We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The highlight of our trip to the South Island "” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Awaroa Lodge

Save Saved
You added Peppers Awaroa Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Awaroa Bay | P.O Box 422, Abel Tasman National Park 7143, New Zealand (Formerly Awaroa Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"The highlight of our trip to the South Island "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This lovely property in Abel Tasman National Park had beautiful views in the wetlands surrounded by a rainforest,wonderful food and an accommodating staff. A peaceful spot to relax and enjoy the the best of New Zealand. It was one of the highlights of our month's visit to this great country.

Room Tip: We loved our room....21, one of their newer rooms. Beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    33
    21
    30
    16
See reviews for
29
83
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We recently spent two nights here and loved every minute of it, from eels, glow worms, hiking, seals and amazing people it was a wonderful get away from it all experience. No TV's LOVED that. The staff were extraordinarily friendly and loved their jobs. Food was fantastic.. Would highly recommend especially if you like walking adventures etc. Easily accessible by water taxi or a shuttle type service. Lots of hikers from all over the world so you get to meet great people as well.

Room Tip: we had a family room but if privacy is an issue you may want a superior room as the other beds in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Three nights at the end of the season but during the best summer NZ has had in my memory - the lodge was almost empty and the staff were relaxed so extremely helpful and friendly. The superior room was clean and comfortable, a lovely little balcony overlooking the wetlands. The food was excellent though probably a bit rich - quite a lot of butter and cream. Good value, given the location (only air and sea access). The staff were delightful, and we felt most welcome here. Thanks to Ashley, Sandra, Hannah, Leonard and another chap we didn't get the name of! The beaches around here are exceptionally picturesque and the water was warm enough for comfortable swimming. It was like staying in the South Pacific but a short flight from home only.

Room Tip: go in late Feb/March when the crowds have subsided but the weather is still good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My parents-in-law-to-be suggested we check out this venue for a weekend as a possible wedding venue. I had some girlfriends who said it was stunning and lovely and also recommended it.

It must have gone down hill since they stayed there as it was very disappointing! Here was our experience:

- stains on bedsheets
- unclear what is complimentary in the room and what is extra
- reception closed at 7pm, no help available after this
- a hair in my partner’s pasta at lunch
- a piece of plastic in my ice cream at dinner
- blackened and burnt bacon for breakfast, sent back, and then charged for the replacement bacon! (Which we could not eat either.)

As it markets itself as an eco-lodge, it was also disappointing to see a diesel-run electrical generator, and those annoying automatic fly sprays in the bedroom that spurt chemicals out every 7 minutes.

The staff were young, friendly and nice, but not trained in the 5-star gourmet service supposedly on offer. There was no manager or leadership in sight, so they were just doing their best. Unpolished is one word that comes to mind.

When I told the receptionist the next morning about our stay he immediately deducted last night’s dinner from the overall bill, saving us $191. This was appreciated, and, we still spent a total of $1055 for three of us to stay one night, including the water taxi.

Needless to say we won’t be getting hitched there, or going back any time soon. I hope they can sort the management and marketing out (is it an eco-lodge, a backpackers, or a 5-star hotel?!) as it’s such a stunning spot it could be wonderful.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is basically a good hotel, but greatly overpriced for what it delivers.
The room was large and well equiped.
The restaurant dinner was very good and fairly priced.
Breakfast service was poor and buffet was uninspiring.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Clearly there are additional costs of operating a hotel in this isolated location, but they are certainly capitalising on their unique position. There does not really appear to be any real alternative at this point on the Abel Tasman track, other than the DOC hut or camping! A shame.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The rooms were very good and the park is beautiful but we were a captive audience and every advantage was taken ..we were charged for Internet and breakfast which I believe should have been included in the price if the lodge..the breakfast was average with an average cold buffet and some cooked choices that were ok but not great. the dinners were the same 4 choices for the three nights we were there and were expensive., and just ok, except for the Peking duck appetiser which was very good. .there was a separate $15 charge for bread. The young people on the staff were lovely and hard working but were not trained and some barely spoke English. The lodge seemed to be understaffed.We were not offered any guided options and explored the trails on our own. The beach is gorgeous and of course the coastal walk is beautiful. I think there is much Peppers could do to improve this property and would love to see them do that. We had heard great things about the Awaroa Lodge and were sadly disappointed.

Room Tip: I think the rooms # 15 -25 seemed to all be the same and were lovely..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

big thanks for the wonderful feast that you served for my friend's 40th birthday last monday!
it was a wonderful day out from Totaranui and our campsite. The chef made us some special dishes of mussels which they gathered for us on special request, what a treat!!
especially loved the basil chilli vodka cocktail............yummy!!

the short walk from the watertaxi shuttle arriving at the beach to the resort is a great way to soothe into the bush and listen to the birdlife!

in particular catering for a large group at short notice was great and giving us the private room in the conservatory was wonderful!

thanks for a wonderful service and special attention

Room Tip: we were shown the rooms and you would definitely need to stay in a superior room as the outlook is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peppers Awaroa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Awaroa Lodge

Address: 11 Awaroa Bay | P.O Box 422, Abel Tasman National Park 7143, New Zealand (Formerly Awaroa Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Abel Tasman National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Peppers Awaroa Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are uniquely located in Abel Tasman National Park with no road access, no mobile phones and no TV. We are a true wilderness type Eco lodge. Travel is by water taxi, hiking or fly in. With direct access to pristine white sand beaches. A combination of incredible wildlife, fantastic hiking and kayaking, warm friendly service, great local food and drink and a restful nights' sleep! Welcome to our slice of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Awaroa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awaroa Hotel Abel Tasman National Park
Awaroa Hotel Nelson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Awaroa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.