We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kannur Beach House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kannur Beach House to your Saves list
Kannur Beach House
Beach house | Thottada Beach, P O Thottada, Kannur, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kannur
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

One of the best places we have been to, great location with fantastic hosts and plenty of scrumptious food! A must for anyone travelling in South India. Some stunning and quiet beaches to be enjoyed. Lovely boat provided by owners to enjoy a relaxing jaunt up the adjacent river where there are many birds to be spotted. Take the time to visit the adjacent beaches, and swim in the warm sea. Only a short journey from Kannur by rickshaw, well worth the trip. Would highly recommend this to everyone.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    43
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
66
196
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was by far our favourite place in the whole of India. Rosie and Naz are the loveliest most welcome hosts ever; the whole family are so friendly and made us very at home. The food is out of this world, the price we paid 3000rs included dinner and breakfast. We run a food company in the UK and were blown away by this amazing insight into Kannur home cooking. The setting is superb; we watched beautiful sunsets every evening from the hammocks in the garden.

The beach is out of this world. You are likely to be the only person on 2km of white sand beach with coconut palms hanging over the beach the setting is stunning.

We went for a lovely massage too , arranged by Rosie for only. 900rs; and a fantastic theyem short evening. My husband is normally nervous about those kind of things and he really enjoyed it.

The room was really beautifully decorated using old wood features in the room. No power cuts here too as they have a back up generator and always hot water.

You'd be a fool not to go. I'm totally going back!!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very kindly and polite host.
The location is very quiet and very Nice, close to the beach and the river. You Can use the resort's canoo and sail up and down the river, and watch birds.
The foot which is included is very nice and typical kerala stile. We Will recommend to have lunch there as well.

Next we are in Kerala we Will for sure come back.

Best regards

Room Tip: Skulle der endelig være et lille minus er det, at sengene er noget hårde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

It is diffiult to put into words how much we loved our four days here- we just wish we could have stayed longer! It felt like we were guests at someones beach house (kiwi talk 'bach')- and were welcomed into their home for Christmas. We all loved the food,and happily ate three meals a day at the house.The beach is beautiful and the front garden just the perfect spot to read and relax. Rosi goes beyond expectations as a host to make everyone feel at home and organise anything we were interested in doing while there. This is a very special place and one week on we are still talking about it, and about how we will go about getting back there one day. This was the perfect spot for us to be for Christmas. Thank you Rosi and Nazir!

Room Tip: we were three sisters travelling together and the 'family room' upstairs was our favourite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at the Kannur Beach House in completely random circumstances that meant we were the only guests for two days... It was amazing!

We felt like we had stumbled upon a secret so good that we did not want to tell anyone. Breakfast, lunch and dinner home made, fresh and delicious, all cooked when we stipulated, our own hammocks to laze in and read, our own private beach to swim and watch the sun go down. Rosi and Nazir were the perfect hosts and helped us with our onward travel, even managing to get us tickets on a sold out train.

A real oasis and worth travelling down to for a few days total relaxation

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palakkad, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had stayed a couple of days in Kannur Beach House in November and it was really a wonderful experience. The location is fantastic with the beach and a small river in front of the house. The beach is clean and almost empty like a private one. The food is excellent and delicious, especially the sea food dishes. The hospitality of Rosi and Nazir is remarkable.

Gopinath, Palakkad, Kerala

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We came there to stay for three nights, and we stayed for a whole week! This is a great place, I loved it all and recommend it to anyone. We stayed in two different rooms during this week, one upstairs and one downstairs, both were clean and comfortable. And the view from the balcony/window... for this view only I could stay there for another month:) Rosi, Nazeer and their family, they made us feel we're friends coming for a while rather than tourists and strangers. I loved dininig with them and other guests at the table outside. I really enjoyed the food, and the fact Rosi was always willing to answer hundreds of questions about it: what it is, out of what it is made, how they make it... We used to stay at the table long after the food was gone, talking about Kerala, its culture, people, how they live, how they think... That was amazing and made my stay there really special. Additionally, the hosts helped us to arrange all sorts of activities around there, including going to Thayeem and house boating. But one of the most magical moments I had there was when we took the boat and went paddling up the river one evening, just before sunset... you just need to do it :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kannur Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kannur Beach House

Address: Beach house | Thottada Beach, P O Thottada, Kannur, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kannur
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kannur
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kannur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kannur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a homestay on the beach front in Kannur, Kerala, India. This charming place in a quiet and secluded area, very close to a pristine and mostly deserted Thottada beach is also situated by a small river. On a beach amongst lush green coconut groves and with a view of the sea, it offers the best in food, relaxation and comfort. With 4 double rooms and a triple room, the beach house has been every travelers delight. All the rooms offer a breath taking view of the beach and the sea. Meals are set and conducted at a communal dining area at fixed timings. There are no room service, TV or porters. Wifi is available. Activities include walking on the long stretch of golden beach, among thick coconut plantation through the village, basking in the sun and sand, bird watching, boating, angling, sightseeing or simply watching the village life go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Kannur Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kannur Beach House Hotel Kannur
Kannur Beach Hotel
Kannur Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kannur Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.