We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not as wonderful as it was” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Awaroa Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Awaroa Lodge to your Saves list
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Awaroa Bay | P.O Box 422, Abel Tasman National Park 7143, New Zealand (Formerly Awaroa Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It is not as wonderful as it was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Like many I was back after having had such a terrific time here about 4 years ago. We were disappointed. The service was sufficiently friendly but insufficient in terms of competence and conveying a sense of welcome and being attuned to client's needs. We were billed for things we did not consume, most of the wine by the glass was unavailable (as the lodge was soon to be closing down for Winter -- but people its $300 a night or so!); and many of the bottles of wine were not available all. Unsurprisingly we were pressed by the staff to drink beer! I also found the room to be a bit cold at this time of year.

On the bright side we found the food, although highly priced, to be excellent. And of course its the most spectacular setting and the lodge itself is a beautiful design. I hope that it get backs the wonderful vibe it had a few years ago.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    47
    26
    34
    19
See reviews for
31
102
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

We cannot fault our stay at the Awaroa Lodge in any way. We found the accommodation to be comfortable, the staff to be helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was excellent I do not have any allergies but am really fussy and everything I asked for I was given. The breakfast was plentiful, the evening meal of a high standard and cooked to perfection, this is a huge compliment for someone as fussy as me!

Despite comments from other people that meals are expensive you have to bear in mind the location of the hotel it is very remote and all food has to be brought in especially so you have to expect to pay higher than in other locations but the size of the meal makes up for this.

Our stay there was restful, it was great to be away from mobile, phones, televisions and cars rushing everywhere. There are many wonderful walks you can go on and a beach that is visited by birds and seashells not hordes of people!

We will return here without a doubt in 2013 when we to New Zealand again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

It's a beautiful lodge in a pristine natural setting - unfortunately, management is only interested in gouging customers. I pre-booked a group and was given a fixed-price dinner that cost more than if I ordered off the menu on my own. If you are going to upsell everyone to a fixed price menu (especially for a large group) - it shouldn't cost more than menu. This was just one of the poor service related experiences I've had there. In trying to discuss with management - all I got was a drunk who told me to take it or leave it. Well, I'm leaving it and the next time I decide to bring a large group of people to New Zealand - there is no way I will be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awaroagm, Manager at Peppers Awaroa Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
As GM I personally handled this complaint at the time and ordered the restaurant manager to deduct $5 from all group diners. The group desert chosen brought their bill to $2 under the quoted price, however the a la carte menu allowed them to order whatever they desired from the menu and could easily have been much more than the price quoted. At the time I spoke to members of this group, most commented to me that they had enjoyed every minute of our wonderful lodge. It only takes one moaner to ruin it for everyone else. By the way I am the drunk and my philosophy is that the guest is always, but always right. Even if he isn't.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

This is undoubtedly the most stunning location and the lodge itself is beautiful; the rooms are excellent. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded, which was a bonus BUT it is expensive. It's come a long way from the rough chalets and not necessarily to a better place. Food was good but veering on the pretentious - frankly the meal was better without the sauces. The cafe was not open during our stay and I missed the opportunity to eat with less formality. I felt that they were aiming at a high price customer and the eco tag was more a selling point than a real commitment. The piped music in the public areas was vile - real aural pollution. I was told that if there was none, people complained but I cannot believe anyone goes to Awaroa to hear elevator music. The birds and the breeze are enchanting enough. I would love to return but probably not to the Lodge in its present state.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

I was browsing trip advisor and surprisingly came across a negative review of Awaroa Lodge at Abel Tasman Park, New Zealand.
First of all I would like to mention that I have worked consulting for the travel industry for many years. My wife and I (originally from Germany) stayed at Awaroa Lodge last year in November 2010 to de-stress and relax.
We had one of the best times for a number of reasons: The location is superb and secluded. The accommodation is excellent and we had a nice cleaned room. The hosts and staff were very service oriented and we are in the middle of "eine wunderbare Wilderness" and still enjoyed a proper 4-star establishment. We especially enjoyed the white beach with hardly anyone on it and the coastal hiking that is easy going yet breathtaking in places.
The staff made us very welcome and the new conservatory dining overlooking the pukeka hens marshland was exceptional.
I agree it is a bit expensive but that is due to the high infrastructure costs, as they use a generator to provide electricity as well as having to comply with the council's strict rules on rubbish Removal. I noticed that they are a benchmark property with Earthcheck and this is not easily achieved. We believe we received value for money and we would stay at Awaroa again.
For all of those who want to get away from it all in order to fully relax and re-charge the batteries, my wife and I can only recommend this unique and amazing place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

