We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang in front of the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Malabar Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Malabar Beach
Save
You added The Malabar Beach to your Saves list
Thottada Beach | PO Thottada, Kannur 670 007, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 51 Kannur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Bang in front of the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I discovered the place by chance. Situated in lesser known area of Kannur District called thotada, it is a gem of a place. You can go down to sea like a zillion times when you are there. The management was gracious enough to allow us to keep our dog also. They also provide professional Ayurvedic treatments if pre-booked.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    29
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
27
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The malabar beach resort is the perfect destination if your looking for a relaxing holiday with your loved one away from all the hush and mush of city life.. it's located on the shore of a beautiful beach.. the rooms are quite spacious, neat and clean..the food is good.. the host is kind and helpful.. overall we a great time..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

One of best service i have ever got from any hotel. Stuff were very very friendly and very helpful.

Location was absolutely splendid, right in-front of the beach. We wanted to spend more time on the beach, so they made arrangement for sitting on the beach for us as well get food and tea on the beach.

Room was very neat and clean, toilet was big and very clean.

Food can be make better, with more options and using regular white oil (not coconut oil).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My second stay here in this property.The place had Improved a lot with its amenities and service
Stayed here for 4 days and later again for 2 days and was very happy with both stays. Prior to booking I had some issues with my booking so I contacted Mr Sunil (Managing Director) directly and he promptly handled everything per my wishes. He even arranged the same room for me for my second stay. So, nicely handled
This is a perfect location for family's and couples and also Considering service, price and location I will be staying here again on a next visit to Kannur.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Firstly, the owner of the property is so courteous, you already feel so much at home as soon as u reach the resort. Next, the beach is so close to the resort, it is almost like a private beach with nobody around, the whole beach area seems that it belongs to you! To add the flavor to your holiday is the lip smacking kerala food. If you are a non veggie, this place will make the taste buds dance with joy as the food is prepared almost right in front of you...And finally...one sad thing...you will feel miserable when you are leaving this paradise...be prepared for it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at The Malabar Beach at the beginning of January 2013 and could not recommend the quality of service and attention of Sunil and his team highly enough. During our stay, Sunil helped us to find Theyyem (the main reason for this leg of the trip) seamlessly, brought us there and offered to collect us afterwards. The experience was absolutely exhilarating (definitely a highlight of our trip) and dispelled any concerns I had that it might be difficult to organise this particular experience, as other trip reviews reported. On our last day, Sunil brought us to the station, helped with our bags and even helped purchase our train tickets! All of this far exceeded his role and he was very friendly, gracious and kind throughout our stay. The guesthouse is imposing from the exterior, all white columns and balconies. The grounds were in the process of being competed when we were there but I am sure they will be very impressive when Sunil has competed his projects, including a luxury on-site restaurant. The rooms were quite minimalistic in style but clean. The food provided was home cooked and plentiful and both of the gentlemen who worked there were very eager to please and attentive. Apart from the Theyemm, and the peace of staying somewhere slightly off the beaten track (in contrast to the bustling character of many Kannur towns), the main attraction of this guesthouse was the proximity to a beautiful pristine beach and ocean right across the road. We wished we had more time here to longer releasing on the beach which was as lovely as any we had seen in Kerala. In all, an enjoyable stay, especially thanks to the excellent hospitality of Sunil.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Located bang on the beach, mere steps away from the tranquil waters of the Indian Ocean, The Malabar Beach Homestay and Resort is the perfect getaway when all you want is peace, quite, great food and rustic ambiance.
Sunil, who owns the place, is a great host. He tries his best to fulfill all your requests, be it a generator, food cooked in a particular way, coffee to your liking etc.
The rooms are spacious and clean, with double beds, an attached bath and television. Ask for the rooms on the upper level for better views. The meals are home cooked and absolutely delicious. Don't expect 5 star food, its just great homemade local cuisine that you have to try here.
All in all its the perfect place to grab a few days of peace.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper level have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Malabar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malabar Beach

Address: Thottada Beach | PO Thottada, Kannur 670 007, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malabar Beach is a newly built elegant and Luxurious Bungalow Hotel situated on a fine sandy beach at a little village of Thottada, only 9km from kannur Railway Station and 115 km from the Calicut International Airport. The resort is nearby the sea spread over an acre of land with modern amenities. The resort is in contact with the sandy beach spread over a distance of 3 km which is an ideal beach for swimming and sun bathing.Discover a coastal paradise in Malabar (north Kerala) of unspoilt beach fringed by exotic coconut trees and lapped by the warm waters of the Arabian Sea. It is an ideal place for families, couples and groups, offering a comfortable and noiseless relaxation as well as safe playing area for children. The Malabar beach Resort, in harmony with the picturesque landscape, offers overwhelming views, provides comfort and warm hospitality that attracts the tourists from Europe, America, Far East, and South America. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Malabar Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.