We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second home ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asokam Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Asokam Beach Resort to your Saves list
Asokam Beach Resort
Payyambalam Beach, Palliyamoola | Kannur, Kerala, Kannur 670008, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Kannur
SaarLouis, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Our second home ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

...at least for the cold months in Germany. We were coming back the 3rd time and enjoyed again the peaceful place at Payambalam beach. We liked the Ayurvedic treatments for 3 weeks with the special diet. We liked the nice and helpful staff. An we liked the familiar atmosphere Naveen and his wife Rinku were providing.
I hope we can come again in 2015.

Room Tip: We like the non A/C Rooms with the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaveenPavithran, Owner at Asokam Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Egi

Thanks for your reqular visits and reviews.

All of us at ASOKAM are delighted that you enjoyed your treatments and stay with us as much as we enjoy being at your service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ASOKAM again and again!.

With very best regards

NAVEEN PAVITHRAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    54
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
60
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

If you look a quiet and calm place then this is the best choice.I've been here eight days.Asokam Beach Resort is is located on payyambalam Beach one of the cleanest beaches in India.The beach is not crowded.A lot of birds flying.And are used to people.You can approach them,take photos.Food was tasty.I recommend garlic chicken, ginger chicken, potato masala.And do not forget about the fresh juice of watermelon and pineapple.The staff are very friendly.They do their best to entertain you and be prompt.The rooms are very clean and if you choose a Cottage with sea front You can fall asleep to the sound of waves.From other rooms you can have an amazing and magical view of the Arabian Sea form Indian Ocean.We also visit arownd.The best place would be St Angelo Fort.Rort itself is a spectacular building but also the sea ​​view form there is spectacular.Near arownd is a fishing village bursting with birds.Indians are humanists people with principles and respect.I would like to thank all the time devoted to me.Sure you will remember this place. Claudia Ivan

Room Tip: We choose Cottage rooms and we were completely satisfied.We loved the sound of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaveenPavithran, Owner at Asokam Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Claudia,

We are delighted to receive your "dreamy" review through TripAdvisor and to note that the full group and you had a wonderful experience at our hotel.

I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Thank you,
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here for a single night but I am definitely going back for more
Location: Located right on the beach front, the place is ideal for a weekend getaway or even a longer stay. Stand at the entrance and watch the waves wash across the black grey sands of the beach. There is no path to the beach but a quick scramble down the rocks and you are wading through the waves.A very flat beach hence perfect for a walk or even a dip in the water.

Rooms - I had booked the AC room and the rooms are spacious and include a small dining table as well as a couch apart from the double bed. Room was very clean and did not see any insects or vermin. The bedsheet, pillowcases and towels were also very clean and white. Very functional bathroom with a shower and a loo.

Amenities - the resort has a small garden with a kids play area and an open air sit-out where you can enjoy the sea breeze along with a cup of tea. Enough parking for 4-5 cars. They also have ayurvedic treatment packages, which I did not have time to sample

Food - Did no have lunch or dinner here but did have evening tea and breakfast. Breakfast is a small spread with typical south indian dishes like idli, vada, upma along with sambar & chutney and a glass of fresh juice. While the idli was a little hard, the rest were delicious especialy the pulpy cold watermelon juice. Did see some other guests having bread toast and eggs I think, which is probably available if asked for.The tea was good but my wife did not like the coffee as it was very watery.

Overall - A very value beautiful but value for money resort to enjoy the sun, surf and the sand

Room Tip: Chose the Superior rooms as they are on the first floor and have a small sit-out which offers an exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaveenPavithran, Owner at Asokam Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Asokam during your recent group visit to Kannur.

We are delighted to receive your review through TripAdvisor and to note that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. Your generous compliments about our service and Housekeeping shared with our TEAM for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Thank you,
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The property is excellent. A heaven actually. Amazing to go with family esp with kids. The food is great. However the delivery time is little more but itsok considering the wait is understandable as its a resort. The beach is extremely clean. My son went mad over there

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaveenPavithran, Owner at Asokam Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Sumit,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Asokam during your recent visit to Kannur and to meet with your family..

We are delighted to receive your review through TripAdvisor and to note that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel.

I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Thank you,
Warm regards,
NAVEEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I and my family have spent some days in this resort.
We have been received by the manager himself, who has granted us that everybody in the staff was at our disposal to provide the best available service.
The promise was absolutely fulfilled.
The rooms are very comfortable, clean and provided with full services.
The resort is provided with a lovely garden, very useful for who has children, and is located just in front of a wonderful beach.
The service has been perfect, and the staff has always been available and collaborative.
The food is very good, and nicely served in the garden of the resort.
My wife appreciated very much the quality of the massages she had in the resort itself.
If I will have to travel again in the area, I will not consider any other place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaveenPavithran, Owner at Asokam Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Rancate,

Thank you for your recent stay and for sparing your valuable time for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that several aspects of the hotel have left you with a favorable impression and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback of our service is a great matter of pride and inspires the full team motivating for us to achieve even higher standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience.
Thank you,
Warm regards
NAVEEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

we reached Asokam after a 5 hr journey from Wayanad. The 3 day stay there was absolutely idlyllic with the pristine sea beach across the road . this place right on the payyambalam beach offers the best of Kerala R&R - with its ayurvedic resort and location on the beach for morning and evening walks. As Naveen ( the owner) said , it has been constructed ideally for the 7 day/ 14 day / 21 day Ayurvedic programs conducted in the resort. For family tourists with kids , although the urge is to explore places around , the place kind of sucks you in to relax and recuperate. Suggestions, if you are particular about food, is to catch hold of the proprietor and ask him to guide you... in fact one of the days he got us stuff from his home ( puttu-kadalai) else it is pretty much veg satvic stuff in line with the ayurvedic environs.

great place, clean rooms, excellent location and absolutely helpful staff and proprietor.

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaveenPavithran, Owner at Asokam Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Karthik,

Thank you for staying at Asokam and for sparing your valuable time for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor. We are delighted to receive your encouraging feedback and to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel.Your feedback is a great matter of pride for us and inspires the team.

The team and I, look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Asokam.

Thank you,
Warm regards
NAVEEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I just happened to stumble upon this place while searching for resorts in Kannur. On reaching the place, I and my wife were welcomed by a very professional and cooperative staff. The location being sea-facing is a sheer pleasure. Especially, the walk along the beach and even just a sit-out on the rocks. The vast expanse of the Arabian sea and splashing waves give you the joy and solitude that you might crave for if you are a city-dweller. :) Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaveenPavithran, Owner at Asokam Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at ASOKAM and for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to receive your wonderful feedback and to note that, you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thank you,
Warm regards,
NAVEEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asokam Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asokam Beach Resort

Address: Payyambalam Beach, Palliyamoola | Kannur, Kerala, Kannur 670008, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fine hospitality in Kannur at ASOKAM BEACH RESORT HOTEL on the shore of Payyambalam beach. Asokam Beach Resort provides a clean, calm and relaxing atmosphere. With the soothing sound of waves and clear air the resort is an ideal get away from hectic and stressful life. The Ayurvedic center complements the demand for treatments, relaxation, and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Asokam Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asokam Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.