We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, relaxing and definitely worth a visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kannur Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kannur Beach House to your Saves list
Kannur Beach House
Beach house | Thottada Beach, P O Thottada, Kannur 670007, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kannur
Trysil
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, relaxing and definitely worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Kannur Beach House is located in something that looks like paradise. The river flows just beneath the house, and the beach and the ocean makes a great horizon.

The family living in Kannur Beach House meets you with great hospitality, and also helps you with the local customs. The healthy food tastes great, and you will not be hungry when staying here! The family has its own chefs, who make the food for you - and you will eat together with the family members. This way it is easy to learn more about the culture and history of Kerala and Kannur. They know a lot, and are really helpful when it comes to showing these traditions. On our trip, we got to see both martial arts from Kerala and do yoga in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    37
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
56
163
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

My friend and I had a wonderful stay at Kannur beach house. The house itelf is beautiful and rustic, with a communal courtyard for meals and chatting, a lovely chilled out space for sitting and hammocking, and surrounded nearly deserted beaches. The house is on one beach but there are several others along the coast if you fancy a medium/long walk. If you're feeling lazier, do as we did and dedicate most of your time to Sitting in various spots - on your balcony, around the outside dining table, in the chairs overlooking the beach, in the hammocks.... Phew. The food was brilliant, definitely the best I've had in Kerala - very plentiful and healthy, and as all guests sit at the same table it's a very includisve atmosphere and really easy to meet people. The family who run the homestay are excellent hosts, very welcoming and were really keen to get to know the guests. I'm only sad we had to leave after a couple of days, you could easily pass a significant amount of time here! FInally the free wifi is a rare luxury and much appreciated!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Sometimes in life you meet people who are really special. Rozi, Nazir and their three lovely children could not have made us feel more at home. Rozi with her fine taste for delicious food, Nazir with his warm conversations and the children with their welcoming spirit.
This homestay is in a beautiful location and really can't be bettered.
If you are looking for a real flavour of Kerela on the beach, here it is.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

our stay was simply amazing! we relaxed in hammocks,went for beautiful walks in the village, kicked back at the beach, ate healthy, scrumptious freshly cooked local food, enjoyed getting to know kannur, and felt at home. it is one of the most serene places i have been,and hopefully i will return one day.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed with rOsi & nazIr and their lovely family for two weeks in March and our holiday exceeded expectations (even after reading all of the wonderful reviews on here).
The location of the beach house is just beautiful - tucked behind a palm-filled garden with hammocks, next to a river (with use of the family canoe) and with a view of the beach, which is 2 mins walk away..
The rooms were lovely (albeit basic) with a large balcony & view of the garden, the beach and sunsets.
The food was delicious - breakfast and dinner are included in the price (but more often that not we also opted to stay for lunch!) At every meal time we were offered a range of Keralan dishes - predominantly vegetables, fish and seafood, healthily cooked and different every day (I'm not sure we had the same meal twice in two weeks). Meals are served at a communal table with other guests and the family, which was great. We met a lot of very interesting people from all round the world.
rOsi & nazIr and their children were excellent hosts - they were always available to answer questions about the local area and for conversations about Keralan culture.
We wanted a relaxing holiday away from the crowds and that's what we got - the beach was very often deserted (apart from the other guests and local boys playing football at sunset) and the local area largely free from tourists.
The beach house is in a very secluded part of Kannur, near Thottada village but rOsi & nazIr helped us to arrange trips into Kannur and Thalassery, let us know when there was a Theyyam in the local area and arranged a rickshaw to pick us up at 4am, helped us to arrange a 2-day trip on a houseboat on the Valiyaparamba Backwaters and assisted with all sorts of other things from arranging an Ayurvedic massage and ensuring we got to the station on time for our trip home.
It was a home away from home. A beautiful setting with great food, great company and nothing to worry about. A perfect holiday.
I have posted some photos but there's a link to more here:
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/fbx/?set=a.10150150927989099.302894.506769098&l=ae5d5b4d4f

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I escaped from the freezing dark winter in Norway with 11 of my students & a colleague and finally found tropical "rescue" at rOsi and Nazir's hideout by the Indian sea. We all immediately felt at ease and at home when we were welcomed by this wonderful family.
Staying with this devoted "tribe" became an unique, peaceful and thrilling experience for us all.
The atmosphere was very relaxed, calm, hospital and friendly and the food was excellent and very, very healthy..
rOsi and Nazir, their son and daughters are all very devoted, helpful, involved and caring. This homestay was really a home for us - a home with a sense of holistic philosophy spreading lots of good vibrations into our frozen minds and souls, and made us reflect over our own lifes and values.
Thank you for the yoga lessons, martial art, guiding in Kannur, arranging the theyyam, Ayurvedic-man (tell him that I miss his concrete floor). Thank you for giving us the feeling of being very special. We really hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

...and with crowds we mean the crowds of people you encounter everywhere in India, less the tourists. A very welcoming guesthouse run by Rosi and Nazir, who look after you wonderfully and serve delicious food, KBH is right next to beautiful beaches almost devoid of any people. It's full of character and eccentric tourist characters (many long-timers/old-timer hippie types), which means there is always someone to laugh and talk with over the shared meals. Visit the Theyam ceremonies if you want to do something cultural, otherwise a place to lie at the beach, book in hand, wade in the water for the occasional swim, and just let the days go past. The rooms are a bit basic, and the bed a bit hard, but hey, you are not there to stay in the room, are you? Rosi and her family make you feel welcome and make sure you have a great time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kannur Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kannur Beach House

Address: Beach house | Thottada Beach, P O Thottada, Kannur 670007, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kannur
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kannur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kannur
#3 Family Hotel in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a homestay on the beach front in Kannur, Kerala, India. This charming place in a quiet and secluded area, very close to a pristine and mostly deserted Thottada beach is also situated by a small river. On a beach amongst lush green coconut groves and with a view of the sea, it offers the best in food, relaxation and comfort. The old heritage house creates a perfect ambiance for a delightful stay. With 4 double rooms and a triple room, the beach house has been every travelers delight. All the rooms offer a breath taking view of the beach and the sea. Meals are set and conducted at a communal dining area at fixed timings. there are no room service, TV or porters. Wifi is available.Activities include walking on the long stretch of golden beach, among thick coconut plantation through the village, basking in the sun and sand, bird watching, boating, angling, sightseeing or simply watching the village life go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Kannur Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kannur Beach House Hotel Kannur
Kannur Beach Hotel
Kannur Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kannur Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.