We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arba Minch Tourist Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arba Minch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arba Minch Tourist Hotel
Main Street of the Lower City | Next to Ethiopian Airlines Office, Arba Minch, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Arba Minch
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We ate here a few times during my stay in Arba. The food is good, I especially like that they have the injera dish w/vegetables only (fasting food). I had not been able to locate this anywhere (paradise lodge, 40 springs, or the pink hotel) so this was a plus for me.
The staff is very hands off and what I mean by that is we had to physically wave him over whenever we needed something. I think part of that is the language barrier, perhaps he was just avoiding our table of "westerners" but again, nothing really sticks out about this place/service. Again, the food is safe and gentle on your stomach...very nice atmosphere...lots of wildlife hanging around to include cats :) and a small deer-like creature that really liked my table rolls!

A very good place to stop and eat here in Arba.
I think my experience shows that the better places to eat in this town are co-located in hotels:
-Paradise Lodge
-40
Springs
-Pink Hotel

So keep your eyes open for decent hotels, and you're bound to find good/safe food :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
5
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The food, both European and Ethiopian, was good value and the outside garden seating was wonderful, both for lunch and dinner.
Highly recommended as the best meeting place in town.
For hotel guests the rooms in the back are a bit noisy due to the bar with music at the back, but might be the best compromise when one has no own means of transport.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

A pleasant hotel with friendly and personable staff. Rooms are satisfactory bug can be noisy and are poorly finished. But if you want a reasonably priced hotel which is relatively clean and comfortable then this us a good central hotel to stay in. The juices are good and the food is palatable but lacks variety. Service is ok but can be variable. If you are travelling onwards to Omo then it is a sensible and relatively cheap option.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

i really only looked at the rooms and used the restaurant a few times, which was great. but do NOT expect wi fi to work..:)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Nice garden, free wifi, although it did not work.
The room is old, not proper matress, small and bad TV, bathroom passable.
I guess that could be the best hotel in town, but not for that reason should i make it better than it is

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arba Minch hotels

Addis Ababa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We didn't actually stay here but came one evening to use the WiFi and enjoy a few drinks in the courtyard. The atmosphere was cruisey and relaxing and in a green setting, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The power went out a couple of times while we were there.
On the other side of town is the Rift Valley Pension, where we stayed from two nights, Birr150 (after some negotiation) for a double room with ensuite with hot water, a TV and mosquito net. It was just down the road from Friendship Cafe and the office where you organise the hippo/crocodile boat tours.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. For the first 2 stayed near Reception area in a dingy but clean room. Water supply erratic and hot water heater had to be repeatedly fixed, so there is some planning to be done when determining when to take a shower. TV did not work and could not be fixed. All atempts at fixes were amateurish and poor quality. On next occasion stayed at back of hotel in a better newer room but we were kept awake much of the night by donkey braying from back of the hotel.
Central courtyard/cafe is a very pleasant shaded area with 2 pet dik-diks wondering about.
Food is varied and good, but the service is totally disorganised and slow+++, although waiters seem to be trying very hard to please. In the same vein, to get a second towel for a double room is difficult.
In summary: best available place which could do with some competition. Rooms are very basic but adequate and not too bad within the context of an Ethiopian country town. If you are visiting the south there is no choic but to stay in Arbaminch and in Arbaminch there is no choice but to stay here.

Room Tip: Stay behind the main dining room in the newere area, but not right at the back next to the donkeys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arba Minch Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arba Minch Tourist Hotel

Address: Main Street of the Lower City | Next to Ethiopian Airlines Office, Arba Minch, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Southern Nations, Nationalities, and People's Region > Arba Minch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Arba Minch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arba Minch Tourist Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Arba Minch Tourist Hotel to your Saves list