We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coria

Coria
Via Infermeria, 24, 95041 Caltagirone, Sicily, Italy
093326596
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Caltagirone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $102
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

One of the most delicious meals I've ever eaten. The evening began with seven amazing bread selections, all of which were fabulous. The two chefs grow or raise almost everything on the menu. The quail appetizer was not to be missed as was the pork three ways. And then there was the desserts and candies ..wow. Great alcohol list too. It is definitely worth making a trip to enjoy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    35
    10
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not worth 90 Euros”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I didn't realise it was meant to be one of Caltagirone's best restaurants, should have checked first.
Food has to excite the palate as we as look good and be presented on fancy plates. It didn't do this, a nice piece of veal for main course, well cooked and a dribble or two of sauces, I could do the same blindfolded, probably the desert was the highlight, not something I would normally say. In a smart restaurant one waiter is not enough if he is going to do everything even if there are only 3 tables. I am alone and order a bottle of wine, I want to drink it not have it 10 metres away and have it filled up an egg cup at a time!
Bread fancy but not great, do one and make it outstanding. A very frustrating two hours and yes I normally love Michelin starred restaurants, this wasnt one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Just dont goo english,no sommelier.no good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Terrible food accompanied by appalling service mark this as one of the worst dining experiences i have encountered,dont go unless you want a huge disappointment,terrible,how this got a star i dont know.....Radio music,kentucky fried quail and iced wine....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Top Contributor
705 reviews 705 reviews
522 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 187 cities Reviews in 187 cities
1,361 helpful votes 1,361 helpful votes
“Deserves a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Excellent service and pleasant internal decor for a wonderful starter and mise en bouche. This unassuming place Not to be missed if you're in Caltagirone. And if you go to Sicily, you MUST see Caltagirone for its pottery and its decorated stairs. One thing that struck us in Coria is the bread, home made, and for once really good. Both our spaghetti were good although a tad on the heavy side. The chef I met, one of the two, is a very pleasant and earthy person.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunei
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“must dine and wine here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

we're so amazed by the service and food here. its so delicious! well coming to caltagirone just for dining here. the olive oil was one of the best i ever had. we were served 5 types of bread and all so delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coria also viewed

Caltagirone, Province of Catania
Caltagirone, Province of Catania
 
Caltagirone, Province of Catania
Caltagirone, Province of Catania
 

Been to Coria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.