We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“But this is Africa!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arba Minch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Lodge
Save
You added Paradise Lodge to your Saves list
Secha area, Arba Minch, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arba Minch
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“But this is Africa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Anywhere else the standard would be down the scale but this is the Rift Valley in Africa.
Clean rooms, working bathrooms, reliable flush toilets, good food, beer and a view to die for both from the terrace and from our private patio. Oh and did I mention the swimming pool and free wifi?
Get real people, Africa is different, you can't expect the same standards as in Europe or the US. This place is just fabulous despite the idiosyncrasies.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    103
    23
    9
    9
See reviews for
21
55
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel for three nights early february with our family (including three young kids) and we really loved it. We loved the charming room, the swimming pool and especially the amazing view. The staff was on top of everything, professional and very friendly.
The only downside was possibly the kitchen, which was OK for Ethiopian standards but not really 'yummy'. We got a little tired of it after a few lunches and dinners.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethiopia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

no answer on our mails from Europe, we finally could got them by phone in Ethiopia, where they reserved for us a room.
Arriving at the reception the concerned day, the unkind reception people simply told us we were not on the list and there was no room.
Happily, we could find nice room in Highlight Resort with the same view and good food.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mafio M, Public Relations Manager at Paradise Lodge, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Attention to eenEthiopia,

We have seen your review written about our property Paradise Lodge Ethiopia.
We found out that what you have written on this review is suspicious so that we have reported to tripadvisor. There was no overbooking on the mentioned date. We kindly request you, please do not review about us for the service you havent. We do respect the reviews of our real clients but not any suspicious and unreal review. Same time we kindly inform this to tripadvisor that reviews written with eenEthiopia is unreal and please see the user profile.

Mesfin Mengistu Madebo
Paradise Lodge Ethiopia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I was told this lodge was very good but my stay here was pretty unpleasant.
To start with I booked and pre-paid a massage and when I turned up at the spa they told me they had another client and I had to go all the way back up to the reception desk to get my money back (I booked for 8pm and the guy booked for 7-8 turned up at 7.55 and they took him and turned me down....nice!). Then the staff at the restaurant completely ignored me for a good while since I was a solo traveller and they were busy with the big groups. I have to say that this happened to me a few times while in Ethiopia. The wifi connection only works at the reception and it was a hassle since my room was right at the other end and there was no wifi at the restaurant either. The food was ok but the room was terrible. My room, apart from tiny, was half of the thatch-roofed cabana. The wall between the two rooms was paper thin and you could hear every single noise coming from your neighbours, it was basically like sharing the room with strangers without seeing them. I had a very restless night. I was happy to leave the morning after!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

By far the best hotel in Arba Minch and I have stayed in 3 different ones in my two trips to Arba Minch. Although not excellent by European standards, the double rooms are nice, spacious and comfortable and clean.The single one is on a very small side though.
As in all Ehiopian hotels, maintenance could be better - leaking water pipes, water on the bathroom floor...
Good restaurant with a fabulous view!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

If only the hotel really resembled the photos! True, this hotel has a wonderful view, being situated in between the 2 lakes of Chamo and Abaya and with a view over both. The sun rise behind the mountain directly opposite the lodge is worth getting up for, and most tukuls (rooms) have a patio seating area with this magnificent view. The restaurant terrace also enjoys this view.

The restaurant is ok - they like you to have the buffet but will serve a la carte if you request it. The salads were great, good variety of drinks, excellent waiter (although getting your bill can take time). They make the pizza's with BBQ sauce instead of tomato sauce though, strange and not entirely nice! Breakfast buffet is average, I would like if more fruit was provided than only banana's, as fruit is plentiful in the area (mango, papaya etc). Swimming pool is clean and large but FREEZING cold!!

The rooms are ok - try to book a tukul with a view, as there are some ordinary rooms further back in the garden and frankly without the view it's not worth staying here. The twin rooms are large and spacious, and the beds big enough that the 2 of us could fit in one. Mosquito net doesn't really fit the bed though. The double tukuls are not great, the bed is small (very short) and much smaller. Bathrooms are not great, water pressure is a bit poor and you need to turn the water heater on long before you want hot water.

My main complaint would be that in the 2 different bedrooms we stayed in there were lots of mosquito's. We didn't really encounter mosquito's inside the room in any other hotels, but here there were loads. We used the spray they provided and repellent coils (incense) we had brought ourselves.

Room Tip: Choose a twin tukul, with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I did a solo tour in Ethiopia and stayed every night in a different hotel. Everything was organized by tour operator Abeba Tours Ethiopia and everything was perfect. I would say this is the best hotel in Arba Minch but there is room for improvement. Bathroom was nice but not as good as in other hotels I stayed in Ethiopia. The mosquito net was smelly. Not many lights outside when walking in the dark. Very big area, and it can be quite a walk from the room to the restaurant - especially in rain. The restaurant breakfast was good with an amazing view overlooking the valley and two lakes. You can sit inside or outside. Very quiet and peaceful. I can recommend it and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Lodge

Address: Secha area, Arba Minch, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Southern Nations, Nationalities, and People's Region > Arba Minch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arba Minch
Number of rooms: 50

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.