We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at Hotel Blue nile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Nile

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Nile
Save
You added Blue Nile to your Saves list
S.N Park Road, Kannur 670001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Kannur
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“stay at Hotel Blue nile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Whenever in Kannur, I always stay in Blue Nile. Last I stayed on 9th January. Absolutely a comfortable hotel with good food. The rooms are refurbished, spacious and comfortable. The hotel also has two suites where Football player Maradonna & Malayalam actor Mohanlal have stayed and named after them respectively. Have stayed in Mohanlal suite also earlier, but the smaller rooms are comfortable. Would recommend the hotel to have brewing stations in all the rooms for the comfort of the guests. The top floor restaurant and pool bar, game area has different ambience and enjoyable. One small drawback in the room where I stayed is the bathroom did not have a proper exhaust fan, hence a bit of little foul smell. Other wise, always a comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    12
    3
    14
See reviews for
13
9
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ernakulam, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel boasts of a 4 star certificate!!! What a shame... I visited this hotel seeing the so called positive reviews on tripadvisor; my visit was rather depressing. First they make me wait for a room for about an hour, than they give a room that had bed sanitation, and finally the try to impress me with a room that had a babys tub in the bath!! How could u get it wrong guyz, I am not a kid...

The restaurant is fine but very under lit. Though the hotel boasts of celeb guests, I feel only they are served...

Sad place for the common man...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The service is horrible

Quality of food is bad and the restaurant actually served us cold food. The soup was also cold.

We had to ask for the waiter to do anything. No water no tissue no plates for starters. Despicable.

Parking the car was a nightmare.

Please don't go here it's a waste of your money and time. A shame for a four star place

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed there for a week... And I had the time of my life...!!! Superb place.food is good. Ambiance is brilliant. Pool side place is mind blowing. Exquisite cuisine just adds up to everything. There is a class in overall structure of the hotel.I would recommend this hotel any day.I am just waiting for my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banglore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Blue nile has been the best Hotel in cannanore since it started & retains all the quality and Hospitality, while retaining the flavour of a four star Hotel. The quality of Food in the Coffee Shop, specially for Breakfast buffet is really good .Hotel is the best in kannur, kerala .Rooms are excellent , very effcient staff.. Particularly the pool side restaurent is amazing. Location is also convenient and close to a shopping place, beach and train station/bus stand Enjoyed the stay there.

Room Tip: room number 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed at the Blue Nile hotel whilst travelling around India with my friend.

We were unable to find any accommodation in Kannur so decided to stay at the Blue Nile.

As we had backpacks on and looked a little hot on arrival. The receptionist came up to our room after checking us in. He asked if he could come into the room and once inside ask if we could pay the full amount for our three night stay! Think they were worried we weren't going to pay!

But once we had sorted the payment out the receptionist were very helpful and helped us book train tickets to Goa and offer a free car service to the train station.

The room was very nice and very comfortable. The bathroom was ok, it had seen better days!

Breakfast was also average! I choice of curries and breads were on offer. But this was included in the price of the room, so that was ok.

The restaurant on the top floor is very good. Cheap and cheerful food, with a great view of the surrounding area.

The WIFI is not worth even trying! We were right under the router but still getting online proved to be pointless!!

Over all the Blue Nile is a nice hotel definitely not a 4* by English standards but we were comfortable and the hotel is situated right in the middle of Kannur.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We started here for 3 days attending a marriage. They made adjustments we asked for our kids. When one then feel sick the hotel sent a bell hop to get coconut water.
Spacious rooms, located close to the railway station and maybe a half mile walk to the beach. The hotel had a sports bar with a billiards table. Complimentary breakfast buffet. In room coffee and tea maker.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Nile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Nile

Address: S.N Park Road, Kannur 670001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Nile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.