We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing accommodation at a very reasonable price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mermaid Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Mermaid Homestay
Save
You added Blue Mermaid Homestay to your Saves list
Thottada Beach | Thottada Post, Kannur 670007, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 49 Kannur B&B and Inns
Shropshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing accommodation at a very reasonable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during March 2013. Blue Mermaid was very clean, quite basic but very pleasant. We had booked to stay at Kannur Beach House (Next door) but refused the rooms we were offered. We were fortunate enough to get a room at Blue Mermaid. A blessing in disguise. A much nicer homestay at a lower room rate. Whew!!!
We were made very welcome by Indu (Owner) and her staff.
There was plenty of food at each meal. The food was typical Keralan cuisine with fresh fish for most evening meals and fresh fruit to accompany breakfast. The filtered (Not bottled mineral) water provided with the meals was perfectly fine to drink. We never had an upset stomach.
Overall, a very nice relaxing stay in lovely surroundings right by an empty beach.

Room Tip: Bamboo cottage is a private cottage on stilts overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    29
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
56
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

What can we say? A truly wonderful experience to spend 8 nights at Blue Mermaid. Far more than a holiday, it was like a home from home...in paradise. Indu and her family and staff looked after our every need, from delicious home cooking to forward travel arrangements with friends and colleagues across Kerala. Most importantly we felt welcomed and loved by all there, who shared smiles and laughter, helped us learn Malayalam and greeted us with warm hugs morning and night. The warmth of the people was complimented by the wonderful scenery, tranquil atmosphere and outstanding birdlife - sea eagles, kingfishers, woodpeckers and more graced our doorstep in the surrounding palms every day. The beach was clean and quiet and safe for swimming most days. We were so happy to see in the New Year for 2013 there, a very special place for us to do so and a very special time in our lives. We will never forget our time with all our friends, who feel more like extended family across the sea. And hopefully we will return to do it all again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night in November 2011 and promised ourselves we would return to Blue Mermaid it was such a delightful place to stay. We don't normally return as we like to seek out new places but Blue Mermaid didn't disappoint. In fact we stayed at the start of our February holiday but finished the holiday there too and plan to return again next year.
All stays here have been in Bamboo Cottage with it's lovely view to the beach.
Indu has made some improvements since our last visit with the completion of a restaurant and additional rooms. The food here is first class and included in the room rate.
Make sure your driver has directions as Blue Mermaid is a little hard to find being so isolated, but that is the attaction, no traffic noise just the sound of the sea and birdlife.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A lovely getaway in a quaint little town, Blue mermaid is 'the' place to repetitively go to if you like the sun, the waves and solitude. My travel agent 'take a break - bangalore' organized this trip for me and it turned out to be one of the best holidays of my life. The place inspires you to completely unwind and become one with nature. Rooms 1 & 2 we stayed in are comfortable and provide enough cross ventilation. It's good value for money as far as accommodation, ambience and food are concerned. Indu is a great host and takes very good care of her guests. She is also adept at organizing local sightseeing trips! The only 2 things to keep in mind are that the beach access is over a large clump of rocks (hence not suitable for the aged/ ailing/ kids who will have to take a 1/2 km walk across a fairly flat land to reach the sea side) and you definitely need to carry a mosquito repellant spray or cream.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms 1 and 2 if you like staying on the ground floor and enjoy sea breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

If a quaint little seaside town can be one's sweetheart, Kannur would be mine!

Hubby and I went on yet another short little trip to my fave destination Kannur....the two of us have lately been studying some new subject in-depth (there is no end to learning and discovering...is there??) and so.....that became our excuse for this latest Kannur trip....we needed some quiet study time...uh...erm....like we need an excuse to come to Kannur!

So we packed our books, a few clothes and some basic personal stuff for some precious us-time and us-space.... time away from the city and the umpteen wanted-n-unwanted distractions......and space to study those books, and reconnect with ourselves and our individual souls. If you have a similar purpose to ours...or no purpose at all... :-), book yourself a nice home-stay at Kannur.

For this latest visit, Blue Mermaid home-stay was our choice. The place is set in a 1.5-acre land (lots of space to walk around!!) and run by the very warm, beautiful and gracious Indu and her very supportive husband, Pradeep. We can't tell you how hardworking and hands-on Indu is in running the place and in taking care of her guests. She needs *and deserves* a vacation herself, seriously!! She needs to check in at another nice home-stay herself...let her hair down, put her feet up, forget everything about work, get fed the way she feeds us, and do nothing....[Indu...do you hear me??? :-)))].

Indu personally cooks and dishes out homely, tasty, and timely meals, ably supported by her kitchen staff. At the cost of her own rest, she is willing to take phone calls at any time of the day or night to be of assistance to her guests. The boys and girls who help Indu are polite and courteous, always smiling and eager to help the guests out with the little-little stuff.

We have a small suggestion for the kitchen staff.....they can be more proactive when it comes to filling up drinking water or asking the guests about tea/coffee, etc. rather than wait for the guests to place the order. That would just make the guests feel happier...and more looked after - this will also give them a better score in the service aspect. Most of them are rather young and so are perhaps shy when it comes to interacting with guests.

The rooms in this resort are the best that we have seen in all of our Kannur visits so far. Each of the rooms is nicely color-coordinated. We were put up in the 'yellow room' which had lemon yellow drapes, yellow door mats, yellow bathroom tiles, and little yellow cushions...it was kind of bright and cute!

Indu will gladly arrange pickup-n-drops or visits to the town with her trusted cab and rickshaw drivers. We found her reliable rick driver Santosh's 'Beach Boy' rickshaw amusing....never seen a rick like that one!

