We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation, food, service and treatments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Balneario Puente Viesgo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Balneario Puente Viesgo to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Balneario Puente Viesgo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Manuel Perez Mazo, s/n, 39670 Puente Viesgo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puente Viesgo
Marbella, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, food, service and treatments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We came here for a week 's stay, to relax, enjoy the massages and many other treatments, as well as the beautiful, idyllic countryside, where cows and goats look down at you from the hills above the paths.
The room was very good, not enormous but very acceptable and very clean, with a good sized flat screen TV. We were on half pension, the breakfasts were copious, and every single dish we had for dinner was superb, the chef is very good, the service friendly in a natural way, polite and efficient. The balneario offered great massages, thermal baths of all sorts and any other spa treatment imaginable. Most of the staff knew our names after the first day, a great sign of people who really care.

The Temple de Agua is an adjoining spa area with "circuits" including all sorts of water jets, hot and cold jacuzzi, three types of saunas, a very complete and modern installation, as the rest of the hotel and spa.

If I do not assign five stars it is because there is only one lift to the rooms and only one more to the spa area, involving a lot of waiting; the lighting in the nice dining room was far brighter than necessary, taking away any coziness; the receptionists/concierges were too often on the phone involving waits to talk with them and indicating a need for additional staff to handle the phone; and there was one unfriendly blond breakfast waitress ... But the rest of the staff, first class. The quality if the beds could have been better, but not bad.
We really enjoyed our break and will come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balneariopv, Director General at Gran Hotel Balneario Puente Viesgo, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,
En primer lugar le damos las gracias por sus comentarios positivos, especialmente los relativos al personal del hotel.
Tenemos en cuenta todos los comentarios y le agradecemos que los haya compartido con nosotros porque gracias a ellos podemos intentar mejorar para ofrecer un mejor servicio.
Esperamos poder atenderle en una futura visita.
Reciba un cordial saludo.
Atentamente,

Carlos Oti
Dirección
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    74
    29
    9
    9
See reviews for
24
121
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stopped at this Hotel as we needed a nights stay near Santander to catch the ferry the next day, Hotel is approx. 20 miles away from the port.
Easy to locate straight of the main road with lots of free parking in the Hotels car park

The Hotel is very well appointed and set in a very scenic village with some nice bars and Restaurants.
We didn't get chance to use the Hotels pool and fitness centres but they looked very nice and well equipped..
The rooms don't have aircon , but even in Mid August we found it cool enough with the windows open at night.

The Breakfast was very good and set us up for the whole day..

If you need a place near to Santander with good free parking and easy access this is the place

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Nice enough hotel as a stopover on the way down to Northern Spain. Yes the spa is expensive so make sure you have plenty of time to enjoy it. It was fun with another family but think I could easily have done the circuit in a couple of hours! We didn't have breakfast here or eat in the restaurant but did have a nice and not too expensive veggie sandwich in the cafeteria. The room was comfortable with a view of the hills behind. The staff were pleasant and we ate at a small restaurant near by. A pleasant enough stay! They said the spa and it's jacuzzi was for 12 yrs and up which we found a little ridiculous especially if you are charging the adult price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

the hotel is nicely located in one of Spain termal spots, but travelling with mmy family I experienced several problems that are not up tothe standard that the hotel claims to have, including the Iso 9001-2000 certification.
i had booked a triple room, but i was given a double on arival, with an extra bed put later on. the room was small amd had no conditions for theextra bed. they never brought towels or robe for the third guest. The water temperature of the shower is impossible to master, going from cold toboiling in seconds. there is just one electrical plug in the room, in the toilet. overall, not a nice experience.

Room Tip: be sure that you get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This spa hotel has a posh reputation, and it certainly caters to the pijos of Spain -- the department-store-clad upper middle class who enjoy cigars and pastel-colored suits and evenings of workmanlike renditions of "Fly Me to the Moon" in a faux-American living room/piano-bar.

Prices are high for a hotel that is worn round the edges.
We requested a quiet room, and were given one overlooking the rackety car park. There was no sign of air conditioning, so we had to keep the window open and hear all night the pijos´ shouted mobile-phone conversations from the sidewalk below.

The "Templo de Agua" is a nice modern spa, with some over-the-top details. Best part, IMHO, was the almost-hidden outdoor whirlpool. It is set among Japanese maple trees, and the addition of gently falling rain made it a real pleasure experience.

This would be a great introduction to "spa hotel living" for someone who has lots of money and has not done it before. But if you have used a real Spanish balniero, this is definitely lightweight, Disney-quality stuff.

Room Tip: Don´t let them put you next to the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantabria
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We went here for a spa circuit in their newish Templo del Agua, and we were really pleased. It was expensive, there's no doubt about that, 36 Euros per person (we weren't staying in the hotel), but the place has a reputation in the area as being rather posh (the Spanish football team come here once a year to relax), so we expected it. We didn't have to book in advance, although we rang before and they made a note that we were coming, and on arrival they were very helpful, gave us our robes, towels and swimming caps, and then we had a tour of the facilities, explaining the circuit. Bearing in mind we went on a bank holiday weekend, there were a lot of people, but not so many that it was uncomfortable or we were waiting to do any part of the circuit, which was nice. There is a circuit of the large pool, with lots of jets, currents, jacuzzis etc., and then a sauna circuit, with steam rooms, saunas, showers and a relax room. There highlight is the outdoor jacuzzi, which at night under the stars with the steam rising was very atmospheric! We did this as a one off, it was expensive, but we thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone wanting a special treat.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011 via mobile

We had no key to our room for 4 hours. if we wanted to get back in to our room we needed to wait at reception until the porter came to let us in. That,& the fact that after spending €140 for a modest double room we were expected to pay €60 for the two of us to enter the 'temple de agua' or the balneario was insulting. I have been to many spa hotels but have never been expected to pay extra for the basic entry to the pool. Of course one expects to pay for massage etc. Anyway I definitely think it's not worth it. Shame. The countryside and prehistoric caves are lovely.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Balneario Puente Viesgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Balneario Puente Viesgo

Address: C/Manuel Perez Mazo, s/n, 39670 Puente Viesgo, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Puente Viesgo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puente Viesgo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Balneario Puente Viesgo 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Balneario Puente Viesgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Balneario Puente Viesgo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.