We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 days in Seaton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Tree House

Save Saved
You added Bay Tree House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Tree House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Seafield Road, Seaton EX12 2QS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Seaton B&B and Inns
Tenbury, null, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“2 days in Seaton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I spent 2 nights at The Bay Tree and it was a very comfortable visit. The room was tasteful andspotlessly clean and the bed was exceedingly comfy. There was everything I needed and I slept well, it was very quiet indeed.
The breakfast was excellent and although I am a veggie I had sufficient choice and I gathered from the other guests that the sausages and bacon were very good indeed.
I would definitely recommend this guesthouse to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Owner at Bay Tree House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear SueG, thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had a "very comfortable visit" with everything you needed. It is also reassuring to read that the breakfast was "excellent" and the menu provided you with sufficient choice as a vegetarian. Thank you also for adding that you would recommend Bay Tree House, it means so much to us. We look forward to seeing you again. Kindest regards from Sue and Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
49
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed at Bay Tree for two nights, this is our second visit and we are planning to go again. Sue and Dave are natural hosts, making you very welcome, the rooms are immaculate and the beds so comfortable. Dave cooks a cracking breakfast with all locally sourced produce. There is so much to do in the area that we need to stay a week next time. Thank you so much for an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Choose room at front for the sea view. Location very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Owner at Bay Tree House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear JustJane63, thank you for your super review and many apologies for not responding earlier - we have not forgotten you! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms "immaculate", the beds "comfortable" and enjoyed Dave's "cracking" breakfasts! We are proud to support our local producers and it is great to hear that guests enjoy the local goodies. Thank you also for your comments on the area - as you say there is a lot to do in this lesser known part of Devon, catering for many interests and ages. Beautiful scenery too! Take care and we look forward to seeing you soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with my 2 young children and my mum. The owners, sue and David were so welcoming and great with my girls. Spotless room, beautiful view, would not hesitate to recommend and we definitely hope to return. 5*

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Owner at Bay Tree House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear GoodFoodLover, thank you for your lovely review and apologies for not replying sooner but we have not forgotten about you! We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay, and that you found the room "spotless" and were pleased with the "beautiful view"! It is great to hear that you felt welcome and would be happy to recommend Bay Tree House - thank you. Your comments mean a lot and we appreciate you posting your review on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you all back here one day. Kind regards from Sue and Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Really wonderful place to stay - friendly, helpful hosts and recently refurbished accommodation. The house itself is charming, with views of the ocean and the bowling green over the road from the rooms at the front.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue J, Owner at Bay Tree House, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
pstharris, we are so pleased your stay was 'perfect'. Our greeting of tea and cake from the local baker, are always well accepted by arriving guests, especially after an exhausting car journey.
We will always strive to provide information our guests require, at the same time make sure their stay with us is enjoyable and comfortable. Supporting the local trades is important to us and guests' complimentary comments on our locally sourced breakfasts support that. Fresh milk with the room drinks facility has been so popular, also with the use of the fridge for all guests.
Thank you once again and if ever in the area pop in a say hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at this excellent B&B whilst following up some job opportunities. Bay Tree House is thoughtfully run by Sue and Dave who fully accommodated my every need, including a warm welcome with tea and cake after a long drive. Unlimited use of WiFi and free parking for guests at the property made everything easy with good access to the local area including Lyme Regis. Dave's superb full English breakfast was served early at my request after an excellent nights rest in a quiet, immaculate room at the back of the house. Dining suggestions in Seaton from Sue and Dave were spot on - my particular favourites were Frydays for fish and chips,and the Italian restaurant Amore. If you are thinking of visiting the area then you won't go far wrong if you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue J, Owner at Bay Tree House, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We were pleased that you found our B&B comfortable, relaxing and the perfect retreat for your job search. The service we provide to all our guests ensures they have a wonderful stay and our locally sourced produce helps us do just that.
Tank you once again and good luck with your job hunting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We received a lovely warm welcome from Sue and David. We stayed for 5 nights and everything was perfect from the moment we arrived. We were offered tea and cake! Our accommodation was first class and breakfast was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for Sue and David. They really looked after us and offered lots of helpful local information which made this a most enjoyable and memorable holiday. Lovely people. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue J, Owner at Bay Tree House, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Alistair M, it is always pleasing when you hear that your guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Your comments : 'lovely warm welcome' ' perfect' ''first class' 'nothing was too much trouble' 'enjoyable' 'memorable' 'highly recommended', , WOW, what can we say, we are glad that your stay met your every need and thank you for your generous comments.
Our front door is always open, you are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Wonderful B&B, the owners' enthusiasm and attention to detail made us feel so welcome, nothing was too much trouble to make our stay perfect. Well done Sue and Dave, you make a great team. From the tea and cake on arrival, this charming B&B delivered all we could wish for - great location, comfy beds in beautifully decorated rooms, spotless modern bathrooms, fluffy white towels and a hearty breakfast. Use of a fridge providing fresh milk (much nicer than those little pots of UHT!) and free parking on-site, as well as free parking outside, were a real added bonus. Dave's cracking breakfast offered lots of choice from locally source produce and set us up nicely for walking the coastal path which is nearby. Seaton is a great base from which to explore and you won't be short of things to do. Sue's helpfulness and knowledge of the area is fantastic, she saved us so much time because we didn't need to visit the Tourist Info Centres!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue J, Owner at Bay Tree House, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
WOW, what a glowing review and we are so glad as we appear to have exceeded your expectations of the type of accommodation you expected from a B&B. We are a little different, where our guests always come first and the enjoyment of their stay with us is paramount.
Thank you very much once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree House

Address: 11 Seafield Road, Seaton EX12 2QS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Tree House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Victorian property set in an ideal location for superb views of the local coastline. Recently refurbished to offer comfortable and elegant accommodation 200 meters from the sea. Recently Graded 4 stars by VisitEngland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bay Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree House Seaton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Tree House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.