We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Malabar Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Malabar Beach
Save
You added The Malabar Beach to your Saves list
Thottada Beach | PO Thottada, Kannur 670007, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 49 Kannur B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thanks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was a good place to stay. It`s only 50 meter to the golden sand beach. You get plenty and good food, Nam nam. The rooms are perfect with large beds, AC and hot water if you need it. Sunil and Santhos was realy helpful with all you need. Perfect balcony to watching the sea and hearing the waves is amasing. Thanks this time I comming back one day.

Staale
Norway

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    25
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
24
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

If you are a couple or a pack of 10, Malabar resorts makes an enjoyable stay for you. With Colours of Bougainville, sea breeze and the shades of coconut tree, it has fresh tropical set for cold beer and conversations. private beach and its wide clean cottages....makes it the best unwinding beach resorts in kannur area. The owner, Mr Sunil has high sense of hospitality and never says 'no' to anything you demand, even though it is beyond his cooks ethical capacity and makes his way through highly crowded wine stores for your requirement :) he can help you find your lost keys too. thank you Malabar resorts for making our trip memorable and also pleasurable. We will visit again...... keep those prawn fry coming:)

Regards,
Coorg group.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you wanted somewhere to stay on the coast of northern Kerala 'Try the Malabar Beach at Kannur suggested by one of our friend. We did, and it proved to be winner.
The resort fronts straight onto the beach.Our sea-facing cottage consisted of a comfortable large bedroom spacious veranda, dressing room and well equipped bathroom
Service was efficient and discreet, all the staff well trained and friendly.
The cuisine was among the one we really enjoyed
The long palm-fringed beach with its soft golden sand is stunning, virtually empty apart from local fishermen and sea birds.The light sea breeze is a tonic. Just to be in this wonderful and rejuvenating place is pure pleasure.
our stay brought non-stop delight and a profound sense of liberation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Searching for somewhere to stay after being disappointed with KBH, we were delighted when we found The Malabar Beach had room for us. We were given a room on the first floow of the main property with a balcony for sitting out, two large beds in the bedroom and a super bathroom. As others have said Sunil was extremely helpful as was Santosh. To sit on the balcony at dusk with a cold beer, watching the setting sun, hearing the waves breaking on the beach was just perfect. Food was good too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My family and I stayed in the bungalow during February. We have two girls of 2 and 4 years and our main priority is that they enjoyed their time. They were so happy playing in the pristine gardens or on the beach. Our bungalow was spacious, clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water, extra fans and extra beds. We booked with breakfast and dinner each day and the food was delicious and plentiful. The location is superb. Set on Thottada Beach, it's a tropical paradise. Brahma kites soaring overhead, dolphins on the horizon, a clean quiet palm fringed beach, this place is unforgettable. It is a very special place. What's even more special is the welcome that Sunil extended to us. Sunil's knowledge of the area is incredible, he's well traveled and he is very proud of his home. Sunil arranged exquisite meals, transport, days out, recommended restaurants, helped us getting mobile phone cover, you name it Sunil knew someone that could help. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer and have dinner together as we had planned.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribe, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Malabar Beach is the perfect place for us. Here is peace and quiet. Here are friendly and good service. Good food.
Our primary goal of the stay is pure relaxation. But there is also wireless internet Wi-Fi connection, so we can easily get in touch with the outside world. If we are going on a trip, it is possible to get by car to the nearest towns. And there are many attractions nearby. Also nearby is a small town, a few minutes can be reached by a tuk-tuk. Calicut with an international airport is only 115 km from Malabar Beach.
Malabar Beach is a great place for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you're looking to escape the hoards of travellers all over India, then this is the place to stay. We took the cottage in the pretty grounds of the homestay and were not disappaointed by the excellent service and incredible local food. Sunil, our host, could not do enough to help us and did everything in his power to make our stay around the Kannur area a pleasure and hassle free. He is the perfect 'man in the know' and could arrange almost anything, which was a huge help as I had arrived only the day before in India. A really decent, honest. fatherly welcome.

Room Tip: The bungalow is perfect for families and Sunil will provide an extra fan to make up for the lack of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Malabar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malabar Beach

Address: Thottada Beach | PO Thottada, Kannur 670007, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malabar Beach is a newly built elegant and Luxurious Bungalow Hotel situated on a fine sandy beach at a little village of Thottada, only 9km from kannur Railway Station and 115 km from the Calicut International Airport. The resort is nearby the sea spread over an acre of land with modern amenities. The resort is in contact with the sandy beach spread over a distance of 3 km which is an ideal beach for swimming and sun bathing.Discover a coastal paradise in Malabar (north Kerala) of unspoilt beach fringed by exotic coconut trees and lapped by the warm waters of the Arabian Sea. It is an ideal place for families, couples and groups, offering a comfortable and noiseless relaxation as well as safe playing area for children. The Malabar beach Resort, in harmony with the picturesque landscape, offers overwhelming views, provides comfort and warm hospitality that attracts the tourists from Europe, America, Far East, and South America. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Malabar Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.