We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Christmas meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glazebrook House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Glazebrook House Hotel to your Saves list
Glazebrook House Hotel
A38 Glazebrook, South Brent TQ10 9JE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 South Brent B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Christmas meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Joined a large party having a Christmas meal at the Glazebrook. Found the hotel easily, welcomed into the bar for a pre-dinner drink. Unfortunately not told some of our party were in another room, but we did find them. Explored the beautiful rooms and their eclectic mix of striking decor. Meal very nice, good well known local chefs in the kitchen, some tweaking to dishes required but over all a good experience. Wine was beautiful. A better quality cracker would have been a nice touch. The owner was there to chat to us all which was a lovely touch. The building has had a dramatic makeover and is well worth a visit for a meal.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment you arrive at Glazebrook House you are met with a level of opulence not seen at other hotels. The decor is amazing, done in a quirky Alice in wonderland theme, the walls are adorned in Drums, trumpets, plates, trays, around every corner you discover something new, another surprise.
Pieter, Fran, Gita and Chloe are the perfect hosts, nothing is to much trouble, you are always met with a friendly smile and a chat and they go out of there way to make you feel at home.

Our suite was the extremely lavish and luxurious White Rabbit suite ( highly recommended ), the centrepiece a huge bed , chandeliers for bed side lights, a large Sony interactive tv and i-pad for entertainment including net fix, complementary mini bar that included soft drinks, wine and larger.

The bath room was enormous with double sinks, roll top bath, walk in shower, luxury toiletries.
Views from all the windows are off the beautiful Devon countryside the location of the hotel is perfect to relax and unwind.

Plymouth is only 20 minutes away, the same for Totnes, the location is ideal to vist everything Devon has to offer.

Glazebrook House is the new gem on the Devon boutique hotel scene pure luxury, Don't hesitate just book it you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: White Rabbit suite for a special treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for a night for my husbands 40th birthday, which was recommended to us by the owners of The Treby Arms.
Absolutely stunning hotel, which is fun and quirky.
Great food, very friendly staff. Faultless in every way.
We will definitely be back very soon.
Thank you to everyone at Glazebrook House hotel for making our stay so perfect.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having been to Glazebrook many times in the past (as it used to be on our doorstep) and witnessed its slow demise into obscurity, thanks entirely to owners with no hotel business acumen, the change brought about by the new owners, Pieter and Fran, is simply staggering. Everything about the new Glazebrook is stunningly superb.

This hotel is now seriously going places. Just watch as the professional accolades pour in.

Devon has needed this hotel and it will be an even better County for it.

Having recently stayed at The Combe House Hotel, Gittisham, near Honiton, which many reviewers describe as total luxury, I would say come to the Glazebrook if you wish to experience true luxury. There is absolutely no comparison especially when it comes to the bedrooms.

Cannot wait to rebook.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed at ever. Nothing is too much trouble for Peter and his staff. The decor is fabulous. Slightly quirky but also tastefully done. Add to this an excellent restaurant and cuisine and you have perfection. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you're looking for a luxury retreat. To celebrate a birthday, anniversary, wedding or even just a treat for yourselfs then I'd strongly recommended this place. Delicious food and enough wine/whisky variety to please a king! The bedrooms have enough class to hypnotise you in to thinking you've fallen down Alice's rabbit hole! The hotel holds a magical Alice in Wonderland theme. It's pleasing to see events take place here, even more of an excuse to keep re-visiting! Plus it's 2 minutes off the A38. Very easy to reach!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for my fathers wedding in August and had the most amazing time. I have stayed in a fair few boutique hotels but this is special and by far the best we have stayed in.
Pieter and his design team have worked really hard to create their vision. I will not spoil it for those who are yet to stay but to say it is spectacular is an understatement.
We stayed in the Cheshire Cat room which was so luxurious.
The food was delicious. All locally sourced produce and the chef really did create some wonderful dishes. The bar was well stocked with a brilliant selection of both alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks.
Pieter and his team made us feel so welcome and we will most definitely be going back in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms are spectacular! However the cheshire cat room is super special
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glazebrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glazebrook House Hotel

Address: A38 Glazebrook, South Brent TQ10 9JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Brent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in South Brent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Glazebrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glazebrook House Hotel South Brent, Devon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glazebrook House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.