We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Base for Venice tour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ducale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ducale to your Saves list
Hotel Ducale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Triestina, 5, 30030 Favaro Veneto, Mestre, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Favaro Veneto
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Base for Venice tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel location is perfect as a base for Venice tours. The neighbourhood is nice with cafes all around, two bus routes connects into Venice directly. The hotel is nice and renovated. However they use a regular double room as a quadrapole one by adding two beds into it whilst no room left for anything including suitcases. This was dissapointing and not comfy at all.
Breakfast was just OK. Free parking. Overall - we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    149
    74
    28
    12
See reviews for
73
132
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Like many other of the reviewers we were allocated a room either side of our cruise leaving/returning to Venice. Initially I thought that this was reasonable and centrally located for our stay and visit to Venice. Unfortunately it was the customer service that completely failed here and I was given no process for redress. We dropped our bags, after the final day of the cruise, at the hotel around 10:00 so that we could explore Venice. We returned around 17:00 and checked in. After seeing the room I found that I needed an extra pillow as there wasn't one in the wardrobe. I went down to reception and placed this simple request. The answer was 'I could have one at 8:30am the next day when the maid returned with the key'....... I explained that I required this to sleep and the next day and not having the key was not a valid excuse and please could they do something to fulfil my simple request. I even suggested that the spare rooms they had that they could simple either take one from those or look in their wardrobe to find one. I returned 2 hours later to reception to find that they still hadn't bothered and were unwilling to find me an extra pillow. I then asked to speak to the manager about this.. He came over, spoke in english saying I could have one in the morning and then decided to moan in Italian at me and proceeded to walk off.

I then asked the receptionist for a customer satisfaction form so that I could raise the complaint about this situation. She just gave me a blank piece of paper and said they didn't have any satifaction forms and I guessed that as my request wasn't taken seriously any complaint would be just placed in the bin. This is my only mechanism for highlighting this situation where both the late night receptionist and manager were unhelpful, biligerent. The receptionist even had the audacity to laugh at me while I complained.

Fortunately I was able to chat in the bar next door to the hotel with another guest who kindly provided me with the extra pillow he had in his wardrobe.

Room Tip: Ensure you have all the facilities for your room before noon as nothing extra will be provided until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monifieth
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Clean and tidy accomodation perfectly situated value for money accomodation within striking distance of Venice.

We stayed at this family run establishment for three days this month and were well looked after and no request to the staff was too much trouble, breakfast had a good selection and evening meals were again good value for money and food freshly prepared and very much italian home style, we had possibly the best lasagne we have ever had served to us anywhere in the world.

Rooms were a little basic but clean and comfortable with air con, good range of cafes and pubs in the near vicinity nut we used the hotel as a good value base whilst visiting Venice and the surrounding islands.

