We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a View !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Visperhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Visperhof to your Saves list
Hotel Visperhof
Bahnhofstrasse 2, Visp 3930, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Visp
vadodara
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a View !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had stayed in this hotel during my biz trip and was travelling with my friend and it is the only hotel in this city . We arrived late in the evening but it 2-3 min walk from the railway station. This hotel is located in the central , hence you do get good choice of food and drinks. It has free wi-fi facility.
They have good restaurant and good decent breakfast. The rooms are good . You must try different type of coffee in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Pl ask for the room not having balcony on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    32
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
10
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is basic but very clean and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. It is a good buisness hotel for Lonza and there are some good resteurants close by. Breakfast is on the 6th floor with good views.
BE WARNED!
If you take the train from Geneva to Viso be very careful with your luggage - it is apparently a well known line for opportunistic thieves!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

there is just no choice in Visp. its all pretty basic and pretty generic! Elite or Visperhof..
there is free wifi the restaurants are all next door, and Lonza - the big plant is across the train tracks..zermatt is up the hill - 90 mins away but saas fee is only 40 on the bus!
enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Last week i had a very nice stay at the Visperhof Hotel. It was conveniently located by the train station. We got a wonderful large hotel room complete with stove, refrig and amenities. This room was modern in style, had a glorious view of the mountains and great breakfast buffet included. The clerk at the front desk was vey helpful. Taking a bus to the Cafe Heida allows you to sample the locally produced wine in the highest mountain setting. Don't attempt to walk. It is 20 minutes by bus from the train station but a thrilling ride up the mountain. Thank you hotel Visperhof!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Again lodging in the Visper Hof. The rooms in the fifth floor are frsshly made, state of the art bath rooms, hard matress, free wifi, ear plugs, apples and bottle of water. Additionally, the front windows are eqipped with balcony with slide windows. Could be used to reduce the street noise or as weather shelter sitting outside.
The breaky room is relocated from 1 floor to 6 floor, meaning more space to move, to sit and to pick up the goods from the buffet.
And the big point, the breaky has alos a balcony for eating outside with fine weather !

The last times it was not bad, but it improved tremandously and I will stay there again !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stopped in Visp overnight on our way to Zermat the next day. This hotel is very basic, appears to be having some renovations, but is very clean- think a newer Super 8 with no air conditioning. The lack of air conditioning was an issue because it was extremely hot and humid with no breeze. Fortunately noise was not an issue that night and we left the balcony doors open. Because we arrived on a national holiday no shops were open and things were very quiet so we asked one of the restaurant staff for a suggestion as to where we could take a short drive. Her suggestion to visit Saas Fee turned out to be the best thing about our stop in Visp. Just a short drive away, this is a lovely little Swiss village with many good restaurants and hotels. It is a tourist area but much more interesting and scenic than Visp and that evening there was entertainment in celebration of the national holiday. Had we known this village was as close to Zermat as Visp we would have much preferred to stay in Saas Fee. We also felt that Saas Fee was much nicer than the crowded and extremely touristy Zermat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

In different circumstances I would probably have rated this hotel higher. However we were disappointed with our stay for the following reasons. I booked a business apartment which had a dining area, refrigerator and cooking facilities. When we arrived we were allocated a deluxe double room with none of these facilities. We reported this immediately and asked for the business apartment which was shown clearly on our booking confirmation. The reception staff treated us as if we had made the error and told us that there were no apartments available. The weather was very hot during our stay and there was no air conditioning in our room. Furthermore we looked out onto a major building project (complete with massive crane) and the railway station. Both produced significant noise during the day and at night making it very difficult to sleep - perhaps the provision of ear plugs were a clue to the experiences of previous guests! Apart from our initial encounter, the staff were pleasant and helpful. The room had recently been refurbished to a high standard and was very clean but the lack of air conditioning and refrigerator made it uncomfortable in the hot weather.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel may be quieter and certainly have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Visperhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Visperhof

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 2, Visp 3930, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Visp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Visp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Visperhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Visperhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.