The private beach is a minute's walk away, right opposite the resort, and you can climb down some rocks (not so difficult) to reach there....or you can take a slightly round-about route through coconut palms and reach another part of the beach that is accessible from the famous Kannur Beach House (Blue Mermaid's neighbor).

The beach itself is a bit deep in these parts - so it would be prudent not to take unnecessary risks. Bird lovers can go for a very picturesque walk behind the neighboring Kannur Beach House for bird sightings....and while my IQ in ornithology is zero, I *think* we spotted herons, hornbill ducks, and kingfishers there in the backwaters (see photos), something we didn't get to see around other home-stays we stayed in earlier. in terms of scenic beauty, this place ahs a lot to offer and is great value for money.

Regards activities within & around the resort, there is the beach, of course, for your swims or beach walks, the hammocks and easy chairs for your relaxing and reading, the coconut groves for walking around, and bird watching a short walk behind BM's neighbors, the KBH. And well, if you find someone collecting toddy from the coconut trees at BM, not only do you get to see how they do it, but they'd also be proud and happy to let you sample some toddy! Must admit, we had our first taste of toddy here...it wasn't bad!

Outside of the resort gates, you can walk up the road to a cliff from where the view of the sea is awesome (photos attached). Shell-lovers will find a variety of shells in the beach that is down the cliff.

For some additional info, Kannur is known for its melt-in-the-mouth halwa - which comes in all flavors (orange, chocolate, pineapple...with coconut and without it.....and what not) and the locals recommend Bake-N-Joy bakery in the town central for the same. For banana chips, there is this insignificant-looking 'Banana Chips Bakery' - again highly recommended by the locals....where you get freshly fried and very thin-cut banana chips. These are the 2 shops you must visit if you want to carry some goodies for friends and family back home. Your rickshaw or cab driver will easily be able to take you there for any purchases.

There is a famous handloom shop too and a Kerala traditional art-n-craft center called 'Saragaalaya' if you have more time on hands; the staff at BM will be able to arrange visits to both of these places.

Our warmest thanks to Indu, Pradeep, Santosh, and everyone at Blue Mermaid for their hospitality and giving us some more beautiful memories at Kannur - this seaside destination never ceases to fascinate me...& Partha and I wish you guys loads of fame, prosperity, good health, and good fortune in everything you undertake...now and in the future.

Room Tip: Honeymoon cottage for newly weds. Otherwise any room - maybe you can ask for your favorite shade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We came here in the end of 2012 with no expectations but ended up for 11 days and had a wonderful time. Indu, her husband & staff are very friendly and helpful with everything. Food is great and the rooms are really nice, especially the Honeymoon cottage. The beach is just in front of you and there is even a longer beach a couple of minutes away that is completely empty and just marvellous. We can recommend it!
Tommy & Kerstin

Room Tip: Honeymoon cottage, Blue room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Myself and 2 friends happened upon this place on Thottada Beach while trying to find a place to stay, in this very peaceful, very quiet beuatiful place.
Of the homestays in the immediate area this was by far the best (having checked out 3). We managed to negotiate a decent discount for 3 nights. Also, all the homestays only offer a room plus all meals. There is nowhere to eat in the area, unless you walk 3km.
The Blue Mermaid was great. The rooms were well equipped with working fan, 24hr hot water, cable tv, and comfortable beds. We stayed in the Orange Room. The room was very clean, and the homestay was a 2 mins walk to the beach.
The owners were very friendly, very helpful, and great company, allowing us to experience the food prep, free coconuts, and toddy tapping. They really did have all the time in the world for us, and even provided herbal medication for my friend who had a chest infection. All we had to pay for was beer and water. A top tip would be to get the bus into Kannur and buy your own beer and place it in the homestay fridge. The food was second to none, with fresh fish every evening, mussels, all sorts of kerelan veg curries. Indeed, the owner would ask what we wanted for the next meal, and provide it in a buffet type presentation.
Overall a great stay and I will definately return. I can not recommend this place enough.
For info. From Kannur you should pay no more than 200 rupees (100 fare and 100 return). You may well get dropped in the centre of the beach, but just walk to the far right (as you look at the sea), and head fro the green building.

Room Tip: the yellow or orange are more secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Mermaid Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mermaid Homestay

Address: Thottada Beach | Thottada Post, Kannur 670007, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the madding crowd, in the land of looms & lores, the traditional Kannur; Blue mermaid is just 8kms away from the Kannur city,guest have this threshold thottada backwater on the right side blending soothingly into the deep blue sea. The sunset here is amazingly romantic to the young and the young at hearts. And you can sleep in the lap of the blue mermaid and wake to the sounds of teasing waves and the breezy trees.You can enjoy the gracious host's hospitality and relish that distinctive cuisine, influenced by the long coastal line, flavoured by the all pervasive coconut, enriched with exotic fruits, vegetables, seafood and garnished with the distinctive aroma of spices...Blue Mermaid Traditional House,Honeymoon Bamboo cottage and Bed and Breakfast cotttage are the guest rooms.Free Breakfast ,Free High-Speed Internet ,Free Parking ,Kitchenette ,Pets Allowed ,Restaurant ,Room Service ,Suites ,Wheelchair access..etc are the main facilities provided by the hotel.. All modern amenities and safety features have been catered for, to ensure that, you blend in with nature comfortably and safely. The hotel management will also organise Theyyam Visit, Handloom Visit, Marital Arts Visit, Bird Watching, Dental Treatment, Ayurveda Treatment. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mermaid Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.