For the price of $395/night for a standard room we came with expectations to match. Unfortunately the product was very inferior: our room was small and lacked the decor one would expect of a first class resort. The wood table and chairs on our porch were stained & dirty; the buildings (main lodge and cottages) may have been okay when first constructed but now appear tired and worn. The grounds appear the same - the walkways require daily care (raking up dead leaves/wood, raking sand paths) however they were messy.

The dining: all meals are charged on top of the $395 (even an apple). They are barely okay, but not great - they should be exceptional!

The resort personnel: the manager skulks around the place barking orders to the staff - never once greeted us upon our arrival or looked like we were even welcome there. The staff are young and inexperienced foreign help - lovely people, although unfortunately are often unable to make themselves understood and unable to answer the simplest of questions.

The whole idea of the place being 'eco friendly/sustainable' works against them. I overheard a guest asking if the fridge in their room would be on during the night when the rest of the power is cut off (!) because she had medication that needed to be kept cool - the answer was very confusing but amounted to "NO".

There were kind staff members (MIke and Shirley) but that isn't enough to warrant us ever going back. The beach is fabulous, but it would be smarter to take a water taxi from Kaiteriteri for a day trip - and much cheaper.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

We recently brought a group of 14 people with very discerning tastes to Awaroa Lodge for two nights. We found the service and hospitality as good as we’ve ever experienced in a wilderness lodge setting. We were at Awaroa with two different groups of 14 in November 2008. There’s no comparison with regard to service, hospitality, eco-consciousness and general comfort! The new owner and staff obviously know what they’re doing. We’d go back in a moment and will continue to use the lodge as a part of our New Zealand offerings.

Pam and Bill Bryan, Co-Founders, Off the Beaten Path.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Awaroa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Awaroa Lodge

Address: 11 Awaroa Bay | P.O Box 422, Abel Tasman National Park 7143, New Zealand (Formerly Awaroa Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Abel Tasman National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abel Tasman National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Peppers Awaroa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Awaroa Lodge strikes the perfect balance of natural comfort and contemporary style high above Awaroa Bay. Just minutes from the Abel Tasman Coastal Track, the lodge offers a remote and spectacular coastline with magnificent scenery, wildlife and native terrain in pristine condition. The lodge 's 26 rooms consist of standard, superior and family suites featuring an ensuite, bar fridge and tea and coffee making facilities, with views of picturesque wetlands and native forest. All guests are encouraged to appreciate appreciate the natural surroundings and respect our eco friendly philosophy. We make this a little easier without the distractions of modern day life - no mobile phone coverage or in-room televisions make this the perfect place to totally get away. Enjoy the lodge's facilities including a cosy fireplace in the library, WiFi internet access and an organic garden, where our onsite restaurant and cafe source the freshest ingredients. Let our team at the activity desk arrange your guided tours. Explore the natural surroundings by tramping or sea kayaking or just laze on the golden sandy beaches of Awaroa Bay. Accessible by water taxi, helicopter or by foot, Peppers Awaroa Lodge is the ultimate secluded getaway. The eco chic lodge is perfect for a romantic escape, family holiday or unique group experience. Surrounded by native bush and minutes from the well-known Abel Tasman Coastal Track, there is no direct road access. The lodge is only accessible by foot, sea kayak, water taxi or air. As there is no road access to Peppers Awaroa Lodge, organising the journey to the lodge is an important part of your stay. Contact the property directly for assistance with your transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Awaroa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awaroa Hotel Abel Tasman National Park
Awaroa Hotel Nelson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Awaroa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.