We would definately have no concerns about recommending this hotel and we wil return again one day when we return to enjoy the parts of Venice we did not find the time to explore this time around.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side of the hotel away from the busy south elevation road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were allocated a night here after a cruise before flying home the next day. A short cab ride from the port and less than 10 minutes from the airport. You can get a number 19 bus opposite and for 2 .5 Euros return fare get driven right to Venice centre by the canals.
Our room was not very big but the bed was comfortable and the linens nice and clean. Bathroom a good size, with plenty of towels and toiletries. Fully tiled and bright. Plenty of hot water and a good shower. TV with some English channels. Reception lady spoke good English, was very helpful and friendly. Not the most modern hotel we have stayed in but clean and comfy.
Previous reviews on Tripadvisor did not recommend having dinner there ( which was good advice from the comments made by other people staying there that night. Poor quality basic food ) We walked along the road to a local restaurant called Da Piero and had a wonderful 3 course meal. Excellent food, plenty of it, 1L of great local wine, and 1L bottled water for about 20 Euros each. They also do 70 different types of pizza ! Turn left out of the hotel main entrance, walk along and cross the road by the large supermarket, and its on the next corner. 5 minutes at most.
The breakfast in the hotel was very nice. Lots of cereals, breads, cakes, ham, cheese etc and unlimited tea, coffee and juices.
All in all a good base to visit Venice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is very handy for the airport and can be reached by bus from there. The bus to Venice is regular and takes around 15 minutes. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and speak very good English. The rooms are not huge but very clean and functional. The breakfasts offer a wide choice and were very good quality. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel pre and post cruise arranged via our travel agent. We arrived at 10pm from the airport. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room with ensuite was small but as we were only staying overnight it was adequate for our needs.
The breakfast was very good with plenty of rolls, croissants,cereals,pastries,fruit, yogurts, boiled eggs, cheese and ham. This is self service also the drinks are from a machine. There are staff to assist you if needed.
Transfers to the port or airport can be arranged by the hotel at a 15 euro cost for two persons. There is a very good bus service to the port of Venice and the airport if you want to save the cost of a transfer.
After the cruise we got a taxi to the hotel as we did not want to struggle with the cases on the bus but several people did this as the cost is only 1.30 euros for a 15 minute ride as opposed to 30 euro taxi.
Once again very friendly helpful staff. This time our room was larger. The rooms are clean but sparsely furnished ideal for an overnight stay.
You can get an evening meal served up to 9.pm which is all fresh and cooked to order. The lasagne was the best I have ever eaten.
They also have free Wi fi and a small bar area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotel apperance is deceptive. From the pictures it look stunning but upon arrival lobby and restaurant are lovely but the rooms are basic and a bit on the small side. There is a bus across the way which runs regularly to Venice and takes about 20 mins. Close to Venice and the airport.The surrounding town is not very friendly and their is a reluctance for the locals to speak English or even try and understand you, we found the language barrier very difficult with the locals but found the opposite of people actually in Venice who were very friendly and accommodating. The hotel staff were lovely and also went out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The meals are nice and reasonable in price. There is a tourist tax of a couple of euros each day- be aware of this before you go. You are not allowed food or drink in the room due to ants; though i only saw one ant the whole time i was there as the hotel is spotless. I recommend you buy a buss pass at Piazza del Roma for the duration of your trip as travel is expensive and 5 days costs 70 euros with their ticket, they are helpful and explain the best options, whereas the newsagents near the hotel is very unwilling to assist. There is not very much to do near the hotel, the town seems quite a poor area and i wouldn't recommend to families as there are very few restaurants, bars or activities for children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ducale

Address: Via Triestina, 5, 30030 Favaro Veneto, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre > Favaro Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Favaro Veneto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ducale 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ducale Easily join-able, the Hotel Ducale offers to clients arriving by car a free parking, and we suggest to take advantage of it for your whole stay!Cyclists and motorcyclists are welcome!Quiet comfortable is the bus n. 19 that takes you directly to Venice-Piazzale Roma, in only 20 minutes, and also the connections to Venice-Mestre Railway Station, and to Marco Polo Airport, thanks to a good public transportation service.A shuttle service is at disposal of clients from the Hotel to Marco Polo Airport, to Treviso-Canova Airport and to the Port of Venice. For any information or reservation please ask at the Reception.We are located only 5 km from the Venice Casino in Ca’ Noghera, the casino where you can enter also wearing jeans and snickers! To get the free entrance tickets please ask at the Reception.The Hotel Ducale offers modern services in a pleasant and family atmosphere that satisfy exigent tourists and businessmen in a comfortable and quiet ambiance.Infact, family Sartori is a good reference point in the area for Italian and foreign tourists, since 1950.The Ducale Hotel has been recently and completely renovated, in accordance with European safety standards (ISO 2000).It has 47 rooms all equipped with modern comfort as private bathroom with shower (some with bath-tube), self air-conditioning and heating, LCD satellite TV with SKY channels also in foreign languages, safe, telephone with direct outside line, hairdryer.The Hotel offers furthermore, 24h24 reception (our staff speaks English, French, German, Spanish and … Venetian dialect), a 24h24 bar, a rich buffet breakfast with sweet and salt dishes, opened from 7.00 to 10.00 (but you can have a coffee and a croissant also at 5.00, if you are leaving so early!), the Risto-Pizza (opened from 7.00 to 10.00 pm) - 1 day off per week), free WiFi connection, Internet Point with printer at disposal of clients, possibility to send/receive faxes, elevator, air-conditioning/heating in all rooms and common areas.To make your stay in Venice as pleasant as possible, we are also at disposal for suggestions regarding excursions to discover Venice, if you have never been there, to deepen the knowledge of the city, if you have already been there, or discover the surroundings (as the Venetian Villas, other cities, the beaches or the marvelous Dolomiti!). For any other information or need, please do not hesitate and contact us!To verify availability and rates visit our web-site and the “Special Offers” page, you could find promotions, then proceed with the booking in a quick and safe way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducale Hotel Venice
Hotel Ducale Province Of Venice, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ducale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.