We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbend time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Hues Beach House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Hues Beach House
Save
You added Ocean Hues Beach House to your Saves list
Kizhunna Para | Kizhunna P.O., via Thottada, Kannur 670007, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Kannur
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“unbend time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is my first and wife's 3rd stay at this beautiful home. Approximately 20mins from Kannur railway station, is a house you wouldn't forget for its peace...peace and peace. A poet/writer's paradise, has a show of adventure too. If ...if you are lucky, u'll see them. the Wild Dolphins.

We stayed here this time just for a night with my folks. This is a two-bedroom house situated just by the beach. The property is well attended to by Mr. Reddy and his helper Chandru. They speak English, Local Language (Malayalam), Kannada, Telugu and can manage tamil. And then, there's Brownie, the sweetest little dog I have ever met. Sleep is supreme. Room and their bathrooms are big. Suggest you to carry a universal adapter in case you plan to travel during the monsoon. Mr. Kannan, the owner, stays in the city and is a down to earth, honest man. My dad just about managed to rattle a few army stories.

Food is as per your choice and is delicious. Do not miss to wake up early morning for that swim...and watching Dolphins ... if you are lucky. Beach is practically empty and very clean.

A special place to unwind and relax.

Room Tip: Take the room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Picked this up from Tripadvisor after reaching Kannur and having lunch. The place is a must stay. An ideal venue for giving real quality time to your family. Very well maintained. The property has been very tastefully and exquisitely built and decorated. The owners very caring and ensure your stay is comfortable. The staff Chandu and Reddy are very hospitable. The food is amazing and quite delicious. It was a casual visit from Bangalore to Kannur just to spend a night. But we ended up spending two instead. And very fortunate that we got the accomodation against someone cancelling it. Lucky us. The view from balcony is amazing, particularly when you can see dolphins swimming by. Next time I would like to travel well planned and stay longer. Last but not the least, Brownie (the pet) is like a fresh cherry on top of a delicious cake.

Room Tip: Just a place here. All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife daughter and inlaws stayed here for 3 nights - oct 11-13th. this property is situated in an amazing location, with comfortable amenities, clean and extremely hospitable staff. special mention here about Reddy and Chandru.And Lucky Brownie, the Daschund. Inspite of not being a local, Reddy is an amazing cook of local cuisine. The beach is a mere 100 feet away from the property, and is devoid of any people, except for the local fishermen in morning going about their jobs. Dr. Suresh Kannan, the owner, kudos to you for setting up this place and maintaining it the way it is.We loved the stay an will come back many times over.

This place is about 10 KM from Kannur town. We drove down to the place from Bangalore, and the approach is motorable till 100 meters from the property. There are multiple routes from Bangalore. 1. Bangalore - Srirangapatna - Hunsur - Periyapatna - Siddapura - Virajpet - Iritty 2. Bangalore - Srirangapatna - Hunsur -Gonikoppat - Iritty 3. Bangalore - Srirangapatna - Hunsur - tada. You can also go thru Mysore - Handpost - HD Kote, Nagarahole, Mannanthavady onwards. I went thru Iritty and came back via Kutta. The road after Periyapatna for about 10 KM is rough. The road i took back via mannanthavady and Kutta - Hunsur is very good, but a bit longer.

People driving with Google Maps help, the last point shown leading to the property is wrongly pinned. It will take you 2 km north of the property. Reach Thottada town and call Reddy for directions.Request Dr. Suresh to undo and repin the property on Google Maps.

Once again i suggest stock on your beverages and any special food requirements from wherever you are travelling from. You may not get the beverages of your choice in Kerala. Food is very homely, amazingly tasteful, and made to your tastes/wishes. And as the website suggests, leave your footwear behind.

Room Tip: Ideally, take the entire property so that you are on your own. Else the first floor bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Wonderful owners, excellent service, delicious food, brave dog, nature like paradise ... In a few days Ocean Hues became a home for us.
There is only one sad detail in this story: we had to leave this home.
Luckily it has been possible to return there, in dreams.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Joseph_Germany: A fantastic house with an amazing view. The owner and his wife – both of them medical doctors who live in the town nearby - are delightful and are concerned about the well-being of their guests. The house stands on its own on an incline, surrounded by coconut palm trees and directly overlooks the beach, which when we were there was practically empty. The beach was safe as the ocean flow and the gradient are gentle. The children (11 and 13) had great fun throwing themselves into the waves. We were very well looked after by the cook and the house boy. The house was cleaned regularly and maintained to a high standard. The balcony off the bedroom on the first floor looks directly over the ocean and is amazing. There is a beautiful terrace surrounding the house at ground level – where we took our breakfast while enjoying the sea views. There are not many houses around. Except for a lone fisherman or a local person passing through the beach – it is practically your own private world.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Fantastic experience. Reddy and co do a great job of putting you at ease. The beach is literally a hop-skip-jump away. The added bonus for us was the dolphins which would pop up during the day, less than 100m from the beach. There are other resorts on the same stretch, but the beach for the most part is fairly remote and lonely

Room Tip: Choose the room on top - more privacy and a superb view (no views from the downstairs room, you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Highly recommended place. Everything was perfect, Thank You! This place is amazing,The staff Chander and Ready are so attentive and They cook wonderful food. This place really is paradise. The beach is so close and stiing on the balcony is so romantic. We stayed 7 nights but decided to stay for 8 days more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Hues Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Hues Beach House

Address: Kizhunna Para | Kizhunna P.O., via Thottada, Kannur 670007, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Kannur
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Hues Beach House is a beautiful seaside holiday rental, facing the Arabian sea, located in Kannur, a coastal town in North Kerala, in India & is perfect for a beach holiday. It is a modern, furnished, fully air conditioned, well maintained holiday home & has all the facilities for a comfortable stay, in a quiet, homely ambience, unlike commercialised resorts & hotels. It has 2 double bedrooms & a living room cum bedroom, all with a/c & attached bathroom & a sea view. We rent out individual rooms or the beach house as a whole. Meals are provided as part of the package & our menu includes a variety of dishes, including typical Kerala cuisine & fresh seafood delicacies, which will be cooked by our live-in cook. We cater to both vegetarians & non vegetarians. The tariff for an a/c double room, is inclusive of 3 meals for 2 people. We also have an internet connection with wifi. The beach is quiet, clean & uncrowded & ideal for a seaside getaway. You can take long walks along the beach, go swimming or just laze around the beach which is one of the best ways to relax & unwind from the tensions of everyday living. Ocean Hues Beach house has been accredited by the Kerala Tourism Department in the category of Serviced Villas.You can also take time to explore the rich culture of Kerala. Kannur is famous for its pristine beaches, Theyyam - its native performing art & Kalaripayattu - one of the oldest known martial art forms in the world & the handloom industry. You can also visit various other local tourist attractions. We arrange sightseeing tours, airport & railway station transfers & Ayurvedic massages at extra cost. The closest international airport is the Calicut (Kozhikode) Airport, which is about 110 Kms. from Ocean Hues. Ideal for people looking to get away from the hustle & bustle of city life to spend some time to rejuvenate their mind, body & soul amidst the sun, sea & sand. The combination of the homely ambience, surrounded by the swaying coconut trees, and the soothing sound of the waves makes it an idyllic seaside holiday. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Hues Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.