We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seemed good but we abandoned the trip due to bad weather and walked back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abel Tasman Tours & Guided Walks

Abel Tasman Tours & Guided Walks
Stilwells Bay, Abel Tasman National Park 7198, New Zealand
03 528 9602
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our guided walks take you to our 'kiwi' bach built in the early 1900s by a farmer attempting to run sheep along the rocky granite coastline of what is today the renowned Abel Tasman National Park. Old but brimming with history, visitors hear the tales of whale strandings and local stories while enjoying a lunch stop in one of the most beautiful bays of the Abel Tasman National Park.
Southern England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Seemed good but we abandoned the trip due to bad weather and walked back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

W e booked a walking and water taxi trip which looked good. The trip out was really choppy and they said they were not sure if they would be able to pick us back up at the allotted point - in the end we decided to walk back which was great - thankfully they refunded part of the trip when we returned.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiMaree, Owner at Abel Tasman Tours & Guided Walks, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
I appreciate all reviews and feedback however, as people are finding your review helpful I must state that your trip must have been with another operator as it was not with us. We do accommmodation and guided walks and our guides must leave the Abel Tasman with all clients and this is checked at exit points by management. We also have no knowledge of your refund.

It sounds like this was one of the water taxi operators. The Abel Tasman National Park, as with other great walks, is sometimes subject to adverse weather conditions. These can impact on water taxi schedules.

I am pleased you got a partial refund and hopefully you may return one day when the Abel Tasman is bathed in the sunshine and calm waters that it is renowned for.

Maree Owner/operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic adventure we had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed with Maree and Ken at their Riwaka Retreat on the South Island of New Zealand. Their self contained accomodations and the guided walk we took with Ken were fantastic and one of the highlights of our week on the South Island. The 12K (8 mile) all day hike we took through the southern most part of the Abel Tasman National Park was most enjoyable and having a native Kiwi guide made it all the better. We ate lunch at their beach bach (house) on lovely Stillwell Bay, which was about the half way point in our hike. I swam in the bay after lunch to cool off and refresh, what a treat that was! We would highly recommend Maree and Ken's guided walk and their Riwaka Retreat!!!

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiMaree, Owner at Abel Tasman Tours & Guided Walks, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Kia Ora Gwen and Steve we are so pleased you enjoyed our accommodation and guided walk - Ken also had a great day with you. It is people like you that make this job worthwhile.
Thank you for referring the young couple to Riwaka Retreat when you were staying in the Sounds and for taking the time to review us. It is all appreciated. Call and say hello if you are ever back this way. Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic stay fantastic walks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

We syayed in the Riwaka Ritz,slept like logs.Lovely peaceful setting,tranquil in the extreme.Plenty of tucker in Motuaka if take away or restraunt is your scene.Great walk with Ken Cook,plenty to see and lots of local knowledge,plenty of acompanied walks of various lenghts,one way or circular,even a boat ride home.The Batch is somthing special,a bit of N Z history.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiMaree, Owner at Abel Tasman Tours & Guided Walks, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your guided walk to our 'Kiwi' bach. We agree that it is a classic example of New Zealand history that is fast disappearing. Thank you for taking the time to review Abel Tasman Tours & Guided Walks - and also as a British fisherman, for reslinging my fishing net. What an absolute bonus and so much appreciated. Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park,KS
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 205 cities Reviews in 205 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
“Great Guided Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

If you want to spend the day with a guide hiking and boating around ABel Tasman, look no further. We did the 2 hour hike and then took a water taxi up further in the park. We did some more hiking, and then took the taxi back to the starting point. Fabulous day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abel Tasman Tours & Guided Walks also viewed

Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Abel Tasman Tours & Guided Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abel Tasman Tours & Guided Walks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.