianis are a lovely, friendly couple, and we would like to return to their home, but the fact that their website very specifically lists amenities that were not available left a very bad taste in our mouth. Had they taken the appropriate step and discounted the price of the room, it would have be fine (although still a disappointment), but when they did not do that either, it became rather ugly. Now our pleasant memories of the beautiful home, the delicious meals, and the friendliness of our hosts is marred by the realization that we were victims of one of the oldest scams in the world--the promise of amenities that didn't exist and the refusal to adjust the price accordingly. (This is why I have ranked the value as "poor": Had the hot tub and pool been available, the price would have been quite acceptable.)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Suite Leonard, which was lovely, and we were very happy with it. The bed was extrem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marty69635788, Propriétaire at Casa di Lucia, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Madam Browning,

I have the surprise to read your comments on TRIPAVISOR and I admit you my surprise to read your texte on CASA DI LUCIA. The conclusion of your lines are surprising. I am sorry about of such arguments so severe against us. We made everything to return your pleasant stay and we are not responsible for bad weather which destroyed the Corsican region in November 2011 and February 2012 which strongly damaged all the classifed region disaster area. I brought tou the explanations by phone in your bedroom for the swimming pool and the jacouzzi.
So, you wait to receive discounts on a stay but, see you, Dear Madam Browing, our bank and our service of insurance do not grant us discount although it arrives; and, it is not fo it that I am going to let off stream by writting anything without the slightest toerance and slightest intelligence.
During your stay, I put you in connection with a partner so that you can ride horse and in your departure you were satisfed with your stay and in the final you write that you were victims because there was no discount on your stay. Poor little Madam Browning.....
We grant discount from 7eme daytime.
How can you , you countain like a child, like that..
I am really disappointed by read of such comments which tarnish a beautiful image which we had on you.
Good Day
Regards
Martine Fabiani
CASA DI LUCIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa di Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa di Lucia

Address: Place Suttana | Le village, 20212 Mazzola, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Mazzola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mazzola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa di Lucia 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To arrive in CASA DI LUCIA, either you can use your vehicle, to follow the road marking and to arrive at Mazzola, or by plane of tourism, to land to the aerodrome CORTE - 15km, a vehicle will come to look for you, or by helicopter, to rest you on the heliport situated at feet of CASA DI LUCIA where the owners shall wait for you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Casa di Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa di Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.