We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to go again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pack Horse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Pack Horse to your Saves list
The Pack Horse
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   1 Plymouth Road, South Brent TQ10 9BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 South Brent B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Want to go again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our first stay at a pub/BB and it was fantastic - if all are like the Pack Horse and its owners and staff we will never use a hotel again! Clean bright rooms, superb choice of food for all tastes and all fresh and at a resonable price. Great beer!

Freindly locals, who make you feel very welcome in their beautiful village.

Great base for exploring.

For a relaxing family break or a romantic get away go for it

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    25
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
63
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Typical old English pub with beautiful accommodation, luxury toiletries, fantastic cooked breakfast consisting of good choice of cereals,English strawberries,toast and marmalade/jam,need I say more? Would definitely stay there again to be spoiled the way we were by Linda,Ken and their welcoming staff.Amazing value for money in a very atmospheric 14th c.inn.
Our stay while in S.Brent for a family wedding was fab, even if we didn't get the gist of HOY!
Thank you all.
On a down note, I'm unsure which Pack Horse 'Manymias' and their negative comments stayed in cos it certainly wasn't the one we stopped at.
.

Room Tip: Any of the comfortable individual rooms would be good choice but the four poster DID take the biscui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have just stayed at the Packhorse Inn while in South Brent for the wedding of freinds,
We were greeted with a welcoming cup of tea.
Our room was very clean and comfortable, nicely decorated and fully equiped with everything you would expect and more. Toiletries were really good quality.
Breakfast was top dollar, whatever you wanted and very nicely cooked and presented. We even had fresh strawberries!!
Can't praise our hosts enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed every minute.
The rooms are of an exceptionally high standard with lovely decor and personal touches that really stand out from other places we've stayed in.
I found the hosts to be very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. They went out of their way to rustle up a midnight snack for us when the kitchen was closed.
I couldn't fault the food at all and the tea room was perfect. Very quaint and traditional.
The bar has an old fashioned and traditional feel to it, which was lovely. The locals were very friendly and the staff were all very pleasant.
The gardens are beautiful and perfect on a hot sunny day with a nice cold pint.
Overall I am very impressed and I would definatley stay again and highly recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

dated bar decor and dirty tables with peeling varnish so although the bedroom was nicely decorated it is let down by the Very poor attitude and rudeness from manager when we commented on service which is something I rarely do Definitely Customer is always wrong attitude The food was average It's very much a loud raucous locals bar as in Rovers return kind of a way Tatty little coffee room with cheap plastic table cloths and staff talking about unpleasant personal issues in front of us Not the Devon country pub ambience we were seeking Really disappointed after reading these reviews And having had a marvellous time at the masons arms near Cirencester as a result of trip advisor reviews were looking forward to a similar experience

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter45Devon, Owner at The Pack Horse, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
I I’m sure that you are aware that there are two sides to this review.
Sadly this review is in retaliation for us having to mention the damage that was done in the bedroom for the two nights that you were booked in with us.
We feel that the damage done could have been avoided if you had shown a little more respect to other people’s property. We hoped that you would have mentioned it yourselves after the first night. But could not ignore the damage as the cost to us was more than your two night stay.
This was politely mentioned on your departure one to one and wasn’t expecting the Tasmanian She Devil to appear!
We don’t feel the need to defend ourselves on anything else that was brought up on your review as it is unjust and slanderous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed for a friends wedding in the area and couldn't have asked for more from the accommodation, the downstairs of the pub was a little bit tired and in need of a facelift (July 10) could well have been done by now, but the food was excellent and so was the hospitality. I do have some pictures of the room that I will add, we stayed here for 2 nights and then 1 night at the wedding venue, and considerng the wedding venue hotel was twice the price it was without a doubt half of the quality of the Packhorse. We are from east Yorkshire so it's a little far to pop for a quick weekend away, but if ever we are back down in the area we will stay at the Packhorse without question.Thank you for a memorable stay !

Room Tip: We upgraded our room(an extra £5 i think)and it was large and airy at the back of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

A homely pub with high gradings from various organisations and accommodation much better than typical for such.
The Pack Horse exceeded our expectations of Pub B&B in comfort, décor and cleanliness of the rooms. This is def not a spare room above a pub, it was obvious a great effort has been made to provide quality rooms that people would want to return to.

The owners were very welcoming and volunteered info about the area to suit our needs. We were visiting friends nearby but we also took opportunity for moorland and coastal walks.

The pub was friendly and managed to a good standard of well behaved ordinary people from the village, no swearing, no late night rowdiness, just good people. A social centre for the village with card nights, music nights, serving real ale and good food.

We would def chose this place again when next in South Devon

Room Tip: There are options of; 4-poster room, double or twin rooms all to high standard in a old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pack Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pack Horse

Address: 1 Plymouth Road, South Brent TQ10 9BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Brent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in South Brent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pack Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Pack Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pack Horse South Brent, Devon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pack Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.