We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems to be about the food?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rufford Arms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rufford Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rufford Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Liverpool Road | Nr Ormskirk, Rufford L40 1SQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rufford
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Seems to be about the food?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I didn't eat here in the evening, so the "excellent" reviews may relate to the food, which is perhaps the main focus. The room was a bit tired, awkward licks, view of scruffy side passage, woodwork chipped and tired wallpaper and beige hairy acrylic carpet... Yum!?

Staff pleasant enough, plumbing and road noise- plus other guests snoring in adjacent rooms- a but intrusive. Breakfast us eight quid, Nd adequate. A while since I've had boiled mushrooms, and it'll be a while before I have them again!

Overall, it'd do... But not a great place. Maybe fine to flop in after a meal.. But only if its not by the man who boils the mushrooms!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suelockwood, Owner at Rufford Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your feed back not quite sure what you mean by "awkward licks, view of scruffy side passage" The restaurant was refurbished last year & this year we have just started on redecoration etc of the hotel & reception areas.
Regards breakfast - I am sorry you did not feel it value for money & the mushrooms were not cooked to your liking, however in comparison to other establishments in this area the breakfast is realistically priced . Tea/coffee, orange juice, cereal, freshly cooked full English breakfast & toast for £7.99 I feel is reasonable.
None the less thank you for your opinion. Your comments are duely noted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    16
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
41
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LIVERPOOL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Another fantastic visit to this excellent hotel this time for my birthday a treat from my wife, we did the love package which is a one night stay with Dinner bed and breakfast this visit beat previous visits as it was a cabaret evening in the restaurant with a fantastic soul and Motown evening staring Sarah Bayliss she was amazing and played to a full house for quite some time, the service and food quality at this hotel is second to none and I would whole heartedly recommend it to all.
I feel a mention to just two members of staff is justified Amanda and Marco along with all of the team made it a night to remember these guys are a credit to the hotel.

John & Yvonne

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suelockwood, Owner at Rufford Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. I was away during your visit, so it was nice to hear that you were well looked after by my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormskirk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A smart member of staff ushered us to our table taking our coats and welcoming us. After being served drinks we chose 2 of our courses, the first arriving after a reasonable interval. I chose mushrooms and asparagus rolled in a pancake and my husband chose a fish cake both with a salad. The main course was a steak for me and lamb for my husband. An assortment of delicious vegetables were served from a dish. For dessert we shared a plate of a variety of dishes. Coffee with a mint completed the meal. We felt we had enjoyed the best meal we had tasted for a very long time and truly compliments the 38yrs we have spent together !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Rufford Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm glad you had an enjoyable visit!
I will be passing your comments on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We met here for a family lunch (9 of us). The restaurant doesn't have a lot of atmosphere but the food and the service more than made up for this. Our meals all arrived together without much delay, beautifully presented and all tasted delicious. Some of us then stayed on overnight. Our double room was clean but quite small (only one chair) and there are no public rooms apart from the bar (no seats) which is within the restaurant so, although the staff were happy for us to sit and chat at a spare table, it wasn't ideal as a place to relax. The reception is also quite bare, cold and unwelcoming (the area not the staff who try hard and are friendly). The hotel could really do with a makeover - not easy in the present economic climate - but would make a big difference especially to the overnight accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Rufford Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind and constructive review. It's good to hear you enjoyed your visit!

We will certainly take your views in to consideration; especially with regard to the reception area which is due to receive a slight face-lift in a couple of months time.

We look forward to welcoming your party again in the future.

Kind regards,

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just stayed one night at this lovely little hotel. The room was clean,warm and welcoming. We had an evening meal, they were still doing valentines meals, no complaints, food was great. In the morning we had full English breakfast which was cooked fresh, with toast, orange juice, tea,coffee and cereals. Had read reviews on this hotel (which was why I booked it) and was not disappointed. Close to Martin Mere nature reserve and Formby Point (great for seeing Red squirrels) .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Rufford Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. I'm glad your visit was an enjoyable one!
I shall be passing your comments on to the team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our first visit, from the moment we arrived the service was second to non, attention to detail, attentive but not intrusive, food was out of this world, have booked for Mother's Day can't wait thanks guys keep up the good work.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Rufford Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. I'm glad you had an enjoyable visit!

We look forward to seeing you on Mother's Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner with the Rotary club. Food and service excellent. I had pork loin, Madam had chicken both of which were fresh and perfectly cooked. This restaurant has been consistently good for some years and is among the best in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Rufford Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. So good to hear you had an enjoyable visit!
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rufford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufford Arms Hotel

Address: 380 Liverpool Road | Nr Ormskirk, Rufford L40 1SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Rufford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rufford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rufford Arms Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Rufford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rufford Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.