We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't make a mess!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of B&B La Pilozza Infiorata

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added B&B La Pilozza Infiorata to your Saves list
B&B La Pilozza Infiorata
Santissimo Salvatore, 97, 95041 Caltagirone, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 21 Caltagirone B&B and Inns
Wetteren, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't make a mess!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

At our arrival the man of the house took up our luggage in no time, and the lady of the house welcomed us correctly: we asked for wholemeal bread and no problem: i will bake it for you.
But then: the bathroom is so small you're with your face up to the shower cabin wall if you're on the toilet :(
Letting stuff out of the cupboards is no option: the lady (or her cleaning staff) put everything away, so at your return of a trip a search party can start to find back your stuff. :)
Two days later: no baked bread anymore (because we didn't eat the complete bread before?) ... and overall the atmosphere was not one of great joy.
In my opinion: a smile costs nothing.
So for the man of the house: 4 stars. For the lady: a star less.
If you're not keen of talking to strangers: do not start a B&B.
And Caltagirone itself has ONE big problem : it's plenty, really plenty, of pigeons. And they smell.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
22
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Lovely B&B, very central. The room and bathroom were spotless, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Only a few minutes walk to the centre and extremely quiet (an asset in Italy!). The owner came to guide us towards the B&B, found us a parking space and carried our luggage upstairs. Breakfast was abundant and the coffee was great. Look no further!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I chose this B&B because it looked the nicest of the B&Bs in Caltagirone and wasn't disappointed. It is beautifully furnished and the bed was supremely comfortable. The location is fantastic, just 5 minutes on foot from the centre and the famous steps. As noted by other reviewers, the breakfast featured many home-made pastries (the owner is the daughter of a pastry chef and makes them herself). They were delicious though even the plain bread was a little too sweet for my partner's liking. He would have liked some plain bread in addition to all the sweets. We went just before new year's eve to see the cribs and the atmosphere in town was great. Unlike some other reviewers, we found the owner to be very welcoming and pleasant. She's certainly not gregarious but not at all as others described her. We speak Italian though so perhaps she is more reserved in English. Free parking was available nearby. Don't try to park in the street it's in as it's quite narrow. We parked in Largo San Giorgio and walked down. It was only a few minutes. The ceramic shops she recommended were also excellent. I will be recommending this B&B to all my friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a lovely stay here, our party of 8 were here for 2 nights, rooms had been freshly decorated and were very comfortable.
Our hosts were very accommodating, but as previously stated the lady of the house is a little glum(we were reprimanded for leaving the front door open!)
Breakfast was a huge assortment of pastries, croissants and sweet biscuits, bread rolls were available with jam (but no butter). Fruit juice and local fresh fruit daily. Fresh tea and coffee was prepared for us
The B&B is quite central, the famous Scala reached in 5 minutes.
the man of the house was very helpful and directed us to local restaurants and tourist hotspots.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We wished we had more time to stay here. We arrived late and the owner came to our car to help us carry our bags to the hotel. He carried both (heavy) bags up the 2 flights of stairs and we had a beautiful room. They rooms are quiet and very comfortable, clean, and looked like newly remodeled. They provided many warm, fres, wonderful pastries for breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nearby
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

You don't expect too much from a B&B: a friendly welcome, cleanliness, comfy bed, good breakfast. The woman welcomed us as if we came to her funeral. Clearly this B&B thing was his idea. The man tries at least to be cheerful. They manage to keep the place clean in spite of the amount of knickknack and this is the only remarkable thing. The mattresses have seen better times, you can feel each and every coil. Breakfast is alright, served on lovely local ceramic ware, lots of cookies and pastries but quite ordinary. Our room was spacious and well decorated, even well kept (not counting the mattresses). They've squeezed a bathroom in it but at a price. The shower is so small you can hardly turn around. It could be much better with a little more attention. It's well located, parking is not too far away. Wake up and smile then, it costs you nothing!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

I liked Pilozza Infiorata. It's not eerie at all, but in a beautifully renovated building and in an ideal location. The woman who runs it is harried because she's got two little girls but she was nice and helpful to my friend and me during our two-night stay. The room where breakfast is served is lovely and there's a terrace when the weather is good. For the price and location, I say it's an above average experience. Also, B&Bs in Italy are not the same as B&Bs in the US: they are typically not luxurious and they don't provide lots of services. It really is more like staying with a family who is renting out rooms, often to make ends meet.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B La Pilozza Infiorata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Pilozza Infiorata

Address: Santissimo Salvatore, 97, 95041 Caltagirone, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Caltagirone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caltagirone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pilozza Infiorata is in a refined Art-Nouveau building in the heart of the historic center of Caltagirone, a short walk from the Santa Maria del Monte steps. Rooms at La Pilozza feature antique furniture and are soundproofed and air conditioned. All have a private bathroom and some have a kitchenette. Breakfast is served in a cozy dining room and includes homemade sweets and organic Sicilian produce. La Pilozza Infiorata is in a quiet area a short drive from the SS 417 national road to Catania and 45 minute drive from Fontanarossa Airport. There is free parking around the b&b, and a garage for bicycles and motorbikes on site. The b&b is owned by a collector of historic cars and motorbikes. The staff speak English, French and Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your B&B La Pilozza Infiorata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B La Pilozza Infiorata Caltagirone, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B La Pilozza Infiorata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.