We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, needs to improve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearlview Regency

The Pearlview Regency
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pearlview Regency
Save
You added The Pearlview Regency to your Saves list
Pearlview Junction | Tellicherry, Kannur 670 101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Kannur
Coimbatore, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice property, needs to improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Nice location & view. Been there twice, first time 2 years back, and second in February last. Very good property. Its improved from bad. Good staff, trying their best to help. All people are trainees, so no one knows what to do, but ask them, they try their best. If you find any mistake, tell them they correct it and will not repeat it. I stayed in a cottage, Apart from the eerie smell in the rooms the first time you enter, the room was good, may be the smell was because no one ever used it or due to moisture. But overall a good place to stay in thalassery.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
1
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here fo one night when we were visiting the city, The people are basically nice and try to help, though when we stayed almost everyone there was a trainee, I guess that service might have been better if the regular staff was around. We stayed in the Ac deluxe room. Have to agree with the earlier review that though the place is clean it is run down. It would do good to pay attention to fine details, like cleaning the grime between the tiles, and the bathtub in the room we stayed in definitely needs to be replaced. Not sure if the town has better options. But, attention to the small details is what makes the difference.
we found the corridors claustrophobic, but that cant be helped, the building is designed like that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Visited the restaurant recently of this hotel. We were twelve of us and asked the stewards to help us in having a comfortable seat in a Group, not a single steward were smart enough to help us in arranging the seats for us. We were waiting for 15 minutes to find a place to sit eventhough not many patrons were in the restaurant . When i discussed with the restaurant manager he couldn't help us again ,as he looked at us as if he has never seen a big group ever visited this restaurant .We on the own joined two tables and seated . We then ordered what was in the menu card and awaited again half hour and then the big shock came to us that when a senior steward came to us saying he cannot fulfill our order as he has limited non veg items so he can serve only the meals (Thali ) , The time then could be 1:30 pm and this was the reply we get from a three star rated hotel(as claimed ) by this Hotel . We just had to walk off from this place .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed at the property for 3 nights over the X-mas vacation. We had selected the property as it had a swimming pool. But the pool was not maintained properly and we were repeatedly told that they will sort out the problems with the circulation pump which never hapenned during the stay. So we never got to using the pool at all. The rooms were okay and basic but a bit run down, the lifts had some sensor issues and a bit dodgy. But the staff were very friendly and helpful and I have given 3 stars because of the service quality else it should have been two. The hotel is located away from the city and in a nice quite setting. We had a car s it was easy to drive back and forth but you may struggle if you do not have own transport. Not sure that I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

The rooms are huge and simply furnished. Thankfully, no carpet - so it is a lot cleaner and free of mustiness. The central air conditioning works - but needs to be more effective. Bathrooms were fair sized and clean. Rooms have cable TV and mini fridge.
Our rooms at fourth floor had a good view of the property and the sea.

The hotel is centrally located at Tellicherry and the drive-on beach is a couple of kilometers away.

Room service food was fine and reasonably priced. We did not try the restaurant. The room service was prompt and the staff very courteous.

There is no internet / Wifi in the rooms or elsewhere. However, the hotel manager was kind enough to allow use of the hotel LAN to connect our laptop.

Overall, it was a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms where central AC is more effective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

My parents, brother and me stayed at the Pearl View Residency, for 2 nights.
We booked 2 a/c rooms, a twin and double on the third floor.
Here's the review.

What's Bad
------------------
1. Air conditioning
A/C is centralized in all rooms. The temperature controls in both rooms were broken.
What was even more worse was the very first night we found that A/C was not working I'm one room. Repeated calls to reception failed to address the problem forcing a late night visit to reception where we were told that the room's A/C was broken down. Why they couldn't tell this when we called them up and required a visit downstairs beats me. Anyways, the reception agreed to adjust the bill indicating whatever the fault was wouldn't be fixed. We were told that the problem was specific to our room, which seemed true because the A/C was functioning in our parents room.
Later, I found another couple agitated and complaining to staff about their air conditioning.
So, be warned. A/C is highly suspect

2. Staff
The staff is by and large responsive and friendly except for the one manning the.night shift. Seemed to me, that they are responsive if your room has no issues and turn sour if things do.


What's. Good
---------------------
1. Food.
Lunch, (veg meals), was excellent and dinner was okay. Food was the best part of the hotel.

Room Tip: avoid if a/c is a high priority
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlviewregency, Front Office Manager at The Pearlview Regency, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
We accept this review and with the great priority we have already replaced our Centrally air conditioned system and installed split air conditioners in all rooms. So there is no complaints raised from our Guests for the last three months.

Thanks&regards
SAMEER.K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pearlview Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearlview Regency

Address: Pearlview Junction | Tellicherry, Kannur 670 101, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pearlview Regency, the "Pearl of Malabar" and one of the best properties of Kerala. We are located on the Tellicherry- Kannur Highway. Discover the charm and experience of the Pearlview hospitality. The serene calm environs and the surrounding green canopy of trees will certainly enrapture as if you are on the banks of the Koduvally river join the Arabian sea in the north. The Pearlview amenities and facilities include guest rooms, luxury cottages, 24 hr coffee shop & ice-cream parlour, swimming pool, kids pool, multicuisine family restaurant, lawn services, travel desk and Ayurvedic treatments & massages. We have the facility to conduct and arrange grand weddings, Mehendi nights, international conferences, business meets and receptions at Pearlview Gardens and Manatt Hall (AC). The Pearlview Regency also offers a host of facilities that include sightseeing tours to nearest tourist destinations viz. Muzhapilangadu Drive in Beach (longest in Asia), Tellicherry Fort, Payyambalm Beach, St. Angelo Fort, Dharmadam Island, The Great Overburry’s Folly, Old English church and many more. The honeymoon/ holiday family packages of all seasons with varieties of plan, including Ayurvedic, treatments, Kalaripayattu, Kadhakali and Theyyam are optional, from part of the many packages offered by us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearlview Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.