We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“arriving at the stairway to heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo

Save Saved
You added Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bongiovanni 72, 95041 Caltagirone, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Caltagirone B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“arriving at the stairway to heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Driving in Sicilia slowly takes its toll and that is why arriving on a hot summer eve in Caltagirone from Agrigento made us so needy! What a nice surprise is that B&B. It is almost half way up the 143 stairs, however, the owner helped us park our alfa right at the top of the stairs. This place is like a cake: full of promise! Waking up in the bright morning in this cosy, idillic place was exactly what we needed after Palermo. From the veranda one can see the town below waking up and the morning mist evaporating under the sun. It is truly amazing how authentic and in the same time modern is the interior of the house: YOU WOULD LOVE IT!
We did!
Just call the owners and let them look after you !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    42
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
83
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallastexas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed 4 nights at the B&B. Our room was actually in another building one street up. It was a stand alone room, I believe the others are located on the property itself. It was a nice big space, only downside to not being in the main building was no access to the wifi. Fortunately, we found an unsecured connection that we could use if we put our computer by the window (We could use the wifi in the main building whenever we wanted, it was nice to be able to do it within the room and as the owner lives there, it felt intrusive).

The owners were very nice, and breakfast was very pretty out on the terrace. Breakfast had pastries, cheese, meats, yogurts, fruit, etc. Anything you wanted, you just had to ask.

The room had a refrigerator which the owner had filled with fresh fruit, water and preseco for your visit. Only negative would be that sometimes in the room, we would get a sewer gas smell, but it would fade as fast it would come. So, really, not that big of a deal.

As far as Caltagirone, we stayed there 4 nights. Our intention was to use it as a base for day trips. And unless you are using your own transportation, that is not a great idea. Despite the cities size, the train and bus connections too and out of the city are horrible. I would suggest maybe staying in Enna or Catania instead and finding a day trip to Caltagirone. Also, there are not a lot of restaurant options in town. It is a very charming city, I am glad to have stayed there, but having your own transportation would make it more enjoyable. If counting on public transport, look for another destination.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel. We really enjoyed its location right off the famous steps of Caltagirone. The owner was kind enough to help us find a parking space for our car and help us with luggage. Great view for breakfast looking out over the town with the coffee granita. My wife also loved the free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

My wife and I booked a room through Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo which was associated with this B&B a couple of houses away as Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo was booked. When we arrived by bus at Caltagirone, Gaetano Pace picked us up at the bus station in his car and took us and our luggage to the room. The room had been recently refurbished and was immaculate, spotless, large and very comfortable. We had a delicious breakfast at the Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo the following morning and because we were joining a tour, we had to go to another B&B, not as nice. Mr. Pace took our luggage to the other B&B. He was very friendly, helpful and made us feel completely at home. It was one of the most pleasing experiences on our trip to Sicily.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Beyond expectation, this charming pensione really is just a few steps over heaven. The windows in my room overlooked the rooftops of the historic section of town on one side and the 142 flower-decked stairs lined with shops on the other side. Fresh fruit and a fridge in the room, an abundant breakfast, plenty of fresh clean linens, TV, very nice and accommodating people--what more could you ask!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

The other reviews are spot on - the location couldn't be better, the rooms are more like brand new apartments, the owner is very hospitable (pickup at the station, a little city tour if he's got time, good advice, etc). And the breakfast is wonderful, great food, good coffee, on a flower decked balcony high above the town.
The town is not visited much by tourists, but is interesting, especially if you like ceramics. The famous steps, the countless workshops, the museum of ceramica, the gardens are all worth a visit, and the people of this town are very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

I stayed in "Tre metri sopra il cielo" for a night in May 2008. This was the best B&B we stayed in on our trip. The room (which was more like a suite) was located right off the famous stairs, it was an independent suite one block north of the main B&B. The suite was decorated with lots of taste and attention to details. It was very clean and well maintained. The owner (Tano) was very nice and he prepared a wonderful breakfast on the balcony (of the main B&B building) which was overlooking the city.
I wish we had more time to stay there and would def. put this city and this B&B in my next trip to Sicily.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo

Address: Bongiovanni 72, 95041 Caltagirone, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Caltagirone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Caltagirone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bedandbreakfast sul monumento simbolo Della citta' a contatto con l'arte e la storia sognando l'infinito...Le camere con balcone Sulla scalinata e alcune con finestra sul panorama Della citta' tutte con aria condizionata,wifi gratuito, riscaldamento, tv al plasma , sky, frigo bar, corredo bagno(accappatoio etc..) e letto, kit cortesia (spazzolino e dentifricio usa monouso), colazione a buffet con torte ,marmellate biologiche tipiche,succhi,spremute fresche arance,yogurt e anche un po' di salato e chi lo preferisce la tipica granita siciliana. Curate nei particolari con parquet e marmi arredate con mobili di antiquariato nella junior suite dependance moderno nei tessuti e nei componenti d'arredo. La Colazione servita Sulla terrazzo panoramica ( nella Bella stagione e nella stanza adiacente nei mesi invernali sempre con vista panoramica). Abbiamo anche le biciclette elettriche per noleggio o tour guidati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre Metri Sopra Il Cielo Hotel Caltagirone
Tre Metri Sopra Il Cielo Caltagirone, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.