We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chera Rock Beach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chera Rock Beach House
Save
You added Chera Rock Beach House to your Saves list
Opposite Chera Kalle, Kizhunna Para Bus Stop | Thottada, Kannur 670007, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kannur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We narrowed down Chera Rocks after reading reviews on TripAdvisor, and I must say, it is faaar more beautiful than it appears. The entire hotel is on the side of a small hillock which leads down to the most desolate and beautiful beach I've ever scene. The place is paradise for those seeking quiet relaxation. Our cottage was right on the beach (it was actually between two beaches that meet at ninety degrees creating quite a sight!!) and was very well kept, clean and beautiful. Of course it helped at this was a delux cottage. The other cottages are quite ordinary. Yummy homecooked meals served everyday. Freshest sea-food I've ever eaten. (The owner goes out and catches it every morning) Some very friendly and simple fisher-folk. A fresh-water spring. Dense coconut tree cover. And a very, very helpful caretaker - Mr Ali.

However, if you're into sight-seeing and shopping, this is not the place for you. It's quite far from any 'tourist' spot. But if you're the kind who likes nature & peace - go for it!

Our trip was extremely memorable and I would love to visit again!

Room Tip: Go for the delux rooms. They're expensive but the best. The other cottages are very ordinary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    32
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
82
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford,BC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Chera Rock Beach House is located only 10 minute drive south of Kannur. We arrived 3 hours behind schedule due to some extremely annoying and ongoing issues that we had with the booking agent "Suresh" from Palmlandtours (Beware) however this had nothing to do with the caretakers at Chera Rocks so once we arrived, we were amazed! It is beautiful. We had the entire place to ourselves. We booked the super deluxe room which was an excellent choice as the room with vaulted ceilings was so spacious. The bathroom was large and open with hot water, always available. The cabana is only steps from the golden sandy beach and the ocean is so calming. The caretakers were very friendly and always accommodating. They were always available to help us and brought us whatever we needed. The chef made the most delicious meals which were served to us on the open aired patio overlooking the ocean. The filtered water from their machine is the best water that we drank in India, even better than the bottled water. The seafood was fresh caught every morning. There is a Muslim mosque right beside the cabana so if you are a light sleeper, at 4:30 am you may be awoken to the songs of the prayers. This never bothered us. We enjoyed our time at Chera Rocks. It was an excellent beach choice for relaxation and natural beauty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The view is amazing probably the best sea view that I have been to. The rooms are on the beach – just off the room - you get on the beach and its about 500 mts is the sea.- great stuff… excellent location.
This definitely is not one of those semi luxury resorts that you can be papered and feel nice (the prices are 5 star at about Rs. 5000 a night – lunch-dinner-breakfast). Reminds me more of a ‘lodge’ that I have travelled as a college kid – where the ‘boys only wanted to drink’
The facilities are very very base… probably worse than what your are used to at home…(no wonder most of the foreigners have an impression of India as a poor and 3rd world country where we struggle to even exist.) no soap or any of the basic toiletries -normally available in any “country lodge”.
The food is very average….. basic…. Something in line to “eat something to survive – we are hungry”
And the biggest disaster – no a/c in the room nor a television – honestly… the sand, nature & sea is all ok…(guess the message is – get to the basic of living – “primitive living kind”) and yeah… there’s no power back up at the resort.. so the fan stops working….. (hey I understand this is Kerala – but its new weather for us…)

Room Tip: take the room close to the kitchen as the view is better and also the service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We ended up in this place by a coincidence, and it turned out to be the highlight of our 5 week stay in South India. The location is stunning, and our rooms were located directly on the ocean, at an intersection of two incredibly clean and beautiful quiet beaches neighbouring a fishing community and surrounded by palm trees. The staff at Chera Rocks are so accommodating and consistently went above and beyond. Ali was a wonderful host, and did an excellent job in making the most of our stay. We had such a great experience that we returned only two weeks later for an extra 6 days.
We really appreciated that the food was included in the price, especially as the meals were among the most delicious food we’ve had on this trip.
In addition, there is a strong Wifi connection in the main area, and we ended up doing our work drinking fruit shakes while sitting directly in front of the ocean. What a life!
Logistics: We didn’t really need to buy much extra during our stay as food and water were included; however, there is a couple small corner stores within a 5-10 minute walk if needed. The ride into Kannur takes about 20 minutes by rickshaw (about 200 rupees) and the staff were able to arrange transport and pick-up.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed only one day, but the place is really beyond your expectation and we really enjoyed the sea shore a nice place i ever seen :) recommend for couples and family... we will make sure to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Great location, with virgin beach, rooms overlook the ocean hardly few meters away. Lovely feel of clean beach and warm water, you can spend hours swimming and walking on the beach or sit in your verandah whole day. Now the not so good part. Basic hygiene is missing, room never gets cleaned, filthy bathrooms, towels and bed sheets never get changed. Service is non existent. You have to keep asking for basics such as water, hot water etc. food is ok if your fond of local food. Very hot and sticky, no AC in the rooms. If the breeze is good, it's ok otherwise be ready for hot and sticky day.
Overall location is great, needs some work on basic comforts and cleanliness which you look forward to in your leisure time in peaceful surroundings.
Have given the same feedback to Mr Srinivasan who is the owner, hope he makes this place a complete experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed for a week in mid-April 2013, an indulgent reward following two weeks of very active cycling through southern Kerala and the Western ghats.

It takes a day or two to get into the rhythm of the place; but then you realise that you are fortunate enough to be sharing a couple of miles of beach with just a few fishermen and the occasional passer-by; that sumptuous meals featuring local fare appear (thanks Ali!!) more or less by magic and more or less on time; and that you are free either to roam the area, to take in a local theyyam (highly recommended), or to just unwind with the breeze, sun, sand and quiet of the place.

Yes, there's a mosque next door and a few small fishing boats adjacent on the beach - you are part of that functioning neighbourhood. Meals are often the catch of the local fishermen, and the calls to prayer punctuate the day.

Very few negatives to mention. The beds are slightly uncomfortable, but otherwise the rooms are of a high local standard. The premium rooms have no A/C, cooled only by ceiling fans and the sea breeze - and that was ok for us even in the April heat.

Service is great - Ali and Nivedh seem to be able to make anything happen without fuss.

Fantastic experience, hard to leave! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are probably worth the extra cost - you have the beach at your doorstep, and can have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chera Rock Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chera Rock Beach House

Address: Opposite Chera Kalle, Kizhunna Para Bus Stop | Thottada, Kannur 670007, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chera rocks, the real lonely planet, a complete contrast from busy city life, has no sounds of modern world. I am sure, before you leave the place you will learn to identify different types of natures sounds and also to enjoy the healing effects of these sounds. You will be amazed to find a empty seashore with no sales person or masseur.....You and your gorgeous sea alone! You may be surprised to see the easy accessibility to road, railway and international airports while Chera Rocks remains as a lonely planet.....That's the way God has created it....Come and celebrate your holidays and make it unforgettable.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chera Rock Beach House Hotel Kannur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chera Rock Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.